Movie Hype
New Releases, Oscar-Winners and Obscure Movies!

Trivia and Mistakes - "Pirates of the Caribbean On Stranger Tides"

  • May 24, 2011
Rating:
+4

I love movies, but unfortunately don't get to watch as many as I would like.  What fascinates me when watching a movie is the fact that what you see on screen has much history behind it.  Making a movie is not simply dressing up, memorizing your lines, and then "Action!" - it is so much more complicated than that and this interests me immensely.  One of today's hottest hits is "On Stranger Tides" and even though I have not seen it yet, I did some research and found interesting trivia and a few mistakes. Hope you enjoy!

From Internet Data Base :

After Walt Disney's chairman of 38 years, Dick Cook was fired, Johnny Depp talked to LA Times and said his enthusiasm for the fourth Pirates movie had reduced after Cook left the project. "There's a fissure, a crack in my enthusiasm at the moment," Depp said. "It was all born in that office." One of the reasons Johnny Depp committed to Pirates of the Caribbean: The Curse of the Black Pearl (2003) was because he trusted Cook, who supported him while "others at the studio were less than enthusiastic about my interpretation of the character, Dick was there from the first moment. He trusted me."

Johnny Depp said he agreed to star in this, before "there was a script or anything".

This film is loosely based on the 1988 pirate novel 'On Stranger Tides', by Tim Powers. The novel's protagonist is a pirate named Jack, but his character is significantly different from Jack Sparrow, so it remains to be seen how much of the novel remains in the final film.

Penélope Cruz was pregnant throughout production, but it wasn't noticeable until September, 2010. As Penélope's baby bump grew, it caused some difficulties in wardrobe, so the producers enlisted the help of Cruz's younger sister, Mónica Cruz. According to reports, Penélope filmed the close-up shots, while Mónica doubled for her in the long-distance scenes as the wardrobe department had struggled to hide the pregnancy.

While filming in London in October 2010, Johnny Depp received a letter from a local 9-year old schoolgirl, telling him her classmates needed help to 'mutiny' against her teachers. He turned up with almost no warning at the school in full Sparrow outfit in support.  (Awww..bless his heart!)

Johnny Depp bought new water proof jackets for 500 crew members on the set to protect them for the cold weather. He spent a total of $64,200 from his own pocket.  (Generous man isn't he?)

MEMORABLE QUOTES FROM THE MOVIE 

Jack Sparrow: [from trailer
[after being addressed as "Jack Sparrow"
Jack Sparrow: There should be a "Captain" in there somewhere.

Jack Sparrow: [from trailer] Did everyone see that? Because I will *not* be doing it again.

Blackbeard: [from trailer] If I don't kill a man once in awhile, people forget who I am.

Jack Sparrow: [from trailer] Have you been there? 
Captain Teague: Does this face look like it's been to the fountain of youth? 
Jack Sparrow: Depends on the light

















MOVIE MISTAKES FROM MOVIEMISTAKES.COM:

Captain Barbossa's ship has a modern Union Jack flying on the stern. The film is set in the reign of George II (1727 - 1760). The flag shown includes the cross of St Patrick, although Ireland did not become part of the United Kingdom until 1801, and the Union Jack at the time of the film would have comprised only the crosses of St George (England) and St Andrew (Scotland).

Barbossa and Captain Jack Sparrow have been captured by the Spaniards and are each tied to a tree. Barbossa removes his wooden leg and lifts it high above his face in order to drink the liquid (presumably rum) that was concealed in the hollow top. Captain Jack then takes the wooden leg and holds it under his lips. He tilts it very slightly, then smacks his lips, but there is no way he could have gotten any rum from it in that position.

And let's not forget the original Pirates movie that started it all....lots of interesting trivia for this one!

"THE CURSE OF THE BLACK PEARL" TRIVIA FROM INTERNET MOVIE DATABASE

On August 10, 2002, a fire started on the soundstage where the movie was shot. Nobody was hurt and the damage was estimated to be $350,000.

The movie is inspired by, and takes its theme from, the popular Walt Disney theme park ride of the same name.

One of the film's last lines - "Bring me that horizon" - was conceived by Johnny Depp on the morning the scene was filmed.

Keira Knightley wore colored contact lenses like Johnny Depp's in the last scene of the movie. But since her eyes are lighter than Johnny Depp's, they had to be dark in the center and light on the outside. She complained they made her so dizzy that she threw them away the night after shooting.

The ship used as "HMS Interceptor" is an actual ship, the "Lady Washington" and is the official tall ship ambassador of the State of Washington. She can also be seen in Star Trek: Generations (1994) and was used as a reference for the RLS Legacy in Treasure Planet (2002).

When returning from a night shoot on one of the Caribbean islands, Keira Knightley's boat struck a reef and went down. The only people aboard were Knightley, her motherSharman Macdonald and the boat's skipper, all of whom escaped unharmed and were rescued within a few hours. However, the incident ultimately determined that the rest of the island night shoots needed would complete filming in a studio, rather than on location.

Johnny Depp's character, Captain Jack, is portrayed as having gold teeth in the film. The gold teeth were Depp's idea, but he predicted that executives would want fewer gold teeth, and told his dentist to implant more gold teeth as a bargaining tool. Sparrow's final number of gold teeth in the film was what Depp had envisioned all along.

Many of the crew got seasick while filming.

Clothing and smears of charcoal were used to conceal Johnny Depp's numerous tattoos. The "Jack Sparrow" tattoo on his arm in the movie is a fake, but he got a real replica after finishing the film, in honor of his son Jack.

The substance sprayed on William Turner after the sword fight between him and Captain Jack Sparrow is actually powdered chocolate.

Industrial Light and Magic designers scanned turkey jerky to create the effect of decomposing skin when the pirates turn into their skeletal forms.

The various "eunuch" lines were improvisations by Johnny Depp.

When filming in the cave, excessive makeup was added to the characters so they wouldn't looked washed out on film. When the crew realized how cool the makeup looked on Johnny Depp, they continued to use it on him for the rest of the movie.

Johnny Depp wore contact lenses which served as sunglasses so he wouldn't be squinting in the sun all the time.

According to the screenwriters' commentary on the DVD, Will Turner is the best swordsman in the film, Barbossa and Commodore Norrington are evenly matched, and Jack Sparrow is actually the worst.

The monkey "Jack" is played by two capuchin monkeys. One is a 10-year old female named Tara, the other an 8-year old male named Levi.

Keira Knightley's hair was extended because it was still short from her previous roles.

Having decided that pirates were the 18th century equivalent of rock stars, Johnny Depp's characterization of Sparrow was inspired by close observation of his friend Keith Richards, though he emphasized in interviews that it was not an impersonation.

According to the DVD commentaries, Geoffrey Rush has a theory that people watch the screen from left to right, just like when they read a book. Therefore, he tried to be in the left side of the screen as often as possible. He was particularly intent on doing this in the scenes with the monkey and Keira Knightley because he didn't think anyone would look at him otherwise.

Michael KeatonJim Carrey, and Christopher Walken were all considered for the role of Captain Jack Sparrow.  (Uhhhh..I can't imagine any of them playing this role!)

Johnny Depp improvised Jack Sparrow's catch phrase, "Savvy?"

Robert De Niro was offered the role of Captain Jack Sparrow but he declined thinking that the movie wouldn't do well in the box office as many other pirate movies in the past. He was proved wrong and so he accepted the role of Captain Shakespeare in the movie Stardust (2007).

The film was such a success that Disney closed their Pirates of the Caribbean attractions at Disneyland, California and Disney World, Florida to update them. The new storyline of the attractions is Captain Barbossa chasing Jack Sparrow, both of whom were added in the form of animatronics. Disneyland opened their updated attraction on 26 June 2006, two days after the world premiere of 
Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Man's Chest (2006). Disney World opened its new attraction on 7 July 2006.

Writer and co-creator Stuart Beattie wrote the part of Jack Sparrow with Hugh Jackman in mind. The character's first name was even a nod to the actor's name. However, Disney did not feel Jackman was a big enough star for the part, so the part was eventually offered to Johnny Depp.

Trivia and Mistakes - Trivia and Mistakes - Trivia and Mistakes - Trivia and Mistakes -

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
12
Thought-Provoking
12
Fun to Read
12
Well-Organized
12
Post a Comment
August 26, 2011
I like this kind of stuff--it's fun. I remember when I first saw Keith Richards in the PIRATES flick. I thought,"God Almighty! Who put that ridiculous make up on that man? Nobody is that ugly!"
August 27, 2011
He's NOT a looker for sure LOL; always been ugly as far back as I can remember!!
August 31, 2011
Sometimes you just don't think people can get any uglier and then age enters into the picture. =)
August 31, 2011
LOL you got that right!! I'll tell you who literally scared me the first time I saw him years ago - Steve Tyler from Aerosmith!! Back when he did "Come Together" I was horrified at his looks. I guess I got used to it cuz now I love to watch him in videos!!
August 31, 2011
He always kinda scared me--he's just got mouth all over his face. lol
September 01, 2011
LMAO--yeah, he could suck his own face in!!
 
May 25, 2011
I finally got to see a movie...and it was this one! I enjoyed it way more than the last one...which I thought was boring. Fun review, Brenda!
May 25, 2011
Thank you Adrianna! I'm glad you got to see it; I can't wait to and I thought the last one was a little drawn out too; but at least I got to feast my eyes on some eye-candy!! LOL
May 25, 2011
I agree!
 
May 24, 2011
wow! this is a great compilation of tidbits and info! I loved that part with Cruz and her sister...I think Depp made it "savvy" since he didn't want to say 'wwoopak" LOL! (sorry I am making fun of myself again)
May 24, 2011
Thank you Woo. I loved the word "savvy" and have said it quite often to the hubby when I want to make sure he understands me. Depp is just one talented and creative hottie.
 
1
About the reviewer
Brenda ()
Ranked #58
I love to read mysteries and thrillers; I am addicted to scary psychological thrillers and horror movies; "The Exorcist" and "Silence of the Lambs" being 2 of my favorites. I love … more
About this topic

Wiki

Tags

Trivia, Movie Trivia

Details

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Movie Hype is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists