Movie Hype
New Releases, Oscar-Winners and Obscure Movies!
'The Grey' Directed By Joe Carnahan

A movie directed by Joe Carnahan

< read all 5 reviews

Review: 'The Grey' 'Two Jews On Film' Feel The Power Of The Beasts' (Video)

  • Jan 25, 2012
Rating:
+4




By Joan Alperin Schwartz

It takes a lot for a film to truly scare me. I mean, after seeing hundreds and hundreds of movies featuring, knife wielding masked maniacs, cannablistic nuclear families preying on hot teenage girls and demon possessed embroyos, I've become kind of blaise about the horror genre.

So many horror films are derative of one another. But I'm happy to say...this is definitely not the case with 'The Grey' directed by Joe Carnahan ('Narc', 'The A Team') and starring the very tall and always excellent, Liam Neeson.

The story is simple. A group of super macho oil workers, including the heartbroken, slightly suicidal, Ottway (Liam Neeson) are travelling to a work site when their plane crashes in the remote Alaska wilderness. By the way this is a very realistic plane crash. I found myself grabbing the arm of the stranger sitting next to me. Luckily he didn't mind. Anyway...

The survivors must find a way back to civilization before they either freeze to death or die of starvation.

Unfortunately, besides the cold (and it's really, really cold) and lack of food, they have...one other...not so small problem...Wolves...Big, Bad, Vicious, Ugly, fierce, red eyed...Wolves.




And these furry, grey creatures are extremely...pissed off. Seems the humans have invaded their territory and and to the wolves...this is means war.

These are cunning, determined animals and here's where the really scary part comes in.

When the men and the audience least expect it, the wolves...Well, I'm not going to tell you. Don't want to spoil the fun. And yes, 'The Grey' is fun. It's also horrific and totally terrifying.

What makes 'The Grey' not just another typical survival film...is the excellent script. The film is written by Carnahan and Ian MacKenzie Jeffers and they've created some really interesting characters.

At first, the men hide behind their macho facade, going out of their way not to show any fear. But as the story progresses, their facades peel away and we get to see what's really underneath.

The supporting cast including including, Frank Grillo, Dermot Mulroney, Dallas Roberts, Nonso Anozie, Joe Anderson, Ben Bray and James Badge Dale are all excellent.

The wolves are a combination of giant puppet animatronics, CGI and real ones...that are trained of course.

Make sure you stay past the credits...there's a surprise you don't want to miss.

I gave 'The Grey' 4 and 1/2 bagels out of five. Check out our video to hear John's wolf imitation and to see how many bagels he gave this film.

'The Grey' opens in theatres, Friday January 28, 2012. Don't miss it.
Review: 'The Grey' 'Two Jews On Film' Feel The Power Of The Beasts' (Video) Review: 'The Grey' 'Two Jews On Film' Feel The Power Of The Beasts' (Video) Review: 'The Grey' 'Two Jews On Film' Feel The Power Of The Beasts' (Video) Review: 'The Grey' 'Two Jews On Film' Feel The Power Of The Beasts' (Video)

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
6
Thought-Provoking
6
Fun to Read
6
Well-Organized
6
Post a Comment
February 09, 2012
Thanks so much for your review. The scary things you mention in the first paragraph of your review are all movies I would not see...does that mean I shouldn't see this one? I am not a fan of the gore-for-gore's-sake movies like Friday the 13th, nor of zombie movies, but I love a good suspense movie. Can you let me in on why it is so terrifying w/o spilling the beans too much to ruin it for others? If it is scary in a suspenseful way--say, the way Aliens was scary because you never knew when the beasties were going to jump out--I can probably handle it. Thanks! Love love love your video reviews. :)
 
January 25, 2012
Can't wait to see this one, thanks for sharing and another awesome review!
January 26, 2012
thanks so much. Let me know what you think
January 27, 2012
Will do!
January 30, 2012
Ok, I just saw this too--I enjoyed it quite a bit.
 
1
More 'The Grey' (2012 film) reviews
review by . January 30, 2012
posted in Movie Hype
We’ve all seen a good number of ‘survival’ films the past two decades. I mean, it seems to be the kind of film that studios feel that it is the kind of thing that would be easy to make a quick buck. I mean, films like those often involve a lot of wandering, walking and a lot of interaction between characters. It is kind of a man vs. the environment kind of deal and director Joe Carnahan seems poised to follow in the footsteps of such a film. Well, “The Grey” does have …
review by . January 28, 2012
posted in Movie Hype
*** out of ****    A plane filled with passengers, headed "home" - wherever that may be - from Alaska. A crash; leaving six survivors total. A wasteland covered in snow and ice; the air riddled with only the cold. The surrounding areas belong to the wolves; and the lives of those unfortunate souls stuck there belong to nature. This situation is scary on its own, and the only thing scarier than this, in my opinion, is a lone man faced with similar struggles. But this is clearly …
review by . January 28, 2012
posted in Movie Hype
Star Rating:         The Grey is a deplorable example of exploitation, cruelty, and nihilism masquerading as philosophy. Here is a “survivalist” story in which the survivors are given the same reverence as horror movie victims, who appear to have depth and yet are merely awaiting their turn to die on cue. Not merely die, but become playthings for “nature,” which in this case is about as unnatural as it gets. It’s bad enough we have to endure …
About the reviewer
Joan & John Schwartz ()
Ranked #11
My husband (creator of the cult classic films FACES OF DEATH) andmyself (actress/screenwriter) are ex New Yorkers, see alot of films and usually disagree. So our friends decided that we need a review … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
2_TwoJewsOnFilm
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this topic

Wiki

  • Opened January 27, 2012 | Runtime:1 hr. 57 min.
  • R-bloody images, violence/disturbing content including bloody images, and for pervasive language
     
  • Liam Neeson leads an unruly group of oil-rig roughnecks when their plane crashes into the remote Alaskan wilderness. Battling mortal injuries and merciless weather, the survivors have only a few days to escape the icy elements – and a vicious pack of rogue wolves on the hunt – before their time runs out.
  •  
  • Cast: Liam Neeson, Frank Grillo, Dermot Mulroney, Dallas Roberts, Joe Anderson, Nonso Anozie, Ben Bray, James Badge Dale
  • Director: Joe Carnahan
  •  
  • Genres: Action/Adventure, Suspense/Thriller
  •  
  • Poster art for "The Grey."
  • view wiki

    Tags

    Action, Drama, Horror Action Adventure, Survival, Two Jews On Film, Liam Neeson, Plane Crash, Wolves, Dermot Mulroney, The Grey Movie Review, Joe Carnahan, Frank Grillo

    Details

    © 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
    Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
    Movie Hype is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
    ()
    This is you!
    Ranked #
    Last login
    Member since
    reviews
    comments
    ratings
    questions
    compliments
    lists