Movie Hype
New Releases, Oscar-Winners and Obscure Movies!
28 Days Later... (2002)

A 2003 horror film directed by Danny Boyle.

< read all 11 reviews

HORROR/ROAD/THRILLER/SUSPENSE FLICK

  • Oct 17, 2010
Rating:
+5
28 Days Later (Widescreen Edition)

28 DAYS LATER

I have argued it for years and it seems that there are still people out there who think this is a zombie when it is clearly not. This film is no were near being a zombie flick as the INFECTED are not dead they are just INFECTED with a virus that was put into monkeys. I don't know why people think of this as a zombie flick but what ever. This is indeed a great film and when it was released one of the scariest films in recent years. I remember seeing this and thinking man this is pretty intense as I was not expecting it. Still I found it to be a wonderful film experience and thought that it was deserving of the praise it was getting, most of the time movies are not.

For those who have yet to see this for some reason it is about a man who wakes up 28 days after a virus has struck the UK and turned most of the population into raging killers. The virus which is called rage I guess makes a person go back to their animalistic instincts and want to survive and kill, nothing else. At first the guy has no idea what is going on until a few infected come his way but luckily for him a few other survivors are there to help out. These survivors are a tough bunch and are just out looking for food and supplies and have no problem leaving our lead behind. As time goes on a people get picked off a father and daughter come into the mix and the film turns into a road movie. They make their way across the country looking for salvation based on a radio signal they picked up.

Writer Alex Garland did a great job with this movie taking a nice end of the world type idea and making it feel very fresh and very real. Director Danny Boyle did a great job converting the script and idea onto the screen. This film while not at least to me jump out of your seat scary it is still a very intense feeling film or at least it was when it came out. Acting wise one of my favorites ever Cillian Murphy is perfect for this film and did a marvelous job. Naomie Harris was excellent as well and did a great job as did Brendan Gleeson and Megan Burns. Every one in this movie did a great job and I can't stress that enough, great movie I think.

I had a lot of fun watching this when it first came out and still it is fun to watch right now, that's just me. Is this a perfect movie, that is up to you but I have a great time watching it. If you have not seen this then I highly recommend it to you, I say buy it and skip a rental. The look and style of this film is great and the road story that is involved in this is my favorite part of the film. The first part of the movie is the end of the world "we have to survive" which is defiantly the horror aspect of the film. Then we get the road flick that is the "we have hope now" part of the film which is the fun part of the film. Then we close it out with the dramatic thriller/suspense part of the movie when the army holds them captive. Could you ask for in a film, I think not.

Go to fullsize imageGo to fullsize imageGo to fullsize imageGo to fullsize imageGo to fullsize imageGo to fullsize image
HORROR/ROAD/THRILLER/SUSPENSE FLICK HORROR/ROAD/THRILLER/SUSPENSE FLICK HORROR/ROAD/THRILLER/SUSPENSE FLICK HORROR/ROAD/THRILLER/SUSPENSE FLICK

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
6
Thought-Provoking
6
Fun to Read
6
Well-Organized
6
Post a Comment
October 21, 2010
I loved this flick. It's one of those films that took me a few viewings to realize how incredible it was.
 
October 17, 2010
Loved this film! This was dark, eerie and amazing! Thanks for the review!
 
1
More 28 Days Later reviews
review by . February 25, 2011
posted in Movie Hype
28 Days Later: Now with MOAR BLOOD!
   It must be prefaced that I'm a wimp with an overactive imagination who cannot watch the likes of The X-Files and Unsolved Mysteries beyond sundown. Horror is not my genre of choice, though I have viewed my fair share of horror, slasher and thriller flicks over time. My experience lies with classic horror (Poltergeist, The Exorcist, The Omen, Night of the Living Dead, etc) and quasi-spooky cheesy nonsensical low-budget nostalgic filler (Evil Dead, The People Under the Stairs, A Nightmare …
review by . July 22, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
I'll start by confessing that I'm not a big fan of Horror films. Don't get me wrong, they are cool. I just haven't seen too many of them. So, I'm kind of a newbie to this genre. This one came highly recommended by numerous friends and acquaintances. So, I decided to check it out.      What stood out the most to me in this one was the way it was shot. It wasn't shot on 35mm film, like most films and a lot of the shots were done hand-held, instead of using …
Quick Tip by . October 17, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
Caption
I had a lot of fun watching this when it first came out and still it is fun to watch right now, that's just me. Is this a perfect movie, that is up to you but I have a great time watching it.
Quick Tip by . July 02, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
I love the effects and style of the "infected". Not completely zombies, but still quite scary.
Quick Tip by . July 20, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
Please don't call 28 Days Later another zombie movie. This British cult favorite will keep you enthralled the entire film as you put yourself in Jim's post-virus shoes.
Quick Tip by . July 19, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
This is possibly my favorite Zombie film ever. It is just awesome
Quick Tip by . July 18, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
This movie scared me, we talk about this happening in the real world and it made me think too much. If you like that watch it;0
Quick Tip by . July 14, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
This is about as good as it gets in the mass infection/zombie genre. London and England are taken over by a mass infection that turns people into ravenous, kill happy destroyers of all things living. Beautifully shot with some stunning images of an empty London. It falls apart just a bit in the final third but it's at the very top of heap for these types of films.
Quick Tip by . July 14, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
This is about as good as it gets in the mass infection/zombie genre. London and England are taken over by a mass infection that turns people into ravenous, kill happy destroyers of all things living. Beautifully shot with some stunning images of an empty London. It falls apart just a bit in the final third but it's at the very top of heap for these types of films.
review by . May 06, 2009
This movie got a lot of attention like the Night of the Living Dead. I recently rented it and was greatly disappointed. This movie deals with a virus that makes people almost like mutant crazies that go around attacking other people. A group of people wander London trying to get back to "civilization." While the characters in George Romero's classic were interesting and you really felt for them, these characters are dull and sometimes act crazy themselves. The British accents were very difficult …
About the reviewer

Ranked #4
I basically am just a normal person obbsessed with Mixed Martial Arts, pro wrestling, movies of all kinds, music of all kinds, books of all kinds, and of course foods of all kinds. Just trying to keep … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
FM_ALEX
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this movie

Wiki

The director/producer team that created Trainspotting turn their dynamic cinematic imaginations to the classic science fiction scenario of the last people on Earth. Jim (Cillian Murphy) wakes up from a coma to find London deserted--until he runs into a mob of crazed plague victims. He gradually finds other still-human survivors (including Naomie Harris), with whom he heads off across the abandoned countryside to find the source of a radio broadcast that promises salvation. 28 Days Later is basically an updated version of The Omega Man and other post-apocalyptic visions; but while the movie may lack originality, it makes up for it in vivid details and creepy paranoid atmosphere. 28 Days Later's portrait of how people behave in extreme circumstances--written by novelist Alex Garland (The Beach)--will haunt you afterward. Also featuring Brendan Gleeson (The General, Gangs of New York) and Christopher Eccleston (Shallow Grave, The Others).--Bret Fetzer
view wiki

Details

Director: Danny Boyle
Genre: Horror, Sci-Fi, Thriller
Release Date: June 27, 2003
MPAA Rating: R
Screen Writer: Alex Garland
DVD Release Date: October 21, 2003
Runtime: 113 minutes
Studio: 20th Century Fox
Polls with this movie
28 Days Later... (2002)

Favorite Zombie Flix

by

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Movie Hype is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists