Movie Hype
New Releases, Oscar-Winners and Obscure Movies!

All You Need Is Love...and Janis, Jimi and Bono!

  • Apr 27, 2009
Rating:
+5
As someone raised in San Francisco, I was surrounded with Summer of Love memories. I used to get so envious of my uncles' stories of the Haight's heyday when they saw Janis open for Jimi at the Fillmore for $5 that I used to try to relive those days by going to Dead shows and sell or trade hemp necklaces in the parking lots. So, I have a deep love for movies set in the 60s but, I tend to find most of them cheesy. They rely heavily on the drugged out hippie stereotype or Vietnam or the deaths of Kennedy and Dr. King Jr. This is NOT one of those movies...well, not entirely. The movie has all of the above but, does so in such a new, artistic way that I found it enjoyable instead of annoyingly bland.

Some of the things that I LOVED about this movie:
  • Dana Fuchs as Sadie, who has Janis Joplin down pat from the vocals to the bottles of whiskey (although in the movie it's Jack Daniels and Janis was a Southern Comfort girl) to the famous painted Porsche.
  • Bono as a revolutionary that sings I Am The Walrus and leads the group to an empty field on an LSD-fueled road trip.
  • The clever names of the cast that are all related to a Beatles song: Jude (from Hey Jude), Lucy (from Lucy in the Sky with Diamonds), Sadie (Sexy Sadie), JoJo (Get Back), Max (Maxwell's Silver Hammer), and Prudence (Dear Prudence).
  • The time. It blends multiple stories of everything that happened at this pivotal time in American history in a visually beautiful and relevant way. It accentuates the story instead of overpowers it.
  • Martin Luther as JoJo, the Jimi Hendrix loner whose backstory follows the lyrics of Get Back perfectly. He had the purple coat and the fro with the bandana around his head, just like Jimi although in the movie JoJo wasn't having it (that may or may not have been how Jimi felt but, in any case was an interesting addition to JoJo's character). He played a mean guitar and it made the story interesting to have another side love story to tell instead of focusing on the main one.
  • Finally, THE MUSIC. How can you not love The Beatles? Even if you're more of an Elvis kinda gal, you can't deny The Beatles' influence on pop culture and music. I really enjoyed the new arrangements and was singing along at the top of my lungs, probably much to the dismay of my neighbors.
This is a perfect date-night movie even if your significant other doesn't happen to love The Beatles or musicals. Nando, who doesn't know as much about The Beatles as his parents or myself, and is not a fan of musicals AT ALL, loved this movie. So, it's good for everyone- no matter what their movie preferences happen to be.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
9
Thought-Provoking
1
Fun to Read
3
Well-Organized
2
Post a Comment
May 21, 2009
I was there and I feel sorry for everyone who wasn't. This movie recaptures some of the magic and the tragedy of the era. The treatment of "Let it Be" was one of my favorite moments in the film and I'm not ashamed to admit it drew a couple of tears. Loved the inclusions of Hendrix and Joplin and Ken Kesey amd the Merry Pranksters. Their scenes together were electric. Glad you enjoyed this film too.
May 21, 2009
I'm sad that I wasn't there too- I grew up surrounded by the all my uncles' stories and had the pleasure of experiencing at least a little of it with  Grateful Dead shows!
May 21, 2009
I never saw the Dead and I didn't actually get to San Francisco until 1982, but There were other places. I saw a lot of great bands. I saw Joplin with and without Big Brother sje had B.b. King opening for the second time, Santana, the Airplane, John Mayhall, Iron Butterfly, jimi Hendrix. Just about everybody.Missed Woodstock but the Atlanta Rock Fest wasn't too bad. It only had 250,000 people but it was still great--plus it didn't rain although we were hoping it would because it was so hot.
 
1
More Across the Universe reviews
Quick Tip by . July 06, 2010
This movie was a surreal, and shows how both love and music can transcend time.
review by . April 07, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
Any excuse to feature Beatles music is usually worthwhile, but Across the universe is an mediocre picture wrapped in a psychedelic anti-war wet dream.    The picture has it's moments, the Character of Jude is excellent and well played by Jim Sturgess who next to the music is clearly the best thing about the picture. The integration of the Beatles music in the picture works very well and the various musical numbers are really well choreographed, and the first 20 minutes of the …
review by . January 25, 2009
Wow. This movie blew me away. There were a lot of Beatles songs that I've never heard before, but the way they were presented in the movie made me love them all. Jim Sturgess, who plays Jude, is such an awesome actor and has an incredibly sexy voice (who knew?).  And Bono singing I am the Walrus was perfect and wonderfully trippy.    There really wasn't much of a storyline but that really didn't matter. It's the type of movie you have to just enjoy without getting caught up in …
About the reviewer
Samantha ()
Ranked #53
I'm a human jukebox that is constantly changing my station depending on my mood!   Feel free to share your passion with me in my communities: Pass the Remote!, Hip Hop Culture, Wedding Planning … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
djevoke
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this movie

Wiki

Jude, a poor dock worker/struggling artist from Liverpool, joins the merchant navy so he can sail to America to find his estranged father. He falls in love with Lucy, an upper class, sheltered American girl, who is in "love" with her high school sweetheart that she just sent off to Vietnam. Their musical love story unravels between Liverpool, suburban America, Detroit riots, Vietnam War, New York, protests, the Civil Rights movement, Martin Luther King Jr's and JFK's assassinations, mind expansion and experimentation with drugs with the songs of the Beatles guiding the way.

Thirty-three Beatles songs to be exact which include the songs that The Beatles made popular during the era that's represented in the movie. Amongst those covered, there are: "Girl", "I Wanna Hold Your Hand", "While My Guitar Gently Weeps", "Dear Prudence", "If I Fell", "I Am The Walrus" (sung by Bono), "Revolution", "Blackbird" and many others.
view wiki

Details

Cast: Salma Hayek, Linda Emond, Harry J. Lennix, Evan Rachel Wood, Jim Sturgess, Nicole Berger, James Urbaniak, Dylan Baker, Bill Irwin, Eddie Izzard, Jacob Pitts, Robert Clohessy, Jarleth Conroy, Nicholas Lumley, Mark Lewis, Aisha de Haas, Patrick O'Neill, Bill Buell, Halley Wegryn-Gross, Lynn Cohen, Martin Luther, Joe Anderson, Dana Fuchs, Martin Luther McCoy, T.V. Carpio, Spencer Liff, Lisa Hogg, Michael Ryan, Angela Mounsey, Erin Elliott, Christopher Tierney, Curtis Holbrook, John Jeffrey Martin, Matt Caplan, T.R. Boyce, Leah Hocking, Ellen Hornberger, Amanda Cole, Danya Taymor, Jennifer Van Dyck, Timothy T. Mitchum, Carol Woods, Elain Graham, Orfeh, Antonique Smith, Yassmin Alers, Deidre Goodwin, Joe Cocker, Staceyanne Chin, Jeanine Serralles, Leonard Tucker, Daniel Stewart Sherman, Logan Marshall-Green, Kathleen Early, Ching Valdes-Aran, Daniel Ezralow, Kiva Dawson, Luther Creek, Jerzy Gwiazdowski, Arabella Holzbog, Ambrose Martos, Peter Mui, Karine Plantadit-Bageot, Dan Weltner, Christopher Youngsman, Ekaterina Sknarina, Tracy Westmoreland, Ron C. Jones, W.W. Wilson, Luke Cresswell, Mandy Gonzales, Destan Owens, Cicily Daniels, Saycon Sengbloh, Sam Kitchin, Chris McGarry, Frank Hopf, Cousin Brucie Morrow, Navarra Novy-Williams, Sarah Jayne Jensen, Michelle Lookadoo, Geoff Countryman, Julien Joy, Conrad Korsch, Brian McKenna, Jack Petricelli, Timothy Keiper, Arthur Lewis, Bryan Noll, Michael Arenella, Cyro Baptista, Frank Fighera, Ritt Henn, Mark Stewart, Bruce Williamson, Charley Drayton, Tom Grasso, Joey Sykes, Paul Wallfisch, Christine Woodside, John Selya, Luis Rojas Salgado, Ryan Kelly, Adesola Osakalumi, Martin Samuel, Leah O'Donnell, Lara E. Tinari, Andrew Asnes, Bob Gaynor, Enrique Brown, Caryn Allen, Ronald Blackman, Erik Justin Gaines, Marlene Mason, Tanisha Mason, Cheryl McClurkin, Donald A. McClurkin, Sr., Lorna McClurkin, Olivia McClurkin, Terrell Middleton, Jada Scott, Murl Smith, Jor-El Wharton, Devin Wharwood, Alyssa Woodside, Marcus Bellamy, Tim Acito, Kevin Aubin, Collin Baja, Michael Balderama, Charissa Barton, Adolpho Blaire, Brian Brooks, Shawn Burgess, Ian Carney, Sandy Chase, Ron De Jesus, Jean Emile, Billy Fagen, Angelo Fraboni, Kathryn Fraggos, Kurt Froman, Chris Ghelfi, Tyler Gilstrap, Greg Graham, Cody Green, Matthew Hamel, Sean Martin Hingston, Ryan Holly, Dell Howlett, Terace Jones, Dominique Kelley, Mari Koda, Jason Lacayo, Abdul Latif, Marty Lawson, Yasmine C. Lee, Brian Letendr, Tiger Martina, Tim McGarrigal, Allie Meixner, Dario Mejia, Angel Morales, Matthew Neff, Rika Okamoto, Danny Paschall, Nathan Peck, Giovanni Perez, Bobby Pestka, Kyle Pleasant, Avery Ragsdale, Desmond S. Richardson, Samuel Roberts, Alberto Dister Rondon, Natsumi Sakurai, Marcos Santana, Ying-Ying Shiau, Todd Michael Smith, Jonah Spear, Jordan Spencer, Matthew Steffens, Dennis Stowe, Stacey Sund, Christopher W. Tiemey, Michael Tracy, Andrew Turteltaub, Nicole Wolcott, Wenshuan Yang, Kenneth Ziegler
Genre: Music, Musical
Release Date: October 12, 2007
MPAA Rating: PG-13
Runtime: 2hrs 8min
First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Movie Hype is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists