Movie Hype
New Releases, Oscar-Winners and Obscure Movies!
Airplane Movie Poster

A 1980 American Comedy film

< read all 5 reviews

The baseline for all modern comedies!

  • Dec 9, 2008
  • by
Rating:
+5
Airplane is seriously one of the funniest movies ever produced. Sure it's from the 1980s, but hey, like a fine wine, the movie just gets better with time.

I think in American culture it's kinda taboo to poke fun at anything airplane-related, so the movie is refreshing in that it covers a topic that's kinda been left untouched in recent years. In addition to making fun of regular flight procedures, the film covers all topics and has some really memorable scenes and quotes. My favorites are:
  • A flight attendant asks a passenger how she likes her coffee. The passenger replies, "I take it black, like my men."
  • A flight attendant learns that the engines are having trouble, grabs the microphone, and tells the passengers, "There's no reason to become alarmed, and we hope you'll enjoy the rest of your flight. By the way, is there anyone on board who knows how to fly a plane?"
  • The crew sit down with a sick girl who is traveling on the flight. One picks up to play the guitar while the other sings, and accidentally knocks the IV tube from the girl. The girl begins to panic, but the flight crew are too busy singing the song to notice.
  • Crew member recalls the past, saying, "It was a rough place - the seediest dive on the wharf. Populated with every reject and cutthroat from Bombay to Calcutta. It's worse than Detroit"
If you're in the mood for some laughs on a cold Sunday evening, get yourself a copy of Airplane and get ready to take off laughing from the first minute. 

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
8
Thought-Provoking
0
Fun to Read
1
Well-Organized
1
Post a Comment
May 14, 2009
Excellent review - so true!
 
April 18, 2009
Airplane is one of my favorite films. This is one I don't own, would love to, but always have to watch when it's on TV. The Zucker's, by the way are from St. Louis, (my hometown). They went to University City High School. Thanks for sharing!
 
January 26, 2009
Oooooh. Imagine something that's almost 30 years old still being funny! I guess that means you're not a Marx Brothers fan.
 
1
More Airplane reviews
review by . May 10, 2009
Airplane (1980) was a comedy masterpiece (for it's day). Now it's a funny movie filled with dated references and humor. At one time, the writing and directing team of Zucker, Abrahams and Zucker could do no wrong. Until that fateful day came when they weren't just funny anymore. But we can always remember back in the day (from the seventies to the early nineties) when Z.A.Z. was at the top of their game.    The movie takes place inside an airplane. A former World War II hero …
review by . August 22, 2008
"Looks like I picked the wrong week to stop sniffing glue."  I mean, who can't relate to that.  Just last week, I made the same comment to my wife and I was serious..I really should stop!  And I have to agree with Butter, I don't want to know anyone who doesn't like this movie.  Instant classic when it was made...way ahead of it's time.  Probably a solid 100 quotable lines from this film.  I would write more but I am off to watch it again....
review by . May 21, 2008
You show me a person who doesn't like Airplane and I'll show you a jackass.      That pretty much sums it up, but I'll be back later to add more.
review by . May 06, 2008
I remember being in the theater as a kid and watching my mother double over with laughter when they got to the line, "A hospital?  What is it?", "It's a big building with patients, but that's not important right now."  This is absolutely one of the funniest movies ever and really stands the test of time.  I've probably seen it at least 12 times throughout my life and always end up in tears because I'm laughing so hard. Surely, you'll love it.  (Get it? Surely-Shirley?)
About the reviewer
Ali ()
Member Since: Dec 8, 2008
Last Login: Jun 8, 2012 04:51 AM UTC
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Friedpez
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this movie

Wiki

Airplane! is a 1980 American comedy film directed and written by David Zucker, Jim Abrahams, and Jerry Zucker. Airplane! starred Robert Hays, Julie Hagerty, Leslie Nielsen, Robert Stack, Lloyd Bridges, Peter Graves, Kareem Abdul-Jabbar and Lorna Patterson. Airplane! is a spoof of the disaster film genre. It was inspired by and includes various lines of dialogue and references to the 1957 film Zero Hour!.[2]

Airplane! was a major financial success, grossing over USD $83 million in North America alone, against a budget of just $3.5 million.[1] The film's creators received the Writers Guild of America Award for Best Adapted Comedy, and nominations for a Golden Globe for Best Motion Picture (Musical/Comedy) and a BAFTA Award for Best Screenplay.[3] Years later, Airplane! was voted as the 10th-funniest American comedy in AFI's "100 Years... 100 Laughs" list and was ranked 6th on Bravo's "100 Funniest Movies".

In Australia and New Zealand, this movie and its sequel were titled "Flying High!".

view wiki

Tags

Movies, Comedy Movies, Comedy, Cult Movies, Leslie Nielsen, Jerry Zucker, David Zucker, Jim Abrahams

Details

Release Date: 07/02/1980
MPAA Rating: R

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Movie Hype is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists