Movie Hype
New Releases, Oscar-Winners and Obscure Movies!
American Beauty

A movie directed by Sam Mendes

< read all 8 reviews

What Is Life? What Is Beauty? What Is Truth? What Is Death?

  • Mar 2, 2009
Rating:
+5

First-time filmmaker Sam Mendes has won the hearts of critics and audiences alike, in what some are calling the most extraordinary cinematic directorial debut since Orson Welles' Citizen Kane in 1941. Sam Mendes' film, American Beauty, is a modern masterpiece and one of the seminal films of the last few decades. Mendes, who is perhaps best known for his revival of the stage production of Cabaret, brings all of his theatrical sensibilities to the screen and in doing so he has actually expanded the cinematic medium, and lifted the art of filmmaking to new heights of dramatic and comedic storytelling.
Poster

The screenplay for American Beauty was written by playwright and television writer Alan Ball, whose sharp sense of humor and poignant insights into the human condition combine to create a truly memorable filmic experience, as he slyly comments on the artifice and repression that is so common in contemporary suburban America.

With these two brilliantly creative figures working in collaboration, it's no great surprise that American Beauty should attract the attention of not only top studio heads, but also the brightest talents that the industry had to offer. However, it may come as a surprise that while most studio executives felt that the screenplay for American Beauty was exceptional, only one studio felt confident that the story could be brought to the screen in a commercially successful endeavor. That studio was Dreamworks, which was co-founded by Steven Spielberg, who loved the screenplay so much that he insisted it not be tampered with by any of the studio's executives. Spielberg was also instrumental in ensuring that the film wouldn't be just another quirky sleeper serio-comedy, but that it would actually reach its audience and experience the success that it deserved. And it did.

A shitty morning...
 


 

"My name is Lester Burnham. This is my neighborhood. This is my street. This is my life. I'm 42 years old. In less than a year, I'll be dead. Of course, I don't know that yet. And in a way, I'm dead already."

 

Lester Burnham woke up one morning to find himself completely dissatisfied with the way his life has turned out. He and his wife, the appearance-obsessed Carolyn, have drifted apart and they no longer understand each other. Lester's daughter, Jane, has grown resentful of her parents' unwanted attention and embarrassed by their pathetic attempts to relate to her. Lester's tired of his menial job as a magazine writer, where he's underpaid and under appreciated. But everything's about to change in the Burnhams' "perfect" suburban neighborhood.

When the Fitts family moves in next door to the Burnhams, no one has any idea that the seemingly unassuming family will affect them all, but they do.


Ricky Fitts, an intense, shy 18 year old, begins to spy on the happenings in the neighborhood and records much of what he sees with his video camera.

One night Lester and Carolyn go to a high school basketball game because Jane's part of the cheerleader squad, and though Lester only goes at Carolyn's insistence, he soon finds himself attracted to Jane's best friend, the seductive and vigorous Angela. Humiliated by her father's inappropriate crush, Jane isolates herself even more from her dysfunctional family. Lester begins fantasizing about Angela, and in some way she reminds him of what it was once like to be young.

Meanwhile Ricky starts following Jane, who can't help but find his sulking nature to be intriguing if not at time intimidating.

When Lester and Carolyn go out to dinner, Lester bumps into Ricky, who works at the restaurant. Ricky invites Lester to go out back behind the restaurant and smoke some marijuana, which he does relishing the opportunity to reclaim the "edge" that he lost when he had to grow up, get a job, and get married. While Lester and Ricky get high, Carolyn flirts with silver fox real estate salesman, Buddy Kane, who immediately takes a liking to her.


Lester soon rediscovers his youthful passions and he quits his job, takes up smoking pot regularly, starts exercising and getting back into shape, and most shocking of all, he starts standing up for himself. When Angela responds to Lester's newfound sense of self, Jane's frustration and disgust grow into outrage.

All the while Lester hangs out more with Ricky, though Ricky's father, Colonel Fitts, strongly disapproves.


As Lester tries to reclaim his life, Carolyn engages in a torrid affair with Buddy Kane. It's not long before Lester finds out and their marriage dissolves. Even as her parents drift irrevocably apart, Jane becomes romantically involved with Ricky, who turns out to be an intelligent, sensitive, albeit unusual young man.

Soon Lester will be murdered and everyone he leaves behind will have to grow up.

 

"I'd always heard that your entire life flashes in front of you're the second before you die. First of all, that one second isn't a second at all. It stretches on forever, like an ocean of time. For me, it was lying on my back at Boy Scout camp, watching falling stars. And yellow leaves from the maple trees that lined our street. Or my grandmother's hands and the way her skin seemed like paper. And the first time I saw my cousin Tony's Firebird. And Janie. And Janie. And Carolyn. I guess I could be pretty pissed off about what happened to me, but it's hard to stay mad when there's so much beauty in the world. Sometimes I feel like I'm seeing it all at once and it's too much. My heart fills up like a balloon that's about to burst. And then I remember to relax… and stop trying to hold onto it. And then it flows through me like rain, and I can't feel anything but gratitude for every single moment of my stupid little life. You have no idea what I'm talking about, I'm sure. But don't worry. You will someday."

 



The illusion of the perfect family... 

One of the advantages that director Sam Mendes had was his theatrical experience, which helped him to learn how to communicate with actors. This and the terrific screenplay together were the main reasons that Mendes was able to attract such an amazingly well rounded cast to the film. The film stars Kevin Spacey as Lester Burnham, Annette Bening as Carolyn Burnham, Thora Birch as Jane Burnham, Mena Suvari as Angela Hayes, Wes Bentley as Ricky Fitts, Chris Cooper as Colonel Fitts, Allison Janney as Mrs. Fitts, Peter Gallagher as Buddy Kane, Scott Bakula as Jim Olmeyer, and Sam Robards as Jim Berkley.

Kevin Spacey gives a hilarious and touching performance as Lester, and his voiceover narration is surprisingly absorbing and enhances the film where most voiceover narrating detracts from films. Annette Bening is superb as Lester's ego-driven, perfectionist wife, Carolyn. Thora Birch gives a powerful yet understated performance as Carolyn and Lester's daughter, Jane, and brings just the right amount of angst and insecurity to the role. Mena Suvari is a knockout as the outwardly seductive, confident, and flirtatious Angela, who hides her insecurities and sexual inexperience behind a veil of voluptuous conceit. Wes Bentley is pitch-perfect as the brooding, romantic, and emotionally troubled Ricky. And Chris Cooper is marvelous as Ricky's stern, ultra-conservative, homophobic father, Colonel Fitts. The rest of the film's cast also give great performances and manage to create multi-faceted characters despite having little actual time on screen.


Carolyn's obsession with appearance... 

Director Sam Mendes and screenwriter Alan Ball have enhanced the film with a dark sense of humor and still they preserve the overall emotional power of the story. Also adding to the film's effectiveness is the subtle use of symbolism and visual metaphors, which give the film a highly poetic, sensual quality.

Heightening this quality is the skillful cinematography by the experienced director of photography, Conrad L. Hall, who allows the camera to almost become a character in itself and, to a certain degree, it forms a symbiotic relationship with the viewers by giving them a near voyeuristic perspective of the characters as their lives fall apart.


A last-ditch attempt to connect... 

American Beauty features an evocative score, which was composed by Thomas Newman, who captures the essence of the dysfunctional characters by using music cues that are appropriately quirky and upbeat, but also ominous, oppressive, and romantic. The soundtrack features an eclectic mix of artists and musicians, including Bob Dylan, The Who, Bobby Darin, The Guess Who, and Annie Lennox.

 

Truly a remarkable achievement, American Beauty was honored with numerous award nominations and wins, but more importantly it has won over the hearts of its audiences and has become a contemporary classic. All in all, American Beauty is a hard film to summarize or even categorize, being neither a comedy, drama, romance, nor tragedy, but rather a unique composite of all of the above. However, I will employ Lester's own evaluation and attempt to sum the film up in one word: "Spec-tac-ular."
Bath of roses...
 

DVD Theatrical poster Lester's fantasy...

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
16
Thought-Provoking
9
Fun to Read
9
Well-Organized
9
Post a Comment
May 04, 2010
Dude with out a doubt one of the best films ever, classic. This film was done so well i wish more like it would be made.
May 04, 2010
It's funny, but when the movie first came out I didn't want to see it because it was getting so much hype. Then when I did end up seeing it, I fell in love with it and realized that all the hype was actually justified. Truly, it's a classic.
 
May 16, 2009
Another great review here. I would love to review this film but somehow can't. This one has so many dimensions & levels that make it virtually impossible to cram all my thoughts in one column or movie review. However, you have written a fantastic review here. Thanks!
May 16, 2009
Thanks. I still wish I could post the video essay I had planned.
 
March 17, 2009
How the heck did I miss this review?? Nicely done, Sean, it's funny I was just thinking about this film as well as "Almost Famous". This movie had a darkly thematic thing going for it and nice touches of black humor. Annette Bening was arguably one of the film's main attraction..."Eff me your Majesty!" LOL I eagerly await your review for Crash.
March 17, 2009
Don't know. To be truthful, I don't think I've read every one of yours and Trashie's reviews... and I definitely haven't read all of Amanda's (she does like five every week consistently). I still really want to do that video essay but it may be quite a while before Lunch sets up a feature like that. As for "Crash", that review should be ready by either thursday or friday this week, along with about four others.
March 17, 2009
Yeh. I tend to move too fast sometimes. Anyway, this is an excellent review. I couldn't have done better myself.
 
March 04, 2009
To DesignDude: Yeah, actually I agree. The reason the plot summary kind of goes on and on is because I was going to post a video essay in there that would show the beginning narration and ending narration, as well as a number of other things. the problem is is that the video essay is useless without the written review and sadly, the written review feels somewhat incomplete without the video essay. If I could upload video to this site directly from my computer rather than having to upload it from another site, I could then revise the review. But as you've pointed out on a number of occasions, uploading media to Lunch.com directly from my computer isn't currently a possibility. So I apologize about the way that this affects the overall quality of the review. As for the wiki, I prefer to do plot synopses as part of the review, rather than the wiki, which I think works best if it contains cast & crew info and production details. I often don't bother to read the wiki information and to be honest I don't know how many people do, so I figure it's best to sum up the plot in my review to avoid confusing people.
 
March 04, 2009
To Queen B: Yeah, I loved Crash. I don't think it was at all contrived, totally convoluted, but not contrived. If you take it in the manner of being a mythic tapestry rather than a modern story, and you see it as a morality tale within a contemporary context you might perceive it differently.
 
March 04, 2009
CRASH? Really? I thought that was one of the weaker films to win. I've seen that same type of film done much better and totally ignored by the Academy for years by people like John Sayles. I thought it was very contrived, to the point of being a bit embarrassing. Speaking of John Sayles, I'd love to see you review his film MEN WITH GUNS. Its on moritorium right now so it may not be that easy to fins but I do believe Netflix carries it. He was nominated for an Oscar for best foreign language film because the whole thing is in Spanish etc. I worship Sayles the way the fashionable worship Tarantino
 
March 04, 2009
A cheese factory! Dude, that's awesome. I love cheese, though I can only eat certain kinds because I'm a strict vegetarian and I won't eat cheese if it contains either animal enzymes or rennet. That pretty much limits me to Cabot and soy-based vegetarian cheeses (not preferred).
 
March 04, 2009
Thanks, man. And I agree completely. This, The Matrix, Amistad, Pulp Fiction, and The Shawshank Redemption are my top 5 favorite films of the '90s. Out of curiosity, what do you do for work anyway? As for Watchmen, I'll post a version of the review without spoilers for those who haven't read the book. I'll probably do a second review for it when the DVD comes out and go into greater detail about the plot, I did that on Donnie Darko with the Director's Cut and it worked out nicely I think.
 
March 03, 2009
Nope, actually I'm not camping out to see Watchmen. It's too cold, plus we've still got about two feet of snow on the ground!!! Though, I will be seeing it at the first showing. I've got connections at the local movie theatre, so I might even be able to gat an advanced showing. One can only hope. As far as being weary of Oscar-winning films, I certainly understand where you're coming from. In fact there are only three times that I agreed with the Oscar for "Best Picture" (Lawrence of Arabia, American Beauty, and Crash).
 
March 02, 2009
And to think that I dismissed this film as sewcond rate because of its Oscar wins! That'll teach me! Now I have to see this. I'll bet that you were camping out at the theater waiting for the doors to open on WATCHMEN! Really looking forward to that review after seeing the previews. I also know that its one film I'm going to have to see in the theater because those same scenes lose all their visual impact when shown on tv. On the big screen they took my breath away.
 
1 2 Next
More American Beauty reviews
review by . September 17, 2011
posted in Movie Hype
**** out of ****     Lester Burnham (Kevin Spacey) is facing a midlife crisis; as many men in the movies have before (and after) him. He doesn't have a healthy relationship with his wife Carolyn (Annette Benning) or even his teenage daughter Jane (Thora Birch). Not to mention, he finds his job to be crappy; as if he's trapped in a world which he cannot escape. This is sad. The entirety of "American Beauty" is, in my image, sad. Why so many people quote the little "funny" lines …
Quick Tip by . September 19, 2010
Years later, this seems a little dated and it is hard to see how new and exciting it was for viewers. The acting by Kevin Spacey and Annette Benning is reliably excellent. But it seems as though there is not much "there" there.
review by . May 28, 2009
Writer, Alan Ball's (of Six Feet Under & True Blood fame) first theatrical script blurs those stereotypical slow death in suburbia lines and keeps the viewer off balance throughout the entirety of the film.      This film, is, above all, a deeply moving drama. The suburbanite, highly dysfunctional, Burnham Family is sad, enchanting, sickening, wonderful, confusing, tragic, abhorrent, and every other adjective listed in Websters. That is precisely what makes this film …
review by . December 17, 2008
This movie is truly one of the greats!  Kevin Spacey does an excellent job as being a middle aged men going through a mid-life crisis.  His family is pretty dysfunctional and he's really trying to find his place within his family.  His infamous line "I Rule!" is the best and is such a perfect line for the movie.  Annette Benning plays his wife whom is also very unhappy in her marriage and seeks out a colleague for support.  This is one of her best performances.  Their …
review by . May 06, 2004
posted in Movie Hype
Writer, Alan Ball's (of Six Feet Under fame) first theatrical script blurs those stereotypical slow death in suburbia lines and keeps the viewer off balance throughout the entirety of the film.This film, is, above all, a deeply moving drama. The suburbanite, highly dysfunctional, Burnham Family is sad, enchanting, sickening, wonderful, confusing, tragic, abhorrent, and every other adjective listed in Websters. That is precisely what makes this film a true "one-of-a-kind". Mr. Lester Burnham (Kevin …
review by . April 02, 2000
posted in Movie Hype
Pros: Great story and acting     Cons: None     What happens when an American Family melts down? The viewers of this film get an inside glimpse into a typical American family dealing with sexuality, monogamy, mid life crisis, teen angst, career highs, women as breadwinners, drugs, and the rest of the topics that we all deal with in our own everyday lives.      The acting is superb and the characters engrossing. The filming technique was …
About the reviewer

Ranked #6
Member Since: Dec 16, 2008
Last Login: Jun 7, 2012 07:25 PM UTC
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Count_Orlok_22
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this movie

Wiki

AMERICAN BEAUTY tells the story of Lester Burnham (Kevin Spacey), a suburban father who snaps when he becomes disgusted with his stale, repetitive existence. Burnham lets us know in voice-over from the film's opening that this is the day he dies (using the SUNSET BOULEVARD flashback approach), a technique that adds an inevitable tension to the proceedings and keeps the story moving forward at all times. On a whim, Lester quits his job and begins a regression into young adulthood, lifting weights, smoking pot, doing nothing, and discovering the overflowing sexuality of his 16-year-old daughter's best friend, Angela (Mena Suvari). His wife, Carolyn (Annette Bening), has her own midlife crisis of sorts. A real estate agent, she experiences a youthful awakening when super-agent Buddy Kane (Peter Gallagher) seduces her repeatedly. Meanwhile, Jane (Thora Birch), the Burnhams' daughter, is pursued by Ricky (Wes Bentley), the mysterious boy next door who carries a video camera around with him at all times. When ...

view wiki

Details

Director: Sam Mendes
Genre: Classics, Comedy, Drama, Gay & Lesbian, Mystery, Romance
Release Date: September 8, 1999; September 15, 1999
MPAA Rating: PG-13
Runtime: 2hrs 0min
First to Review

"Wow"
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Movie Hype is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists