Movie Hype
New Releases, Oscar-Winners and Obscure Movies!

Deodato's Grand Masterpiece

  • May 5, 2009
Rating:
+5
Call me crazy if you must but I love the mondo-canibale genre & will buy any film made by Lenzi or Deodato which exploits cannibalism. This, by far, may be one of the most difficult ones for me to stomach however as it's very disturbing. Needless to say, it rocks!

Unlike other cannibal films in this genre, this one actually forces us to question who the real cannibals are. After we're finished watching the film, we are left with too many questions to ask ourselves & others.

In the beginning, Professor Monroe sets out on an expedition to find out what happened to four film-makers who had initially stepped into the green inferno to make a documentary on the natives themselves. Having successfully made friends with the natives, Dr. Monroe is able to bargain with them & they actually let him have the footage which is well kept inside the film canisters used by the four film-makers. Ofcourse, not before we are able to see their skeletal remains in a grisly monument of some sort which contains all the canisters of film.

When Dr. Monroe returns to the states, he in turn interviews all of the immediates of the documentary kids themselves & one could say they weren't anymore popular over here than they would've been in the green inferno itself. Ugly Americans? But wait, we're getting to the good stuff. The footage is developed & viewers  are able to witness what the film-makers were truly like. They flayed a gigantic turtle. They burned the villagers homes. They raped a young girl repeatedly. After having seen what savages these kids really were, we no longer think about the natives of the green inferno as cannibals. Most of us are already sick of watching these disgusting Americans wreak havoc on someone else's land & are ready for them to die.

Needless to say, the viewer is now subjected to watching their excruciatingly painful deaths in loving detail. That's Deodato detail. Yes, nothing here looks fake. Rumour has it that real animals were slaughtered during the making of this film for purposes of authenticity. While I do not condone the killings of animals to make this film, one can't deny the power of the film overall. Cannibal Holocaust is Grindhouse fare indeed although the quality of the craftmanship here is on par with anything Hollywood could've made. 

I can see now why this film would've been banned although I think Cannibal Holocaust teaches a valuable lesson in humanity (or lack thereof) if you think you can stomach the montages. I definately give it my highest rating for a film in this genre. The only other film I found as gory or repulsive was Emanuelle & The Last Cannibals. While the latter is less disturbing than the former, I think the gore would satisfy most gorehounds.            
canny Deodato's Grand Masterpiece Deodato's Grand Masterpiece Deodato's Grand Masterpiece Deodato's Grand Masterpiece

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
12
Thought-Provoking
7
Fun to Read
8
Well-Organized
8
Post a Comment
March 15, 2012
I agree wholeheartedly. This is a masterpiece, a classic; a very provocative piece of cinema. I know a lot of people hate it, but I find the thematic material to be the savior of the film.
March 28, 2012
Thanks Ryan! I agree with you. It really makes us question the ethics of those who make these documentaries in real life or films of that ilk. Cheers!
 
March 28, 2011
Yeah man this is a crazy flick, I do indeed like it of course but the animal thing [if true] not so much.
March 29, 2011
Sadly, the animal cruelty is real. If it's any consolation, the animals were eaten so nothing went to waste of course but I am in agreement with you all the way though. There is also an option to watch the film without the animal cruelty on the Grindhouse release. Although I haven't done so as of yet, I do often share that piece of info with people who would be willing to see the film without animal killings. Thanks for stopping by again!!
 
May 08, 2009
The movie that my ex stole from my collection out of spite! (believe me, I wouldn't let her go if she loved this film) great review, Deodato's finest film. what do you prefer, cannibal Ferox or this film?
June 11, 2009
I like them both really but Deodato's film had the greatest impact on me of the two. I also loved Jungle Holocaust, Eaten Alive, & Man From Deep River. Have you seen any of those? Thanks for the comment on my review. That means a great deal. Much love!! Remember, keep it evil!!
October 18, 2009
Ferox I think may be a little more fun but the Caust was crazier...
October 18, 2009
Ferox I think may be a little more fun but for some reason the Caust left a bad taste in my mouth (in a good way)
October 20, 2009
I like them both. Then again, I also loved Man From Deep River & Jungle Holocaust. Oh, can't forget Eaten Alive either for that matter. Yeah, The Caust was more disturbing than gory but I loved it! I've also seen Emanuelle & The Last Cannibals but wasn't a huge fan of that one. I suppose it'll do in a pinch but I prefer the others personally. Thnks Woo & Christy!!
 
1
More Cannibal Holocaust reviews
review by . March 15, 2012
posted in Movie Hype
**** out of ****    "The one that goes all the way!" "The Most Controversial Film of All-Time!" "Ripout! Barbeque! Devour! How long can you take it?" So goes just three of the many taglines for Ruggero Deodato's infamous "Cannibal Holocaust"; a film that once tested the limits and tolerance of exploitation, and still does to this day. I don't have a very hard time imagining that even some of the most faithful horror/exploitation film-goers will find it difficult to watch; even …
About the reviewer
Brian ()
Ranked #15
I've spent years trying to make others happy & not really focusing on what's most important in my own life. Having said that, my own health & security are paramount so now I'm more … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
cenobite7
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this movie

Wiki

The second film of Deodato's "cannibal trilogy".

The movie was "banned" in over 50 countries.

Ten days after the film was released, Ruggero Deodato was arrested for "obscenity" and was later charged with murder and faced life in prison because the authorities belived that the actors were really murdered on camera.  The charges were dropped when the actors appeared in front of court.  Deodato's charges were dismissed but the film was banned in Italy for 3 years.
view wiki

Details

Director: Ruggero Deodato
Genre: Horror
Release Date: February 7, 1980
MPAA Rating: Unrated, X
Screen Writer: Gianfranco Clerici
Runtime: 1hr 35min
Studio: F. D. Cinematografica
First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Movie Hype is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists