Movie Hype
New Releases, Oscar-Winners and Obscure Movies!
Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon DVD

A 2000 drama and martial arts film directed by Ang Lee.

< read all 28 reviews

Rebuttal review: Crouching Tiger Hidden Dragon

  • Feb 20, 2001
  • by
Rating:
+3
Pros: Magical, great story, great fight sequences...

Cons: I hate subtitles!

The Bottom Line: See it, you will not regret it!

Plot Details: This opinion reveals minor details about the movie's plot.

This is a rebuttal review to mikemillar’s review of Crouching Tiger Hidden Dragon; it can be found at: (http://www.epinions.com/content_10010529412#ow).

Curious, my wife and I walked away from the film with a totally different impression of the Crouching Tiger Hidden Dragon. The movie was so much more that a Kung Fu flick; in fact the main theme wasn’t even about the martial arts. It was in the best classical sense a love story between four people; two who lived their lives steeped in tradition, and two who lived life by their own rules. Both couples loved and lost because of those rules. The love story was compelling and magical; the fight scenes were incidental and added excitement and were attention grapping.

I am a veteran of the King Fu genre of films (I used to watch them every Saturday afternoon growing up) and the fight sequences in Crouching Tiger Hidden Dragon were extraordinary, and somewhat believable. I say somewhat because the flying and skipping were defiantly the thing of fantasy, but the rest had me on the edge of my seat. The ending, unlike many American films had me on the edge of my seat because I didn’t know what was going to happen; that I like. I am so tired of the same ole formula I have seen three thousand times before; you know the one when you feel you wrote the script. Surprise me, dazzle me, intrigue me, enthrall me, keep me guessing, keep me thinking until the bitter end. That is what I enjoy and expect from a movie, and Crouching Tiger Hidden Dragon does not disappoint.


Recommended:
Yes

Suitability For Children: Suitable for Children Age 13 and Older

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
0
Thought-Provoking
0
Fun to Read
0
Well-Organized
0
Post a Comment
More Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon reviews
Quick Tip by . November 10, 2010
Frankly, I didn't enjoy this one as much particularly since I'm not a fan of Chow Yun-Fat. I remembered it as being too long and I don't even remember what the entire show is all about anymore!
Quick Tip by . October 12, 2010
posted in ASIANatomy
What amounts largely to what I'm told as an Asian Fairy Tale with it's wire work and legends in a movie. Chow Yun Fat is awesome as is Michelle Yeoh in this story of a powerful sword taken by a young woman who gains power from it.
Quick Tip by . July 14, 2010
This film has visually stunning fight scenes and set design.
Quick Tip by . March 16, 2010
posted in ASIANatomy
I respect the fact that it opened America's doors to Chinese Wuxia, but NOT the best wuxia out there
Quick Tip by . March 15, 2010
posted in Reel Overseas
Overrated and over long. I love martial arts movies, but this was just too melodramatic and predictable for me.
Quick Tip by . March 15, 2010
posted in Reel Overseas
I pretty much grew up on Chinese martial arts flicks. I've seen better.
Quick Tip by . March 12, 2010
posted in ASIANatomy
Caption
Chinese Oscar winner for best foreign film serves well as intro for uninitiated but may leave old fans wanting more.
Quick Tip by . March 11, 2010
posted in Reel Overseas
An amazing special effects movie built around a warm story.
review by . February 27, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
It's been a decade since Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon first came out, and there have been dozens of copycat and other Chinese epic movies in the meantime, but this one is still the best. Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon is chock full of strong characters, beautiful music, and exciting fight scenes. Chow Yun Fat and Michelle Yeoh make an excellent pair as warriors who try to suppress their feelings. Moreover, Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon has a lot of heart. The movie doesn't have a lot of violence …
review by . February 27, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
It's been a decade since Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon first came out, and there have been dozens of copycat and other Chinese epic movies in the meantime, but this one is still the best. Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon is chock full of strong characters, beautiful music, and exciting fight scenes. Chow Yun Fat and Michelle Yeoh make an excellent pair as warriors who try to suppress their feelings. Moreover, Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon has a lot of heart. The movie doesn't have a lot of violence …
About the reviewer
Vincent Martin ()
Ranked #78
I am an IT Professional and have worked in the industry for over 20 years. I may be a computer geek, but I also like reading, writing, cooking, music, current events and regretfully, politics.
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
vemartin
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this movie

Wiki

Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon is a Chinese-language film in the wuxia martial arts style, released in 2000. A China-Hong Kong-Taiwan-United States co-production, the film was directed by Ang Lee and featured an international cast of ethnic Chinese actors, including Chow Yun-fat, Michelle Yeoh, Zhang Ziyi and Chang Chen. The movie was based on the fourth novel in a pentalogy, known in China as the Crane-Iron Pentalogy, by wuxia novelist Wang Dulu. The martial arts and action sequences were choreographed by Yuen Wo Ping, well known for his work in The Matrix and other films.

Made on a mere US$17 million budget, with dialogue in Mandarin, Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon became a surprise international success. After its US premiere at the Hawaii International Film Festival, it grossed US$128 million in the United States alone, becoming the highest-grossing foreign-language film in American history. It has won over 40 awards. The film won the Academy Award for Best Foreign Language Film (Taiwan) and three other Academy Awards, and was nominated for six other Academy Awards, including Best Picture. The film also won three BAFTAs and two Golden Globes, one for "Best Foreign Film" as well as additional nominations for ten BAFTAs including "Best Picture".
view wiki

Details

Director: Ang Lee
Genre: Action, Adventure
Release Date: December 15, 2000
MPAA Rating: PG-13
DVD Release Date: June 5, 2001
Runtime: 120 minutes
Studio: Sony Pictures Classics
First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Movie Hype is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists