Movie Hype
New Releases, Oscar-Winners and Obscure Movies!
Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon DVD

A 2000 drama and martial arts film directed by Ang Lee.

< read all 28 reviews

Beauty and battle.

  • Apr 24, 2001
  • by
Rating:
+5
Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon is the greatest martial arts movie I've ever seen. Like all great films in the genre, there are reams of battles, but Director Ang Lee has taken things farther. His movie isolates and preserves the pivotal element of personal excellence over the conflict itself. It is uniquely heroic to see a warrior's gravity defying leaps and bounds, conquer his enemy through virtuous character as much as actual feats of combat prowess, and stand triumphant over a legion of his inferiors (individual vs. the collective?).

When I saw this movie with a friend of mine who generally derided martial arts movies for their silliness, even she was amazed by the battle choreography and deeply touched by the story. Intensifying the combat is the simple romance which captures an intimate quality often missing from these movies. The skillful translation, combined with the subtle yet effective acting, layers the fundamentals of the story with emotional clarity that conveys these feelings, instead of just telling the player of them. The scenery is often beautiful, capturing the Romanticism of the setting and the story.

And the battle scenes... Awe-inspiring in their speed and athletics, I've never seen more exhilarating physical confrontations. I cannot describe the breathless sense of urgency enjoined by these fights, which are tests are character as much as battles. Watching the battles more than once reveals a remarkable level of depth and ingenuity behind the choreography. The greatest combative moment in the film comes in an unconventional setting: treetops. Here, the characters bound across the leafy canopy, trading blows with a shriek of steel that seems out of place in a setting so exquisite. It's like poetry in motion. Just watching it gave me shivers.

An amazing film; so much more than a martial arts movie.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
0
Thought-Provoking
0
Fun to Read
0
Well-Organized
0
Post a Comment
More Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon reviews
Quick Tip by . November 10, 2010
Frankly, I didn't enjoy this one as much particularly since I'm not a fan of Chow Yun-Fat. I remembered it as being too long and I don't even remember what the entire show is all about anymore!
Quick Tip by . October 12, 2010
posted in ASIANatomy
What amounts largely to what I'm told as an Asian Fairy Tale with it's wire work and legends in a movie. Chow Yun Fat is awesome as is Michelle Yeoh in this story of a powerful sword taken by a young woman who gains power from it.
Quick Tip by . July 14, 2010
This film has visually stunning fight scenes and set design.
Quick Tip by . March 16, 2010
posted in ASIANatomy
I respect the fact that it opened America's doors to Chinese Wuxia, but NOT the best wuxia out there
Quick Tip by . March 15, 2010
posted in Reel Overseas
Overrated and over long. I love martial arts movies, but this was just too melodramatic and predictable for me.
Quick Tip by . March 15, 2010
posted in Reel Overseas
I pretty much grew up on Chinese martial arts flicks. I've seen better.
Quick Tip by . March 12, 2010
posted in ASIANatomy
Caption
Chinese Oscar winner for best foreign film serves well as intro for uninitiated but may leave old fans wanting more.
Quick Tip by . March 11, 2010
posted in Reel Overseas
An amazing special effects movie built around a warm story.
review by . February 27, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
It's been a decade since Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon first came out, and there have been dozens of copycat and other Chinese epic movies in the meantime, but this one is still the best. Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon is chock full of strong characters, beautiful music, and exciting fight scenes. Chow Yun Fat and Michelle Yeoh make an excellent pair as warriors who try to suppress their feelings. Moreover, Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon has a lot of heart. The movie doesn't have a lot of violence …
review by . February 27, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
It's been a decade since Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon first came out, and there have been dozens of copycat and other Chinese epic movies in the meantime, but this one is still the best. Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon is chock full of strong characters, beautiful music, and exciting fight scenes. Chow Yun Fat and Michelle Yeoh make an excellent pair as warriors who try to suppress their feelings. Moreover, Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon has a lot of heart. The movie doesn't have a lot of violence …
About the reviewer
Clayton Reeder ()
Ranked #250
Rogue capitalist in search of all that is interesting, weird, or beautiful.      Collected here are my hundreds of reviews from Amazon.com, covering mostly music that is offensive … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
lordchimp253
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this movie

Wiki

Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon is a Chinese-language film in the wuxia martial arts style, released in 2000. A China-Hong Kong-Taiwan-United States co-production, the film was directed by Ang Lee and featured an international cast of ethnic Chinese actors, including Chow Yun-fat, Michelle Yeoh, Zhang Ziyi and Chang Chen. The movie was based on the fourth novel in a pentalogy, known in China as the Crane-Iron Pentalogy, by wuxia novelist Wang Dulu. The martial arts and action sequences were choreographed by Yuen Wo Ping, well known for his work in The Matrix and other films.

Made on a mere US$17 million budget, with dialogue in Mandarin, Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon became a surprise international success. After its US premiere at the Hawaii International Film Festival, it grossed US$128 million in the United States alone, becoming the highest-grossing foreign-language film in American history. It has won over 40 awards. The film won the Academy Award for Best Foreign Language Film (Taiwan) and three other Academy Awards, and was nominated for six other Academy Awards, including Best Picture. The film also won three BAFTAs and two Golden Globes, one for "Best Foreign Film" as well as additional nominations for ten BAFTAs including "Best Picture".
view wiki

Details

Director: Ang Lee
Genre: Action, Adventure
Release Date: December 15, 2000
MPAA Rating: PG-13
DVD Release Date: June 5, 2001
Runtime: 120 minutes
Studio: Sony Pictures Classics
First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Movie Hype is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists