Movie Hype
New Releases, Oscar-Winners and Obscure Movies!
Don't Be Afraid of the Dark

A 2011 movie directed by Troy Nixey.

< read all 7 reviews

'Don't Be Afraid Of The Dark' 'Two Jews On Film' Are Two Bagels Apart (Video)

  • Aug 22, 2011
Rating:
+3

Take one young, unhappy girl who is sent to live with her busy, preoccupied father and his overly sweetgirlfriend, throw in a super big scary gothic mansion with a basement, that has a sealed off fireplace (are there any other kind) and a hundred (give or take) ancient, super ugly, tiny demon like creatures, badly in need of dental work, and you have the film 'Don't Be Afraid Of The Dark'.

This film is written by one of my favorite horror guys, Guillermo del Toro.  He wrote the script along with Matthew Robbins and it's directed by newcomer, Troy Nixey.

 'Don't Be Afraid Of The Dark' is a remake of a television movie that was done in the 1970's. It starred Kim Darby.  Don't know if any of you remember her.

In any case, the main reason to see this film, is for the actress, Bailee Madison.  Bailee plays the young girl, Sally Hurst and she is wonderful.  Guy Pearce is Alex, her self involved dad, and Katie Holms plays Kim, daddy's girlfriend.

Alex is an archectect who's in the process of restoring this very old and very creepy house.  All of his money is tied up in this renovation, so of course Alex can't just up and move out...doesn't matter that his daughter Sally, is drawing pictures of demons with razor sharp teeth and she's scared out of her mind.

 There's always a reason why residents of demon-occupied homes never leave...some reasons are better than others.  Anyway, at first no one believes the poor child when she says:  There's little creatures in my bedroom that come out when it's dark and they want to do serious harm to me.  Do
parents ever believe their children in this situation? 

Finally, Kim who really really wants Sally to like her, starts to see the light. Sally might actually be telling the truth.

'Don't Be Afraid Of The Dark has a couple of scenes that are completely illogical.  That's something that really bothered me but aside from that, the film does have some really scary elements, that will have you jumping out of your seat, more than once.

Check out our video to see what John, the other half of 'Two Jews On Film' thought of it.     'Don't Be Afraid Of The Dark' opens in theaters Friday, August 26, 2011. 

By Joan Alperin-Schwartz
 
'Don't Be Afraid Of The Dark' 'Two Jews On Film' Are Two Bagels Apart (Video) 'Don't Be Afraid Of The Dark' 'Two Jews On Film' Are Two Bagels Apart (Video) 'Don't Be Afraid Of The Dark' 'Two Jews On Film' Are Two Bagels Apart (Video)

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
18
Thought-Provoking
16
Fun to Read
17
Well-Organized
16
Post a Comment
August 29, 2011
Great review guys. You make me laugh. I like Del Toro but I will probably wait to rent it on Redbox.
August 29, 2011
My husband says...'smart move' LOL. Thanks so much..
 
August 27, 2011
The video scared me -- fairy mucus? Yuk! Great review and thanks for the video clip.
August 27, 2011
Yeah, don't know where he got that from.
 
August 26, 2011
I only saw portions of the original and spent years trying to find out the title. Fortune finally smiled on me during a random discussion on Amazon. I was planning on seeing this film and now its on for tomorrow even if I have to pay full price. I had thought that Del Toro was only connected with it peripherally, news that he wrote the screenplay is a real turn on. I seem to recall hearing that the TV version was adapted from a book of the same title, but I could very easily be wrong.
August 26, 2011
Love to know what you think. Never saw the tv film. Del Toro wrote this great trilogy with Chuck Hogan called The Strain (ist one) the Fall (2nd) and the third is coming out in the fall. Sp good, so scary - Love them. I'm sure they're making them into a film. It's a very different take on the Vampire - these are not your Vampire Diaries or True Blood Vampires.
August 26, 2011
I hope they film them! I also hope that one day Del Toro will find the time to actually DO one of those Lovecraft films he's said he's always wanted to make. He's one of the few people I think could do HPL proud.
August 26, 2011
Now that would be something. I love Lovecraft.
August 26, 2011
So do I. I've been trying to get my grandson Benji to read him, but no go. I even enticed him by promising him archaic words. Maybe one day...
August 26, 2011
He would love them. Have a great weekend.
August 26, 2011
Just saw DON'T BE AFRAID OF THE DARK and loved it. It could not have much better than it was. Del Toro was one of the voices of the little demon critters. I'm a believer in reading the credits. Hope you have a great weekend too. Right now I'm trying to decide whether to punish myself by going to see the remake of FRIGHT NIGHT.
August 26, 2011
Yes I know about him doing the voices. I'm such a big fan. Go see 'Rise Of The Planet Of The Apes if you haven't. So excellent. Even my ridiculously critical husband loved it.
August 26, 2011
I was thinking about skipping it since I really hate remakes unless I see a purpose to them--and I don't consider CGI to be a valid reason. I've seen so many high ratings for it here though that I'm starting to rethink it. I KNOW I have to go see the new CONAN flick even if it does suck just because I AM such a Robert Howard fan. And I was planning on COWBOYS AND ALIENS too. And even FRIGHT NIGHT although I'll probably want to hunt down everyone associated with that flick and kill them--it looks like they totally eliminated Peter Vincent and Evil Ed looks like a bore, where's the comedy? And with RISE OF THE APES all I see when I look at Cesar is Andy Seeks. Can't they get somebody else to do that kind of work? Glum, Kong, Cesar...they all look like Andy Seeks to me. I find it distracting.
August 26, 2011
ROTPOTA is a prequel. And a really smart film. Character driven, excellent acting, wonderful script. We gave it five bagels out of five. Check out our review at Lunch. Really...don't miss it. It's truly one of the best films around right now. Cowboys And Aliens I thought was really good but it Apes if the one to see. They had a bad marketing campaign that made it seem cheezy. but it's not at all.
August 26, 2011
I dunno. If it's still in the theaters after I've gone through my required viewing I'll give it a go. I'll be seeing all the others within the next 3 or 4 days at best or a week at the most.
August 27, 2011
Let me know how they are. Have a great weekend.
August 27, 2011
Will do.
August 30, 2011
I liked this quite a bit. I mean, I always loved Del Toro's style in visuals and the story was pretty good.
August 30, 2011
You should read his novels...The Strain and The Fall or wait for the film. so how was your trip?
August 31, 2011
So are you going to review it Woop?
 
August 24, 2011
I don't remember seeing the original one, but who knows since I've seen so many scary movies LOL - I'd be interested in seeing this one when it comes out on DVD - thanks for sharing!!
August 24, 2011
thinking about it...it's really a dvd rental or netflix
 
August 24, 2011
Hardly a huge fan, I like the original DBAotD and its themes are definitely familiar to del Toro, but I'll wait to see this via rental. In no way do I expect this to be another in the trash pile of awful horror remakes, but it hasn't enough appeal to draw me to a theater.

Thanks again!
August 24, 2011
You sound just like John...I guess I'm more forgiving. LOL
 
August 22, 2011
We'd love to know what you think of this film.
August 22, 2011
I plan on seeing this film, since I loved the original.....John's opinion doesn't "scare" me.....
August 22, 2011
Very well put.
 
1
More Don't Be Afraid of the Dark reviews
review by . August 30, 2011
posted in Movie Hype
....Ever Wonder Why Children Are So Afraid of the Dark...?
I first watched the original TV movie “Don’t Be Afraid of the Dark” when I was a mere child, I have to admit, I’ve had some nightmares during that time because of that film. Then again, I was a small child then, and it may have made me much more….shall we say resilient to horror movies since the horror genre is my mother’s most loved genre. The original was very simple; yet so creepy, and with those three ghoulish tiny beings whispering “….spirits …
review by . February 23, 2012
posted in Movie Hype
*** out of ****    What's one to expect from a haunted house horror movie produced by legendary Spanish native Guillermo Del Toro? If one has seen the great visual poet's directorial works, one might expect elements such as storytelling told through the eyes of a child, old-fashioned scare tactics, and talk of ghosts, ghouls, goblins, and monstrosities that live under the floorboards. If it is any of those things that you desire or anticipate; then by the time "Don't Be Afraid …
review by . January 06, 2012
posted in Movie Hype
   “Conventional” called “Boring” and they both emailed the non-mathematical version of “Derivative” and they all decided to see Don’t Be Afraid of the Dark.  Conventional said “Guillermo del Toro’s name is on it and I was totally undone by The Orphanage and Pan's Labyrinth” and Boring said “Bailee Madison’s in this and she was good in Bridge to Terabithia and stole the show in Brothers.”  The literary …
review by . August 27, 2011
posted in Movie Hype
Star Rating:         Don’t Be Afraid of the Dark is an exercise in atmosphere and sheer creepiness. The plot is essentially a compendium of haunted house clichés, but I find that I don’t much care – not when the visuals and the mood are dictated by co-writer/co-producer Guillermo del Toro, whose fascination with insects, monsters, and dark places could not have been more appropriate for this story. Even in its routine state, the film is still …
Quick Tip by . August 26, 2011
posted in Movie Hype
Caption
Guillermo Del Toro has given us a minor miracle; a remake of a horror movie that not only NEEDED to be remade (since not many people are familiar with it), but also one which succeeds in being a genuinely frightening film  about a little girl, a big, scary house with an ominous basement, and swarms of ugly little demonic monsters--what more could you ask for? This film is already on my Best of The Decade List.
About the reviewer
Joan & John Schwartz ()
Ranked #11
My husband (creator of the cult classic films FACES OF DEATH) andmyself (actress/screenwriter) are ex New Yorkers, see alot of films and usually disagree. So our friends decided that we need a review … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
2_TwoJewsOnFilm
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this movie

Wiki

Tags

Movies, Demons, Guillermo Del Toro, Katie Holmes, Guy Pearce, Bailee Madison, Horror Remake, Faires

Details

Director: Troy Nixey
Genre: Horror, Thriller
Release Date: 26 August 2011 (USA)
MPAA Rating: R
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Movie Hype is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists