Movie Hype
New Releases, Oscar-Winners and Obscure Movies!

A movie directed by Blaine Cade and Jason Horton

< read all 2 reviews

Verges on Being Really Good

  • Jan 13, 2010
Rating:
+4

Okay. I've been putting off seeing this flick for some time even though trashcanman review of it had made it sound like it was tailor made for me--I just had too many Bollywood films to work through, and then I read the other review on Lunch by Wrestlemaniac which couldn't have been more opposed to Trashie's opinion of the film. The Maniac's opinion is pretty much shared by everyone on NetFlix and Amazon. Hatred for this flick seemed almost universal. No doubt about it, I had to see this flick for myself. Could Trashie be that wrong? I've found his taste to be impeccable in the past.

First of all I will admit that this flick is not for everyone, if you can't stand low budget, independent flix then you would best be advised to run the other way because this flick is the definition of low budget. If you don't want to see anything that attempts to stray from the beaten path then avoid this at all costs. If you confuse easily, scratch it off your list. And lastly, if your zombie flix MUST consist of nothing but wall to wall zombie mayhem, well just forget it 'cause it ain't happening here. On the other hand if you can overlook the usual "flaws" that come with low budgets, if originality and creativity are your bag, if you don't mind occasional confusion and have no objections to a zombie movie where the zombies are more of a backdrop than the main feature, than EDGES OF DARKNESS may very well entertain you as much as it did me. It's not the best movie I've seen lately but it's a good attempt at blazing a new trail.

So I guess I come down somewhere in the middle on this flick. It could have used some judicious editing in the computer story--the wife's complaining about being ignored by her husband does get boring after a while, BUT at the same time I would have liked to have seen MORE of her relationship with the zombies outside her window, THAT was interesting stuff, plus it made the point better than all her whining ever could.  But aside from the fact that I found very little to complain about in this flick, it just barely made it over the line into a 4 thumbs up due to some troubling continuity problems.

HYPE FACTOR: Nothing other than word of mouth
Verges on Being Really Good Verges on Being Really Good Verges on Being Really Good Verges on Being Really Good Verges on Being Really Good Verges on Being Really Good

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
6
Thought-Provoking
6
Fun to Read
6
Well-Organized
6
Post a Comment
January 14, 2010
Wahoo! A new review from Queenie. Way to go. It probably won't come as much of a surprise, at least not to those who know how pathetically poor I am, that I haven't rented this. But I'll keep an eye out for it on TV.
January 14, 2010
In that case you will go to your grave without ever having seen it. You stand a better chance of seeing END OF THE LINE on TV than this one.
January 14, 2010
I don't know, they show some pretty bizarre stuff on TV these days. I've fallen in love with the Sundance Channel and IFC.
January 14, 2010
I don't get those channels. sigh.
January 14, 2010
Bummer. They feature a lot of great indie and foreign films.
January 14, 2010
yEAH, TELL ME ABOUT IT. i DON'T EVEN GET SciFi CHANNEL ANY MORE.
January 14, 2010
That's not so bad. That channel went downhill in abig way over the past couple years. They even changed their name to "SyFy", as if misspelling is somehow going to improve the quality of their original movies.
January 14, 2010
They're aren't their movies you know. NIGHT FEEDERS was a "SciFi original" and they had nothing at all to do with the film. The just showed it.
January 14, 2010
True, some of the films they just distribute, but others they actually produce. Usually, both are crap, with a few notable exceptions.
January 14, 2010
I'm sure Jet Eller wishes they were handing out money. He'd love to make another movie but finances are always a problem.
January 14, 2010
Don't make me cry.
January 14, 2010
Stop, Scottie! Stop!!! Her tears are acidic and lethal to all Earth-born life forms! Quick, someone play a Harryhausen film...
January 16, 2010
Good choice. One of my favorites.
January 16, 2010
YAY! You saved her from crying. ; )
January 16, 2010
=)
 
January 13, 2010
nice review! I need to see this because two of my friends' reviews opposed each other so much that I am now very curious. You put in your two cents now, so I have to put this on the top of my queve.
January 13, 2010
That was my feeling too. I'd be interested in seeing what you think about it. Most people complained that it was a poor attempt to stick an anthology together but, I thought it worked.
 
1
More Edges of Darkness reviews
Quick Tip by . April 30, 2010
Caption
This flick will appeal primarily to lovers of low budget horror only. Creative and original.
About the reviewer
karen ()
Ranked #18
I am the poster child for inertia. Where ever I am is where I plan to stay FOREVER.   So much so in fact that it took me decades to understand the punchline about why   the chicken … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
QUEENBFLIX
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this movie

Wiki

Edges of Darkness is a direct to DVD zombie movie that was released in 2009. The plot is about three interconnected tales of terror set against the backdrop of a zombie apocalypse. The stories were directed by: Jason Horton wrote and directed Overbite (the vampire story) and Up the Ante (Anti christ story) Blaine Cade wrote and directed Entanglement (The computer story).
view wiki

Details

Genre: Horror
Screen Writer: Jason Horton, Blaine Cade
DVD Release Date: September 22, 2009
Runtime: 87 minutes
Studio: Starz / Anchor Bay
First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Movie Hype is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists