Movie Hype
New Releases, Oscar-Winners and Obscure Movies!

Arnie eats terrorists for breakfast and James Caan eats the scenery.

  • Oct 10, 2010
Rating:
+4

Arnie may not have made a bigger movie then Terminator 2, or a better one but Eraser makes up for it's lesser story with some pure good ol' unbeliveable action scenes of the "that would never happen" kind.

Arnie is John Kruger a Federal Marshal who specializes in keeping witnesses safe in the witness protection program before they go to trial to testify.  His cases are normally former mobsters and other scum but one day a new case falls into his lap, that of Lee Cullen a lovely woman who works for the Cyrez corporation who has evidence that her employer is selling experimental weapons on the black market.  The FBI botches the case for her and Kruger is called in to keep her safe unaware that Kruger's own fellow Marshals are in on the arms deal with James Caan as Kruger's fellow partner who becomes the villain with plenty of gusto and strutting about.

Arnie learns that not only is Cyrez selling guns to terrorist groups, but the guns they are selling are high tech electromagnetic a$$ kicking super rifles which will become video game mainstays after this.  "A new era in world terrorism" is even said by Arnold if these guns make it to they're destination.  Good thing they didn't make it, cause who knows what kind of terror we'd see today if that happened.

Eraser is much like another Charles Russel movie, The Mask (the Jim Carey movie, not the Cher one) when they'res action, theres action and a lot of it but when it's going slow-it is slow.  It's those slow scenes that make you appreciate the action even more.  Action includes standard shoot outs, night raids, a COMPLETELY unbeliveable escape from a jetliner that is so awesome in it's absurdity, racing downtown in the wrong side of the road and the eventual showdown of Arnie vs the world armed with the a$$kicker guns which reeks of awesomeness.  It may not be Commando awesome, but Arnie's tendancy to get hurt in some of his action scenes does bring him down to earth a bit and not make him a total superman.

Where the movie falters is the posturing and machismo that is coming out of the seems of this and it's mostly coming from Caan whos doing his best job at being a smug jerk.  The enemy guards and they're snarls of "This is a matter of NATIONAL SECUIRTY! - urr this is important stuff-we're trying to steal things!" and the normal political mumbo jumbo thats added to try and smarten up a dumb movie, never mind the politics are dumb too.  The story makes just enough sense to be a framework for the action which is good.

Eraser is looked on as one of Arnold's weaker movies and no it's not his best but damn it if it isn't gonna try and give the action crowd something to see, when it happens.
 

Arnie eats terrorists for breakfast and James Caan eats the scenery.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
6
Thought-Provoking
6
Fun to Read
6
Well-Organized
6
Post a Comment
October 10, 2010
You got me ready to go on an Arnie kick, another great review.
 
October 10, 2010
I also remember this movie as one of warner's highlight dvd's--one of the first 5 dvd's ever released. I enjoyed this one--somewhat cartoonish but highly entertaining.
October 10, 2010
This and Fargo I remember were some of the first DVDs being released and Eraser on Laserdisc I remember being one of the biggest cases of what they called Disc rot.
October 10, 2010
I dimly remember seeing dvd's priced at $ 35.00 LOL!
October 10, 2010
Really, the place close to me has this on bluray for 10 bucks. I remember DVD's being the big new thing in that great year of late 96 and 97 or so. That was a cool time.
October 10, 2010
you ready for RED? I hope you get your review for it up this coming weekend. I don't think I'll be able to see it until Saturday or Sunday...
October 10, 2010
Absolutely. I hope I can catch an early show cause I have to work that afternoon but yes, Red will rule.
 
1
More Eraser reviews
Quick Tip by . October 10, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
Federal Marshall keeps a woman safe so she can testify against an arms maker selling high tech rifles on the black market. Typical Arnie action smash with some great stunts and moments.
Quick Tip by . December 08, 2009
Federal Marshal keeps a witness safe so she can testify against an arms company supplying terorists. One of Arnies last great movies.
About the reviewer
John Nelson ()
Ranked #5
Born in Wausau Wisconsin. Move at an early age to Ventura California and lived for 8 years. Growing up in a big city landscape didn't prepare me for my next move: Archbold Ohio with a population of … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
TheJohn
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this movie

Wiki

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
  (Redirected from Eraser (movie))
Jump to: navigation, search
Eraser Directed by Chuck Russell Produced by Anne Kopelson
Arnold Kopelson Written by Tony Puryear
Walon Green
Michael S. Chernuchin Starring Arnold Schwarzenegger
James Caan
Vanessa Williams
James Coburn
and Robert Pastorelli
James Cromwell
Danny Nucci
Andy Romano
Nick Chinlund
Gerry Becker Music by Alan Silvestri Cinematography Adam Greenberg Editing by Michael Tronick Distributed by Warner Bros. Release date(s) June 21, 1996 Running time 115 min. Language English Budget $100,000,000 US (est.) Gross revenue $234,400,000

Eraser is a 1996 action film starring Arnold Schwarzenegger and Vanessa Williams. It was directed by Chuck Russell. The film was nominated for an Academy Award for Sound Effects Editing in 1996.

Contents []

[edit] Plot

John "Eraser" Kruger (Arnold Schwarzenegger) is a U.S. Marshal who works for the Federal Witness Security Protection Program (WITSEC). John is assigned to protect Dr. Lee Cullen (Vanessa L. Williams), a scientist who works for Cyrez Corporation, a company that creates and manufactures weapons for the military. Lee has come across plans in which Cyrez plans to sell a top secret electronic pulse rifle to terrorist Sergei Ivanovich ...

view wiki
Polls with this movie
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Movie Hype is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists