Movie Hype
New Releases, Oscar-Winners and Obscure Movies!
Everything Must Go

A movie directed by Dan Rush

< read all 4 reviews

'Everything Must Go' 'Two Jews On Film' Don't Go For Will Farrell's New Dramady (Video)

  • May 9, 2011
Rating:
-1
'Everything Must Go' is based on a short story by Raymond Carver.  The film is directed and adapted for the screen by Dan Rush and stars Will Ferrell as Nick Halsey, a man who's definitely on his way down.

Nick is a career salesman who has always been on the top...but not anymore.  The film opens with Nick being fired. If that isn't bad enough, Nick arrives home to find that his wife has changed the locks and thrown all his possessions out on the front lawn.  What's a guy to do?  Well since Nick is an alcholic, the answer is simple...buy beer...a lot of beer.  

So in between guzzling one beer after another, Nick rearranges the furniture on his front lawn and makes himself at home.  He watches television, listens to music, and spies on his neighbors.

  He also makes two new friends...His next door neighbor, Samantha (Rebecca Hall) a pregnant, lonely housewife.  Apparently she's given up her photography career to move to Arizona for her husband's job, but he's no where to be found.

Nick's other friend is a chubby awkward young kid, Kenny (Christopher Jordan Wallace).  Nick pays Kenny in beef jerky to watch his stuff while he makes a run to the local liquor store.  

'Everything Must Go' is a character study about a man who has everything stripped away and is living in a state of complete despair.  And now he must find a way to let go of everything...his wife, his belongings, his old way of life...in order to survive.  

I really wanted to like this film.  It raises important issues.  Everyday people are losing their jobs, their homes and in some cases their families.  How does a person start over when everything is gone?

Unfortunately, "Everything Must Go' doesn't delve deep enough into these profound issues.  The film stays on one level as does Will Farrell's performance. But, I do respect him for trying something different as an actor. 

This is one of those rare times that John and I agree.  We both give 'Everything Must Go' a very low bagel rating.  The film opens in theaters, Friday May 13, 2011.
'Everything Must Go' 'Two Jews On Film' Don't Go For Will Farrell's New Dramady (Video) 'Everything Must Go' 'Two Jews On Film' Don't Go For Will Farrell's New Dramady (Video) 'Everything Must Go' 'Two Jews On Film' Don't Go For Will Farrell's New Dramady (Video) 'Everything Must Go' 'Two Jews On Film' Don't Go For Will Farrell's New Dramady (Video)

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
9
Thought-Provoking
9
Fun to Read
9
Well-Organized
9
Post a Comment
May 11, 2011
Wonderful review, you guys are way to funny, keep up the great work.
May 11, 2011
Thank you so much. Glad we make you laugh
May 11, 2011
I want to see John with the hammer and the long hair again LOL!
May 11, 2011
That can be arranged LOL
 
May 09, 2011
when I saw the trailers I thought that it was a good concept but I had a feeling it was going to miss its poentials. That is too bad, they stuck to the usual Farrell mechanics. Great commentary by John as to they should know what they are doing....Thanks for the advance review!! Featured!
May 10, 2011
since you saw it first, any ideas on a badge for our Movie Hype community? any cool punchlines?
May 11, 2011
How do I do that?
May 11, 2011
Oh, I can do the badge for you, I was asking if you have ideas for a badge since being the ones who saw the movie, you can give us some clever gags for a badge like that one for Bridesmaids "Maid of Dishonor". Any noteworthy scenes or lines?
May 11, 2011
Well he drinks one beer after another - don't know if that's what you have in mind...and he is living on his lawn. Winds up having a garage sale. LIFE FOR SALE CHEAP????
May 13, 2011
I took your suggestion and made a cool badge; check out your inbox. :)
May 13, 2011
I love it Brilliant. So to unlock it, I just click it right? that's what I did anyway.
May 13, 2011
yup. you got the badge! first one to earn it! :)
May 13, 2011
love it. We saw PIRATES last night. Were going to review it on sunday after Cannes. Could you put it on more than one site? Definitely want to put it on yours.
May 13, 2011
Just put the review in my COL and I'll make sure the topic goes around.
May 13, 2011
Thanks! give me a holler when you post it! Did John wear a pirate hat and mascara? LOL! Here's the topic...http://www.lunch.com/MovieHype/Reviews/movie...r_Tides-13-1681630.html or you can do whatever you usually do and I will fix it.
May 13, 2011
we're thinking about it.
May 13, 2011
Take your time. Oops, I hope I didn't ruin the surprise. The topic is carried by all communities that have the tag "fantasy" and adventure.
May 13, 2011
No you actually gave us a great idea. lol
May 13, 2011
Heh. Good. Oh, if you take a look at last night's newsletter, I gave you and @ special mention for helping me with badge ideas. :)
May 13, 2011
That's so cool. Thanks soooo much.
 
1
More Everything Must Go reviews
review by . September 25, 2011
posted in Movie Hype
*** out of ****     "Everything Must Go" is a sweet, funny, and surprisingly engaging drama. Like most of its kind, it gets most of its laughs out of pure humanity, and succeeds due to the honesty in the performances of its cast. Here, you have an intriguing few performers; the star of the lot being Will Ferrell, who doesn't usually do drama. However, maybe you recall his film "Stranger Than Fiction". That, like this film, was different from what he usually does; yet it was appealing …
review by . January 15, 2012
posted in Movie Hype
Nick Halsey (Will Ferrell) is having an incredibly, terrible, bad day. Despite being a model employee while on the job, he's cost the company money because of his alcoholism and after sixteen years is let go from his job. He comes home to find all of his belongings on the front lawn, the locks on the doors have been changed, and the garage key number altered. His wife has left him, leaving just a note and his stuff behind. His credit cards no longer work and his wife has blocked his access from …
About the reviewer
Joan & John Schwartz ()
Ranked #10
My husband (creator of the cult classic films FACES OF DEATH) andmyself (actress/screenwriter) are ex New Yorkers, see alot of films and usually disagree. So our friends decided that we need a review … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
2_TwoJewsOnFilm
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Movie Hype is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists