Movie Hype
New Releases, Oscar-Winners and Obscure Movies!
Iron Man

A 2008 movie starring Robert Downey Jr.

< read all 24 reviews

I Can Do Without

  • May 28, 2009
  • by
Rating:
+2
Without doubt, Iron Man is a pre-packaged Hollywood product. Enough said. If you enjoy early Summer Blockbusters & tend to shy away from Foreign or Indie films, you will be floating on cloud nine after seeing it. In fact, I highly encourage you to go out now & see this film as quickly as humanly possible. It does go well with Coke & popcorn.

Unfortunately,I wasn't so craazy about this one & actually found myself running back & forth from the concession stand for popcorn refills. Mmm, gotta hand it to them for having all those seasonings at the multiplex.....Right?

Robert Downey Jr & Gwyneth Paltrow are both good irregardless of how lumpy the film is or how disinterested I was. I will give them credit for delivering sound performances. Naturally, Downey is quite charming as usual & Paltrow always brightens my day for some unknown reason.

Iron Man tries. It really does & it's painstakingly difficult to trash a film that tries so hard. Iron Man wants to be so many different things for so many people as one can imagine. You want a love story? Check. Action/Adventure? Check. Some great story of political importance that might rival Lions For Lambs or Syriana? Hmm, check. Unfortunately, it doesn't really succeed on any great level which is a major disappointment in my book. The predictions you've cast early on in the film regarding who is good & who are evil are most likely going to be correct. Yes, Iron Man is extremely formulaic. If you can get past that, you will have a good time.

Sadly, I can't seem to climb aboard that train of thought in which we must give a film good reviews simply because they are cool or because everyone else subscribes to their style. Sorry.

The special effects here are just ok. Personally, I think Verhoeven did a better job with Robocop & that pre-dates Iron Man by about twenty some odd years. Honestly, I wanted to find more about this film to like other than the lead characters themselves but unfortunately couldn't. Oh well, maybe Hollywood might surprise me next time around....
I Can Do Without I Can Do Without I Can Do Without I Can Do Without

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
14
Thought-Provoking
7
Fun to Read
9
Well-Organized
7
Post a Comment
June 18, 2009
Nice work, bud. I liked the film, and I thought it was good, but it was slightly overrated. I don't think it was a 2 star film, but hey, I totally dig where you're coming from.
June 18, 2009
Yep, I feel it was kinda overrated myself but what do I know? It's funny I do like Downey & Paltrow both even though I didn't care too much for Iron Man. I guess the films that usually cater to the mainstream masses usually don't do much for me. Not sure why that is but I've never been a big fan of top 40 music nor Blockbuster hits per se. I know a lot of people liked this one so maybe I willre-visit it one day when I'm in a different frame of mind perhaps. Who knows, right? I might appeciate it more down the road. Thanks again for the compliments as always bro. Hope you are doing well on your end & that you had a spectacular birthday.
June 19, 2009
Thanks, bro. I'll tell you one thing, I'm feeling rather lazy to write now--maybe I'll snap out of it tomorrow LOL! I'm with you, I usually ignore critics choices. I use my nose to tell me which movies are good. Yeh, in my review, while I praised the film's quality and the performances and direction, I felt like it was pretty 'safe' and didn't have enough ambition to do something really inventive.
June 19, 2009
I feel you on that one man. I have been really out of it lately & just haven't felt like drafting shit. My job is driving me fucking bonkers & I'm pretty much living on coffee or tea right now as I'm in between paychecks. Not to mention I'm really missing the ex & wishes I could be snuggling up right about now. Oh well, shit sucks & life happens but life goes on. Right?I agree with you yet again that you can't let the critics decide what's right for you. I have a gut feeling as general rule of thumb as far what I will enjoy or what will irritate the nostrils per se. I didn't see a great deal of ambition in Iron Man but usually this kind of formulaic film will not stray from the cookie cutter patterns as a general rule of thumb. However, I've heard Watchmen does actually jerk a few straws from the audience's mouth. Cross a few fingers for me &/or pray that I will snap out of my hallucinatory state so I can write again. I will do the same for you. Thanks again bro!!!
 
June 03, 2009
Three thumbies, but I disagree that it was that bad. The writers built up this playboy who,when confronted with what his arms dealings were actually doing, killing people and supporting terrorism, he escapes from terrorists and tries to do something about it. Life/death experiences do change people, usually, and he definitely changes in a big way. The original comic book had Stark in Vietnam and so this was only mildly updated, otherwise fairly faithful to the original story. Of course it could'a been better, and no it's not Oscar worthy, but I thought it a lot of fun.
June 03, 2009
I really liked your comments here & you definitely put a lot of thought into it so I give you two gold stars. Again, I really do love your comments bro. Maybe one day this one will have more appeal to me. I know it was popular with a lot of folks so I'm sure my review really goes against the crowd so to speak. I will definitely say that Downey is an extremely talented actor & he was surpsingly good in this role although I like his turn in Tropic Thunder much better. Cheers!! So I take it you followed the Iron Man comics for the most part?
June 03, 2009
Yes, more or less. I'm more a spidey collector, really. I did enjoy Tropic Thunder as well and agree with your assessment. Cruise was especially surprising and entertaining.
June 03, 2009
Kewl, I am a bit comic book challenged you could say but I do have graphic novels lying around my house that I am going to have to read one day. I thought the entire cast of Tropic Thunder was pretty amazing & the movie was funny as Hell. Thanks again for your compliments!
 
May 30, 2009
Hmmm. I liked this one a lot although I have to agree that ROBOCOP was one of a great flick. But they're apples and oranges as far as I'm concerned. You might want to try it again later.
May 30, 2009
I may re-visit it one day but probably not in the near future. There is a lot of other stuff out there I still would like to see before taking in Iron Man again. Yeah, RoboCop & Iron Man are two different films entirely but I preferred the special effects of RoboCop or Terminator 2 over Iron Man I guess. It seems everyone likes this one so I really went against the crowd I suppose. Another reason to watch again one day I guess.
May 30, 2009
ROBOCOP was just such a wild, violent, out-there film that its unfair to judge anything against it. Its always best to put a significant amount of time between viewings when you reassess something. I'm going to have to do that with DRAG ME DOWN TO HELL I'm afraid.
May 30, 2009
I'm trying to withhold judgement on DRAG ME DOWN TO HELL. There is a part of me that wants to see it but another part that already hates it. I miss the old Raimi who made cool stuff like Evil Dead & Crimewave. I digress, he's gone for good or so I fear.
May 30, 2009
I don't think that he ever really understood horror in the first place and the EVIL DEAD films were an accident. ED 2, which is my favorite, was helped out greatly my the presence of Scott Spiegel as co-writer, Scott was the big horror fan and he's probably the one most responsibel for the addition of all the gore and the fact that they were bothe 3 Stooges fans let them feed off each other which amped up the comedy. But here me have Sam writing with his brother Ivan who co-wrote SPIDERMAN 3. Need I say more?
May 30, 2009
I liked the overall goofiness of the Evil Dead flicks but I wish I could get my hands on CrimeWave as that was fav of mine in the late '80s. Did you ever see that one? Supposedly there was going to be a DVD at one point but I don't recall ever seeing one online. I didn't care too much for the latter films of Raimi. I wish to hell he'd never made Boogeyman. What a waste of time. He desperately needs to collaborate with Speigel again for sure.
May 30, 2009
I seem to recall that this has been released on DVD but I wouldn't swear to it. Yet another reason why I still have two VCRs.
May 30, 2009
I used to have this on VHS many a moon ago. I recorded it off of cable TV & then bought a used copy of it in bargain bin some years later. For the friggin' life of me, I can't seem to find either copy. Sobs.
May 30, 2009
Well he didn't really make BOOGEYMAN. I mean he may have helped with its production since its a Ghost House film, but he didn't write, produce, or direct it. I've always felt he was a much stronger director than a writer and my heart just sank when I saw the writing credits on both SPIDERMAN 3 and DRAG ME TO HELL. I guess you've tried searching all the usual places for CRIMEWAVE? Sam's talked a lot about how that film's producers interfered with it and changed it almost completely.
May 30, 2009
I loved the old Lommel classic Boogeyman & I cringed at the thought of any remakes. I still do like it to this day & miss my old VHS tape of that one. I think there are still some DVD copies floating around so I will one day purchase one of the '80's film Boogeyman. I kinda gave up on finding CrimeWave for now but will keep it on my wish list naturally. I will watch DRAG ME TO HELL one day but I'm not rushing out to see it just yet. I agree with you. He's a far better director than a writer.
 
May 28, 2009
I agree...I couldn't figure out why everyone was going crazy when this came out. I thought it was pretty good, but it did not live up to the hype.
May 28, 2009
Thank you! I was beginning to think I'd missed something there or perhaps was the only human being on the planet who didn't care too much for it. Much appreciated!
May 28, 2009
I did enjoy the early parts where Downey Jr. is the philandering drinker...Jeff Bridges facial hair was rather strange as well.
May 28, 2009
I,personally, think Downey did a better job in Tropic Thunder. I couldn't find too much about this film to rave about. I might re-watch it someday just to make sure I haven't spoken too harshly. Thanks again for all your comments man! Much appreciated.
May 28, 2009
No worries...and he was awesome in Tropic Thunder.
May 28, 2009
Thanks again! It's great to know that I'm not completely alone in my views here on this one. You rock man!
 
1
More Iron Man reviews
review by . February 11, 2011
posted in Movie Hype
***1/2 out of ****     I admittedly state that I'm no comic junkie. While I often times will read something that's going to be or has been adapted into film, seldom do I actually read such forms of literature. Nevertheless, I like it when a director rises up to the challenge of making a huge, epic superhero movie and succeeds. And by "succeeds", I of course mean that they successfully make it for both audiences; the comic book fans and the non-associated. What makes John Favreau's …
review by . August 28, 2010
My daughter is almost 12 and is clamoring to watch PG-13 movies "like all her friends do."  We recently watched this as a family.  I had read detailed reviews that said that there were a few swear words, and a scene of a couple in bed (she was still wearing a shirt but was on top of him).  I covered her eyes on that part, and I thought the rest was pretty appropriate.      The beginning was a bit long (and boring?), but in general this is a fast-paced …
review by . May 13, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
RDJ is back and better than ever......
Comic Book adaptations back in the late 70's, late 80's and early to late 90’s were very rare and if one by chance was made well enough. it was one of the biggest films of that year  in 1978 acclaimed director Richard Donner(Director of the "Lethal Weapon" series) directed the first ever critical and commercial successful  big screen adaptation of the beloved and ever looked up to superhero. Super-Man. "Superman" was one of the biggest films of the 70's …
Quick Tip by . October 06, 2010
Wonderful adaptation of the original graphic novels, great action adventure for most ages, good fantasy with always relevant topics of self-discovery, morals and ethics
Quick Tip by . August 30, 2010
Fantasitic movie that moved Iron man to the forefront of Marvel's list of heroes that are household names.
Quick Tip by . September 02, 2010
This movie def changed the way super hero movies are watched. The humor in it made it much more enjoyable and it def opened it up to a much larger more commercial audience!
Quick Tip by . July 20, 2010
I was never really into the comic book, but I thought the movie did a great job telling the story while keeping the action constant.
Quick Tip by . August 09, 2010
I'm more enthusiastic about films (or maybe I have lower standards) - the only false note, to me, was the slut-shaming Pepper directs at Christine: I'm gonna blame bad writing, but the rest of the movie was above that. Good and actiony.
review by . December 23, 2009
Tony Stark's Iron Man MK III armor
Iron Man for all intents and purposes remembers the sole, number 1 rule of comic books and it's the rule that the X Men and Spiderman movies forgot about - to be fun.      Spiderman may have been high flying adventure and X Men may have had it's colorful cast of heroes but all the movies in the series are so racked with melodrama and long stretches that as great as they are they could sometimes be a trial to get through.  Iron Man has drama sans the melo and is …
review by . December 24, 2008
posted in Movie Hype
Shellhead in flight
The next anticipated movie from the Marvel line of comic books is "IRON MAN". There has been an overload of comic book films and thankfully, this one doesn‘t have "Fantastic Four‘s" quality. "Shellhead" goes to the big screen courtesy of director Jon Favreau with a solid screenplay by Mark Fergus and Hawk Ostby. Yes, the movie is great and as with "Spider-Man" is the cardboard cutout of everything a comic book film should be. Yes, everything but …
About the reviewer
Brian ()
Ranked #15
I've spent years trying to make others happy & not really focusing on what's most important in my own life. Having said that, my own health & security are paramount so now I'm more … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
cenobite7
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this movie

Wiki


Iron Man
tells the story about a wealthy man who becomes involved in building an armored suit after a life- changing experience, and then begins to use his new suit to fight evil.

Directed by Jon Favreau, Iron Man was released on May 2, 2008, and won two awards at the Golden Trailer (Summer 2008 blockbuster), MTV Awards (Best summer movie) and was nominated for 3 other wards.  The film stars Robert Downey Jr., Terrance Howard, Jeff Bridges, and Gwyneth Paltrow.

view wiki

Details

Director: Jon Favreau
Genre: Action, Adventure, Fantasy, Sci-Fi
Release Date: May 2, 2008
MPAA Rating: PG-13
Runtime: 2hrs 6min
Polls with this movie
30 Days of Night (2007 movie)

Best Comic Book/Manga To Film Adaptations

by

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Movie Hype is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists