Movie Hype
New Releases, Oscar-Winners and Obscure Movies!
My Bloody Valentine

1981 film directed by George Milhalka

< read all 3 reviews

Falling In Love All Over Again

  • May 19, 2009
  • by
Rating:
+4
I must be going through some kind of lovesick phase lately but it's a really good feeling when you think about it. It's kind of like re-living an old forgotten love affair only even better. Much better. Well, let's hope for the best here....I've been following the blogs online for the re-release of MY BLOODY VALENTINE on DVD for awhile now & it would seem that hardcore fans like myself are finally getting what we really wanted all along. Hey, what's the world coming to if you can't get what you want in the line of great entertainment? Thankfully, someone out there listened to our concerns regarding releasing the uncut version of MY BLOODY VALENTINE & including all the original gore scenes which we weren't able to view on the Paramount release. That's a solid 9 minutes of footage which had been left on the cutting board back in the early '80's. Not a bad way to start the new year, right? Right!

Initially, Lions Gate had mentioned they would give us the gore scenes on the special edition DVD but only as special features. Well, that would have been ok by me although I was pissed they wouldn't be integrated back into the original film. Thankfully, it's been confirmed by several reliable sources that all the lost footage is being re-edited back into the film we loved so much. Aside from the botched-up job Lions Gate did with Nick Palumbo's Gate did with Nick Palumbo's MURDER-SET-PIECES, I have always had the utmost respect for the studio & the mere fact they aren't afraid to take chances with the more extreme cinema. Given the transformational nature of our society, the unedited versions have proven to be more welcomed on DVD than in the local multiplexe so perhaps the special edition of My Bloody Valentine would be more than welcomed by hardcore fans like myself.
 
MY BLOODY VALENTINE has been a favorite film of mine since my family first bought the VHS player & it still holds up well even by today's standards so naturally you can tell how thrilled I am to finally be granted the option of viewing the unedited version. (No, I never had the Beta format.) MBV was a bizarre little Canadian film but I must've easily seen it a bazillion times & still would enjoy seeing it again to this day with friends on Valentine's day. When it comes down to truly terrifying horror slashers, very few in the late '70's or early '80's could even hope to rival My Bloody Valentine.  Friday The 13th wasn't nearly as creative nor creepy. 
Falling In Love All Over Again Falling In Love All Over Again

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
6
Thought-Provoking
4
Fun to Read
4
Well-Organized
3
Post a Comment
May 21, 2009
I actually have the remake at home as a rental. Great review, bro. Watch Horror keep America Strong! (as a friend of mine would say)
May 21, 2009
Thnx! I definitely try to be patriotic & keep my country strong by viewing as many brutal horror flicks as possible. LOL Glad you liked the review. Let me know if the re-make is a worthy film. Cheers!
May 21, 2009
let's see the remake has full frontal nudity and some good kill scenes...that's about it.
May 21, 2009
Ok, I think I will stick with the original. The Special Edition of the original is actually quite good. It's far more brutal than the original film I had loved as a kid. Thanks for sharing that info!
 
May 20, 2009
I was wondering about this because my boyfriend is SUPER into horror. Actually, so is @jessbo, my best friend, come to think of it. Thanks for this review- I might actually have to add it to my Netflix!
May 20, 2009
I know how that can be. Horror fanatics are always seeking the next big thrill & I'm no exception to that rule. I hope you guys enjoy it & let me know what you think. Thnks for the comment! Much love!
 
1
More My Bloody Valentine reviews
review by . December 24, 2011
posted in Movie Hype
*1/2 out of ****    If my idea of fun consisted of corny dialogue, choppy plotting, and mediocre editing; then "My Bloody Valentine" would be a personal favorite in the field of simple-minded, guilty entertainment. Too bad my idea of fun almost never includes any of those three things; I can let all logic go and have a good time with certain films if there is enough craft, but like most 80's slasher flicks that use their axes and machetes rather than their brains; the intent …
review by . April 23, 2009
My Bloody Valentine takes place in a small coal mining town.  But this towm has a nasty little secret that happened on Valentine's Day.  A deranged sweethearts' killer ruined this minor holiday for a generation.  Years later, the youngster decide to hold a celebration but the local authorities put a kibosh on the party.  Hey, let's go party down in the mine and see if an old boogeyman comes back to stalk us!    An eighties slasher …
About the reviewer
Brian ()
Ranked #13
I've spent years trying to make others happy & not really focusing on what's most important in my own life. Having said that, my own health & security are paramount so now I'm more … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
cenobite7
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this movie

Wiki

My Bloody Valentine is a 1981 Canadian slasher film released in the wake of the popularity of the slasher genre that had overtaken the 1970s. Considered an example of the low-budget cult films reminiscent of popular slasher films such as Halloween (1978) and Friday the 13th (1980), the movie was filmed on location in Sydney Mines, Nova Scotia Canada.

The movie is infamous for having had 9 minutes cut by the MPAA due to the amount of violence and gore. Though co-producer Dunning confirmed that the excised footage still existed, attempts to release it proved difficult as Paramount Pictures refused to offer an uncut version. Lionsgate subsequently secured DVD rights to the film (as well as several other Paramount features) and released the uncut version on January 13, 2009.

view wiki
First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Movie Hype is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists