Movie Hype
New Releases, Oscar-Winners and Obscure Movies!
Star Wars

A movie directed by George Lucas

< read all 3 reviews

Star Wars IS Sci Fi

  • Feb 25, 2011
Rating:
+2

but it ain't Science Fiction.

Yes, I was at a premiere of this movie.  Yes, I watched it multiple times in a row following my first viewing.  Yes, I had the album of the music, and a poster (still have the official program book in the collection).

But now I've grown up and realize that: Lucas did not base his story on Joseph Campbell's theories, the movie is not science fiction (science fantasy at best) and that all it has really done for us is usher in an era in which CGI dominates, to our detriment, and in which movie makers have lost the art of not showing us everything.

And audiences have lost the ability to make pretty pictures inside their own heads.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
1
Thought-Provoking
1
Fun to Read
1
Well-Organized
1
Post a Comment
February 25, 2011
By the way I thought SF Signal was only posting sci fi books. Are they doing movies too?
 
February 25, 2011
Actually I posted that as a question on Lunch.com about six months or so ago. Most argued it was Fantasy more than Sci-Fi. I still say that with the war machines, Darth Vader's suit and the Death Star operations, that there is plenty of Sci-Fi in there. Reminds me of the hard SF I used to read with EE Doc Smith and the Skylark series. Yeah, I was at the Star Wars premiere too. Lines around the block and an unheard-of $5.00 a ticket! OMG!
February 26, 2011
I guess they are doing movies; it's for one of the badges, lol. I don't define science fiction by the iconography present, but probably by "feel" (mmmm - 60%) and by versimilitude. The premiere I went to was for reviewers in NYC
February 26, 2011
That's great. If you post some Star Wars novel reviews at the Forbidden Planet community you get some Jedi Knight brownie points!

Oh, and thanks for joining my comic books community. I have been collecting the darn things for years so I figured I might as well write about them as well.

The new comic book movies coming out this year should make for some heated reviews there.
 
1
More Star Wars reviews
Quick Tip by . January 31, 2013
Hi, for those interest in Star Wars and exploring the political and historical influences on the films, I have a new website, the , where I explore those issues. You can check out the  as well.
review by . May 23, 2005
Pros: Lack of Yoda doesn't mean it's in any way bad     Cons: Lack of Yoda     The Bottom Line: Was I the only one who noticed this was called Episode IV before Episode I came out?     It was a pleasure and an honor for me to be asked to interview the Ultimate Jedi Master, Yoda, recently. Unfortunately, since I was slated to write a review of the original Star Wars movie, I couldn’t ask the questions I wanted to relating to Episode …
About the reviewer
Steve Davidson ()
   www.rimworlds.com/thecrotchetyoldfan
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Crotchetyoldfan
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this movie

Wiki

STAR WARS, George Lucas's stunning sci-fi masterpiece, is arguably one of the most inventive and entertaining films ever made, garnering generations of loyal fans who are forever imprinted with the memory of its characters and dialogue. As the adventure begins, Luke Skywalker (Mark Hamill), an impulsive but goodhearted young man who lives on the dusty planet of Tatooine with his aunt and uncle, longs for the exciting life of a Rebel soldier. The Rebels, led by the headstrong Princess Leia (Carrie Fisher), are fighting against the evil Empire, which has set about destroying planets inhabited by innocent citizens with the Death Star, a fearsome planetlike craft commanded by Grand Moff Tarkin (Peter Cushing) and the eternally frightful Darth Vader (David Prowse, with the voice of James Earl Jones). When Luke's aunt and uncle are murdered by the Empire's imperial stormtroopers and he mysteriously finds a distress message from Princess Leia in one of his androids, R2-D2 (Kenny Baker), he must set out to find ...
view wiki

Details

Director: George Lucas
Release Date: 1977
MPAA Rating: PG
DVD Release Date: 20th Century Fox Home Entertainment (September 12, 2006)
Runtime: 2hr 1min
First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Movie Hype is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists