Movie Hype
New Releases, Oscar-Winners and Obscure Movies!

Who's Really the Best at Donkey Kong?

  • Apr 16, 2010
Rating:
+5
This entertaining documentary goes into the wacky world of diehard arcade gamers. The main focus of this movie is that even 25 years after the height of the Donkey Kong game, there is still two men on a quest to hold the World Record. One is Billy Mitchell, who owns many world records. He'll be the first to tell you that he is the greatest guy in the world. The other competitor is Steve Wiebe who out of boredom and the feeling of failure in his life wants to hold the world record at Donkey Kong.  Let the battle commence.

The King of Kong is a fun flashback for anyone who spent hours at arcades in the 80s as I did. It goes into the lives of those whose worlds still revolve around little moving colored pixels on a screen and you trying to get to the next level.  If you have ever played Donkey Kong or if you like documentaries or if you like competition of any kind {I think that about covers everyone} you have to see this movie. 

The King of Kong shows a lot about a world most never get to see. This movie is even more suspenseful with the viewer not knowing who will own the record until the end.  To me, this movie has everything I look for in a movie: unique characters, suspense, thrills and big time comedy.  Throughout the movie you'll be asking yourself, "Is this for real?"  Yes.  It is for real.

Two men obsessed with being the world's best at a game is entertaining to me and I would recommend this to everyone.  Unfortunately, after viewing you may want to go out and try to find a Donkey Kong machine and see how far you get.  I know with me it was never too far.  This movie brought me back to my childhood in the 80s and it felt good.  Seriously, I bought the DVD I liked it so much.

"If anybody wants to see, there's a Donkey Kong kill screen coming up."


Who's Really the Best at Donkey Kong? Who's Really the Best at Donkey Kong? Who's Really the Best at Donkey Kong? Who's Really the Best at Donkey Kong?

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
27
Thought-Provoking
27
Fun to Read
27
Well-Organized
27
Post a Comment
August 07, 2011
I enjoy a game with suspense.
 
August 11, 2010
I love this movie! Billy Mitchell is a world class douche.
August 16, 2010
Indeed he is. I'm glad you love the movie. I recommend everyone to see it. Thanks.
 
May 06, 2010
This sounds great. I'm a huge fan of the older games and Donkey Kong is one of my favorites. I hadn't even realized that these old arcade games were still available in some places.
May 10, 2010
I think you'll really like the movie. I recommend it to everyone.
 
April 21, 2010
zomg, I had no idea that there were still diehard arcade gamers (especially since DDR because available in households), so now I have to watch this.  Oh, and I love witnessing things that constantly make me ask myself "Is this for realz?" :D  Thanks for the heads up on this!

btw, have you seen Grandma's Boy before?  It's a fictional Adam Sandler movie, but with all the gamers I know and the game companies that I've hung out, it almost seems real.  I think you'd like it!
April 23, 2010
I have seen "Grandma's Boy". For realz. Those gamers were also a little interesting. "The King of Kong" is the real deal. You do have to see this movie. I'm anxious to hear what you think of it.
 
April 18, 2010
ah! very nice review! I need to see this...I think I may have missed this one before. Thank you for the review!
April 20, 2010
Thanks. I think you'll really enjoy it.
 
April 16, 2010
WOW! I have to see this documentary. This is right up my alley! Thanks for posting this review!
April 16, 2010
This movie was a lucky find for me. I hope you enjoy it. You're welcome.
 
1
More The King of Kong: A Fistful of... reviews
review by . May 06, 2011
posted in Movie Hype
   12A - 79mins - Documentary/Sport - 6th June 2008 This appealed to me on two levels. First off I was drawn in by the old school arcade games but secondly and more importantly this movie has a great story to tell that does go so much deeper than video games. This film is about 2 men as they fight for the right for the top score on Donkey Kong. Just thought I'd mention this now but you DO NOT have to be a fan of or even care about video games to enjoy this movie. Billy Mitchell …
Quick Tip by . June 23, 2011
posted in Movie Hype
I got more insight into the world of arcade game high scores than I ever cared to gain. And I thoroughly enjoyed it! Who knew that people could become so obsessed? I loved seeing the passion, perseverance and geekiness though.      On a side note, what's up with Billy Mitchell's hair and douche'tude?
review by . January 04, 2010
   I've decided that I am a total fan of a well-done documentary or mockumentary. Best case scenario for a documentary -- I take away  life enriching information in exchange for a few hours of my time. Worst case scenario -- I'm given great ice breakers or party conversation. Mockumentaries are pretty much pure sarcastic junk food -- tastes so good, won't do much for fuel or brain cell building but delicious anyway.       Best, best case scenario is the documentary …
Quick Tip by . June 29, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
Hilarious and inspiring!
About the reviewer
Clay Miller ()
Ranked #123
Graphic designer/illustrator and owner of Miller Creative Designs, LLC who on Lunch.com likes to shareinsight on Greenand health insight, ideas and other tidbits.Creator/writer of Ways2GoGreen .com& … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Clay_Miller
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this movie

Wiki

The King of Kong: A Fistful of Quarters is an American documentary film that follows Steve Wiebe as he tries to take the world high score for the arcade game Donkey Kong from reigning champion Billy Mitchell. The film premiered January 22, 2007, at the 2007 Slamdance Film Festival and has been shown at the Newport Beach Film Festival, the Seattle International Film Festival, the SXSW Film Festival, the TriBeCa Film Festival, the True/False Film Festival, the Aspen Comedy Festival, and the Fantasia Festival. The film opened in limited release in the United States on August 17, 2007, in 5 theaters, and by September 9, 2007, the film had expanded to 39 theaters in the U.S. Later in 2007, it appeared on the cable network G4.

The film's original title was simply The King of Kong but later received the subtitle A Fistful of Quarters.

A scripted movie adaptation is already in the works. Director Seth Gordon has said that the movie might be a sequel instead of a remake, telling the story of how the documentary changed both men's lives, as well as their continuing rivalry.

The film's DVD release was on January 29, 2008.
view wiki

Details

Genre: Documentary
Release Date: August 17, 2007
MPAA Rating: PG-13
Runtime: 1hr 22min
First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Movie Hype is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists