Movie Hype
New Releases, Oscar-Winners and Obscure Movies!

"More True Than You Would Believe"

  • Nov 22, 2009
  • by
Rating:
+4
I missed the first 2 or 3 minutes of this movie, as I was waiting in line at the concessions stand stocking up on Popcorn for everyone who went with me to this movie. When I came back, my friend leaned over and whispered into my ear: "At the beginning they had a line that said, 'more true than you would believe.' "

They weren't lying.

The quirky title of "The Men Who Stare at Goats" fits perfectly with the quirky story and even quirkier tall-tales of a psychic-delic hippi movement that took root within the US Army. The man to discover all of this is a guy named Bob, whom the universe orchestrates to meet  Lyn Cassidy -- one of the most talented members of this New Age Army Unit. Of course, when I say "orchestrate" I mean through a series of a seemingly chance misfortunes that brings Bob up to the point of being a reporter in Iraq. Bob, like the audience, isn't sure if his life is being pulled along by providence or just bad luck. Lyn, played by the brilliant Mr. George Clooney, is going to show Bob all of his "Jedi Powers" that he learned with this special Army Unit and, more importantly, he's going to show Bob that he too has a large part to play in the history of this unit.

I found myself laughing throughout this movie. Ewan McGregor playing a would-be or should-be Jedi was nothing short of brilliant casting. But Clooney, despite all of his impressive looks, still manages to have the goofiest expressions I've seen since The 12 Monkeys. The writers do a tremendous job of riding the line between belief and doubt of the paranormal. Sometimes, Lyn pulls off the spectacular. Most times he does not. And one time, when he does pull it off -- by killing an innocent goat -- he sets himself up for a bad case of Karmaitis. So ultimately, The Men Who Stare at Goats is a story about....brace yourself....redemption.

More True Than You Would Believe? Yes. Is this flick better than you would expect? Absolutely. Check it out. Keep your eyes peeled for the unbelievable. But don't stare too hard.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
3
Thought-Provoking
3
Fun to Read
3
Well-Organized
3
Post a Comment
April 22, 2010
It seems to be love it or hate it with this flick. I'm in the love it line. And casting Ewan McGregor as Bob was brilliant. It had to be him.
April 23, 2010
You're right. I referred this one to a few people and I think I may have lost a few points as a "trusted opinion." Oh well. I thought it was really funny.
April 28, 2010
Me too. I guess this flick will be a good one to use as a friendship gauge for those who hate it. =)
 
1
More The Men Who Stare At Goats reviews
review by . June 12, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
Groovy
THE MEN WHO STARE AT GOATS is a film about the New Earth Army, a special forces outfit that was formed in the late 70s to become essentially "Jedi Warriors." They were to use the power of Mother Earth and their own innate psychic powers against the enemy in a new and non-traditional type of warfare and in essence change the world forever.  Now this might sound a little unbelievable to all you fans of Sargent Slaughter out there but that part of it is all true. …
review by . November 08, 2009
posted in Movie Hype
The Men Who Stare At Goats looks like an interesting film in and of itself.  The previews make it seem funny and enjoyable.  Almost like something ripped out of a Coen Brothers film.  And yes, there are some kooky and strange moments--and there's quite a bit of humor.  But when all is said and done, you'll walk out of the theater trying to contemplate what the movie was trying to say... if it was really trying to say anything all.  Is it intersting?  Sure.  Is …
Quick Tip by . July 25, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
Smart, funny movie that carefully blends the comedy throughout. It is hard to believe that some of the most funny scenes are based on real events.
Quick Tip by . April 29, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
Tries far too hard to be clever & quirky & just comes off as inane and weird. The acting is good, but the script & direction are weak.
About the reviewer
Jordan ()
Information glutton. Neo•Luddite.
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
sniffcode
Your ratings:
Up
Up
rate more to improve this
About this movie

Wiki

The Men Who Stare at Goats is a 2009 comedy film by director Grant Heslov released in theaters on November 6, 2009. It is based on the book of the same title by author Jon Ronson, an account of Ronson's investigation of attempts by US military forces to use psychic powers
view wiki

Details

Director: Grant Heslov
Genre: Comedy
Release Date: November 6, 2009
MPAA Rating: R
Screen Writer: Peter Straughan
DVD Release Date: March 23, 2010
Runtime: 94 minutes
Studio: BBC Films
First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Movie Hype is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists