Movie Hype
New Releases, Oscar-Winners and Obscure Movies!

In My Top Ten Favorite Films of All Time, "Transformers" Rolls Out onto Blu-ray

  • Jun 17, 2009
  • by
Rating:
+5
Say what you will about Michael Bays Transformers, this is one of my favorite movies of all time.  Though not everyone is a fan of this film, it was one of the biggest hits during the summer of 2007, if not the biggest.  Transformers is an action packed, story driven thrill ride, something that Michael Bay knows how to pull off all to well.  All of the wonder and awe of the film has been transferred onto beautiful Blu-ray High Def and this makes it just as much fun at home as it is at the movies.  From the minute that Optimus Primes voice is heard on the screen, you're hooked.

When Sam (Shia LeBouf) goes with his father to buy his first car, he quickly realizes that there is more to his newly purchased Camero than meets the eye. 

When Sam and Mikaela (Megan Fox) find out that the car that he is driving in is in fact an alien robot that can transform, the car signals for the rest of the Autobots to come to Earth.  Among them is Optimus Prime, leader of the Autobots who tells Sam that he is the key to finding the allspark, the main power source for all Autobots and Decepticons.  Now with the knowledge that his great grandfather Captain Witwicky discovered Megatron, leader of the Decepticons, Sam, Mikaela and the Autobots must race to find the allspark and rescue Bumblebee, before the Decipticons mobilize and awaken Megatron.

Part of what made Transformers such an amazing movie was that it was action packed yet very story driven.  Say whatever you want about Shia LeBouf or Megan Fox, I feel that they helped tell this story very well and that the character of Sam was great as being part of the back story and comic relief all at the same time.  Michael Bay was very smart in not just making this film one giant explosion; he gave the Autobots and Decepticons this great story as to their reasons for coming to Earth.

All the meanwhile the plot tells a very real world story; two separate sides that couldn't live in peace and ended up destroying themselves.  Sounds a lot like what's going on in the world today doesn't it?  Then you have the character of Sam who has this direct connection to the Autobots, it's a fine story.  You can give the great writing credit to Roberto Orci  and Alex Kurtzman, the writes who brought you the new Star Trek film.  Take away the story and you still have an amazing action film with lots of explosions and great GREAT special effects.  Industrial Light and Magic did an explosive job with Transformers, I mean they really outdid themselves which leads in to my next point.

If Michael Bay hadn't signed on ILM to work on Transformers, there wouldn't have been a film.  No one can master special effects the way that ILM can.  Look at the new Star Trek film and look at Iron Man.  Who cares about Star Wars (I do really, but examples...), Transformers is their best piece if digital graphics yet.  If I was an advertiser for ILM, I would just show producers and directors Transformers.  Just look at the details they put in for Optimus Prime.  I have never seen so much digital detail work in a movie in my life.
What you didn't know is that a lot of Transformers isn't digital.  Obviously all of the Autobots are, but most of the explosions and military vehicles are in fact real.  Michael Bay has a very close relationship with the US Military and they will give him pretty much whatever he wants. So all of those helicopters in the  movie...real, all of the cool planes in the movie...real!  That's also what made this film so much fun,  it wasn't all digital which I love about Michael Bay.

Transformers on Blu-ray is a lot of fun!  This is one of those movies that I owned on DVD first and the difference amazed me!  The picture is crystal clear and the sound is way to realistic.  When I say that, I mean that I think it was better than movie theater quality sound.  When I watched it, I actually freaked out a little bit when I heard bullets coming at me from left to right with my surround sound.  I would go '"Whoah"' or "Wow!" when a plane flew by.  The special features that are included in the Blu-ray are a lot of fun as well as you get to learn a lot about Michael Bay and the way he likes to make movies.  The picture in picture trivia and interviews are an extremely fun way to watch the film as well.

The reason that I love Transformers so much is because it's FUN!  This is the carbon for summer blockbusters, but it's also something that brings back memories from your childhood.  I didn't talk about the cartoon in the review at all because the movie really is its own animal and despite some fun references in the movie, really should be.  If you are a Transformers fan and a Blu-ray player owner, this is a MUST own.  I can't wait till next week, Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen comes out next week on June 24th!  BIG 5/5!
Transformers Blu-ray Cover art Bumblebee

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
6
Thought-Provoking
1
Fun to Read
2
Well-Organized
1
Post a Comment
June 18, 2009
I'm sold -- I'm on my way to pick up the Transformers Blu-ray disk now. I especially appreciate the focus on "sound" in your review. Essentially, if a movie's soundtrack can't make my pants shake, then it's probably not my kind of movie.
June 18, 2009
I'm with you. As much as I appreciate film visually, I love the sound of a film equally as much.  Let me know what you think when you watch it :)
 
June 17, 2009
I was kinda harsh on the movie on the basis of not giving us enough Transformers. I thought the action scenes when they happen were nice but it takes too long getting to them and theres only so much of Megan Fox to ogle in the meantime since she shares so much time with that Shia kid. They DO now that I think of it have better chemistry then Hayden and Natalie from Star Wars. Nice points that you brought up.
 
1
More Transformers reviews
review by . September 27, 2009
posted in Movie Hype
Now, if you know me here on Lunch then there's one thing you probably learned about me early on... I love to hate Michael Bay.  Yet I couldn't stay away from Transformers the first time.  I began hearing from some of my friends that it was actually good.  They're not big on Michael Bay either.  In short, part of the reason I saw it was because I wanted to tell my friends that Michael Bay probably just made a movie with no plot and just put together a bunch …
Quick Tip by . July 24, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
Takes WAY TOO LONG to give us what we want and teases us in the mean time but the finale makes up for the monotony, lame comedic characters and other annoyances.
Quick Tip by . July 18, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
I loved this movie and took the kids to see it when it came out would love to rent it now!
Quick Tip by . July 14, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
Can't wait for Transformers VIII or whatever number they're on. Michael Bay should be tried for crimes against humanity.
Quick Tip by . July 12, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
You have to watch this on HD Blu-Ray i pay more attention to the graphic
review by . December 09, 2009
posted in Movie Hype
   This is a fast-paced slick movie starting with the reason why the Transformers came to Earth (there are two bands in search of a cube) and a spectacularly filmed attack on an American military base in Qatar. At first the viewer thinks that these are some evil machines out of a Stephen King movie and then you realize (like in Terminator 2) that there are good ones and bad ones.       The special effects are amazing and the story and characters are pretty good too. …
review by . June 13, 2009
posted in Movie Hype
This movie wasn't called
I saw this in the theater and later when I got it on DVD my dad and I watched it, and he had the same reaction I did at the same scene.  The goofy "hiding" scene around the house where 50 foot tall robots are trying not to be seen by humans and geeky little Sam is trying to find an all important pair of glasses to save the day.  Maybe it wasn't that exact scene, maybe when it was when Sam's parents barge into his room and his mom tries bringing up masturbation.  …
Quick Tip by . November 23, 2009
Great robot-on-robot action, especially for Michael Bay!
Quick Tip by . November 17, 2009
Long and irritating big screen movie of alien robots that turn into cars and planes and wage war. One great scene just makes it worthwhile.
Quick Tip by . August 25, 2009
posted in Movie Hype
So, somewhere along the line it was decided that making films based on toy lines was a good idea, but it wasn't! Military vs. robots. Yuck!
About the reviewer
Julian Brown ()
Hi, my name is Julian Brown. I currently write for The Brotherly Game, a local Philadelphia soccer website where I cover the US Women's National Team and the local WPS Philadelphia Independence. I … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Husher315
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this movie

Wiki



A long time ago, far away on the planet of Cybertron, a war was being waged between the noble Autobots (led by the wise Optimus Prime) and the devious Decepticons (commanded by the dreaded Megatron) for control over the Allspark, a mystical talisman that would grant unlimited power to whoever possessed it. The Autobots managed to smuggle the Allspark off the planet, but Megatron blasted off in search of it. He eventually tracked it to the planet of Earth (circa 1850), but his reckless desire for power sent him right into the Arctic Ocean, and the sheer cold forced him into a paralyzed state. His body was later found by Captain Archibald Witwicky, and before going into a comatose state Megatron used the last of his energy to engrave a map, showing the location of the Allspark, into the Captain's glasses, and send a transmission to Cybertron. He is then carted away by the Captain's ship. A century later, Sam Witwicky, nicknamed Spike by his friends, buys his first car. To his shock, he discovers it to be Bumblebee, an Autobot in disguise who is to protect Spike, as he bears the Captain's glasses and the map carved on them. But Bumblebee is not the only Transformer to have arrived on Earth - in the desert of Qatar, the Decepticons Blackout and Scorponok attack a U.S. military base, causing the Pentagon to send their special Sector Seven agents to capture all "specimens of this alien race," and Spike and his girlfriend Mikaela find themselves in the middle...
view wiki

Details

Cast: Colin Fickes, Michael O'Neill, Anthony Anderson, Robert Foxworth, Glenn Morshower, Jon Voight, Bob Stephenson, Rachael Taylor, Bernie Mac, J.P. Manoux, John Robinson, John Turturro, Rick Gomez, Hugo Weaving, Darius McCrary, Tyrese Gibson, Amaury Nolasco, Chris Ellis, Jess Harnell, Steven Ford, Craig Barnett, Kevin Dunn, Shia LaBeouf, Andy Milder, Travis Van Winkle, Samantha Smith, Zack Ward, Odette Yustman, Johnny Sanchez, Tom Lenk, Michael Shamus Wiles, Charlie Adler, Peter Cullen, Colleen Porch, Mike Fisher, Wiley M. Pickett, Julie White, Jason White, Peter Jacobson, Sean Smith, Brian Stepanek, Esther Scott, Carlos Moreno, Jr., Reno Wilson, Mark Ryan, W. Morgan Sheppard, Rizwan Manji, Josh Duhamel, Ronnie Sperling, Jamison Yang, Megan Fox, Luis Echagarruga, Patrick Mulderrig, Brian Shehan, Michael Trisler, Ashkan Kashanchi, Jimmie Wood, C.J. Thomason, Lt. Frederic Doss, Charlie Bodin, Josh Feinman, Brian Prescott, Scott Peat, Jamie McBride, Brian Reece, Ravi Patel, Andy Dominguez, Madison Mason, Jeremy Jojola, Jessica Kartalija, Andrew Altonji, Andrew Caldwell, Pete Gardner, Sophie Bobal, Laurel Garner, Chip Hormess, Ray Toth, Dan Ferris, Michael Adams, Ron Henry, Benjamin Hoffman, Michael McNabb, Adam Ratajczak, Maya Klayn, Michelle Pierce, Jim Wood
Director: Michael Bay
Genre: Action, Adventure
Release Date: July 3, 2007
MPAA Rating: PG-13
Screen Writer: Roberto Orci, Alex Kurtzman
DVD Release Date: October 16th 2007/September 2nd 2008 (Blu-ray)
Runtime: 2hrs 20min
Studio: Dreamworks PIctures, Paramount Pictures
First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Movie Hype is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists