Movie Hype
New Releases, Oscar-Winners and Obscure Movies!
Transformers Revenge of the Fallen Poster

2009 Sequel to the hit film Transformers

< read all 16 reviews

How LOW Has The Mighty "FALLEN"

  • Jun 27, 2009
Rating:
+2

The first “Transformers” film may not be faithful to the original animated series and not even to the comic book by Marvel comics in the 80's. Seeing as how Hasbro only utilized those mediums to promote its toy line, I can forgive its inconsistencies to the beloved animated series. The original film by Michael Bay was fun, it utilized a simple formula with little room for a real intricate plot; it was just a popcorn film. After the huge box-office success of Bay’s rendition of the “Transformers”, of course there would be a sequel and “Transformers Revenge of the Fallen” fulfills that promise. Bay's main goal would have to be to make the sequel bigger while going deeper into the mythos of our transforming robots. In this sequel, for one thing, Michael Bay proves once again is the fact that he is a good director of action sequences but the skill of great storytelling still ELUDES him. “Transformers Revenge of the Fallen” may be louder and bigger--but it is definitely NOT better.

Sam (Shia LeBeouf) is off to college. Life couldn’t be better for the young man, he has a hot girlfriend named Michaela (devastatingly sexy Megan Fox) and his parents are very supportive. The Autobots led by Optimus Prime (voiced by Peter Cullen) had joined forces with the U.S. military to hunt down the remaining Decepticons still on Earth. On the day that he is supposed to leave for college, Sam discovers a shard of the ‘Allspark’ from an old sweater, the supposed source of life in Cybertron and his brain ends up being encoded with strange symbols. Prime and his companions come to the aid of the young man, and an encounter with the Decepticons end with a revived Megatron (voiced by Hugo Weaving) sidelining the heroic Optimus Prime. Now it is up to Sam and Michaela to uncover the secret of the Transformers whose history spans hundreds of years on Earth. Aided by his roommate, Leo (miscast Ramon Rodriguez), former sector 7 agent, Simmons (John Turturro) and some old military friends (Tyrese Gibson and Josh Duhamel), Sam must thwart the Fallen’s machinations to bring about disaster by stealing the powers of the sun to make Energon through the powers of the “leadership matrix” key.

Megan Fox is sexy!

I did not love the first film, but I thought it was fun and somewhat entertaining. It was a popcorn film that relied on slick hyper-editing tricks, CGI mayhem and visual disarray. “Tranformers” wasn’t anything special but it was a crowd-pleaser, it appealed to mainstream audiences. Somewhere along the way, Michael Bay messed up an easy formula with “Revenge of the Fallen”. This sequel is a display of pure undisciplined execution. One would ask; “How can Bay mess up a simple formula?” Well, it seemed like the director is trying too hard to outshine the original film by exercising the utmost minimum in restraint that relies mostly on rehearsed special effects and overbearing humor. I’m not sure whether he was trying to be funny or to be offensive.

The problems with “Revenge” come mostly from its script. I am not expecting a masterpiece or something that resembles an original plot, but the plot in this film was totally uninspired. It’s not that it didn’t have some aces in the screenplay but somewhere along the way, Bay and company decided to opt for a comedic experience. The history of the robots is somewhat fleshed out, with the “Fallen” concept being brought into play. Unfortunately, any relevance to the film’s main plot is downplayed by overdone annoying stereotypes in its characters; I am not just talking about the human characters, I am talking about the newer supporting cast of robots. (I will further elaborate in a minute) The Matrix key and the whole thing about the shards may hold some viability in the transformers mythos but sadly, the script falters, the film should be about the robots with the humans as the supporting element not the other way around. I would buy into the human-robot relationship and its significance but the film fails to fully realize this potential; it tosses in the idea but never develops it with emotion. I guess Bay thought that while the audience love to see robots fighting, they also like to laugh, so Bay and his writers puts a lot of emphasis on comedy; not just comic relief but actual comedy.

Desert battle

The film brings a lot of comedy into the screenplay that it makes no emotional or narrative impact. The life and death stakes of saving the planet feels more like a backdrop than an actual inherent part of the screenplay. Any aces from its limited concept are diverted to useless detours from its narrative. The new robots feel like they’re mere caricatures of certain stereotypes and the designs aren’t impressive either. Most of the newer supporting robots act like they’re rejects from some gangster comedy show. The twin ‘jive-talking’ robots, Mudflap and Skids act like they’re degenerates and play a usual ethnic stereotype. I found their designs and behavior rather unnecessary and quite frankly they may raise some racial flags. There is also a small Decepticon spy that behaves like a dog that it began to hump Megan Fox’s leg. The film’s script falls to many inadequacies and useless devices to try to entertain--to try badly. Using laughs as the central focus of the film diminishes the film’s concept. I was NOT laughing at all.

Megan Fox on a Bike

The question remains, does “Transformers Revenge of the Fallen” deliver on the “Heavy Metal” combat scenes? Yes, it does. The fight between Optimus Prime and Megatron with two other Decepticons was real fun to watch. It was a testament to Optimus’ heroic qualities. There are plenty of robotic battles and while some of them are good, some are pretty mediocre. The final encounter between a "maxed-out" Prime and the "Fallen" was pretty nifty but it does put another monkey-wrench in the screenplay; Prime can defeat Megatron's master but cannot defeat Megatron himself? It does try to evolve the areas of robotic combat and violence, but most of the new faces such as Sidewinder are ignored. The idea of a human-like Decepticon is sadly also abandoned and not fully fleshed out. We see classic Autobots, Iron Hide, BumbleBee and Decepticons, Soundwave and Rampage. An Insecticon and the Constructicons also make an appearance but their “Devastator” looks like a washing machine on steroids. Megatron’s master, the Fallen one does look menacing but looks too reminiscent of the Japanese mecha designs. There is also an old Decepticon defector that uses a cane? The battles are good, but most of them feel too routine and a practice in rehearsal--lots of explosions and CGI mayhem does not make the qualities of an epic battle. Peter Cullen does a great voice-acting as Optimus and Hugo Weaving sounds menacing as the sinister Megatron.

Optimus Prime

The film also features returning characters into the mix. Familiar faces John Turturro, Tyrese Gibson and Josh Duhamel reprises their roles from the original film. Turturro is somewhat entertaining but I really thought that Ramon Rodriguez was definitely a miscast as Leo. Shia LeBeouf is his usual over-acting self, that all he did to express emotion is to widen his eyes with his mouth open. Megan Fox is indeed a Fox! The actress is so seductive as the sexy Mikaela that even a sexy Decepticon (played by Isabel Lucas) almost couldn’t compete. Sam’s parents played by Kevin Dunn and Julie White weren’t funny and the pot joke is the type that has been overused by other films.

Maybe I’m being too harsh to the film, but I think I should try to tell the truth. While the film does have some decent gags, the comedy just overstays its welcome. This is a film that assumes that comedy is gold and a scene with two dogs humping the other is a viable plot device. Michael Bay further cements the impression that he DOES NOT care for the franchise at all, and that any success the original film may have enjoyed was a fluke. I am rather at a loss as to what target audience this film is geared to, that I cannot give it a recommended rating. I suppose to be optimistic, those who just want a mindless summer film, “Transformers Revenge of the Fallen” may prove to be a minor diversion--but at 150 minutes the film proves too long. Bay isn’t going to elevate this once-beloved franchise to new heights, and sadly, there are already hints at another sequel.

It is a “FALLEN” sequel.

RENT IT [ 2 Out of 5 Stars]

Poster Wheelie Decepticon Poster Optimus Prime Desert battle Megan Fox is sexy! Megan Fox on a Bike

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
40
Thought-Provoking
23
Fun to Read
26
Well-Organized
31
Post a Comment
October 21, 2010
Yeah I wasn't into this one that much, I think I need to rewatch both of them.
October 21, 2010
I had fun with the first movie. I need to re-watch it to review it sometime.
 
June 28, 2010
My dad loved the first film I was a little less enthusiastic towards it but it was good none the less. But this one this one was just a complete and utter train wreck with plot holes the size of Cybertron itself. I hated this movie.
June 29, 2010
the first one wasn't bad, and I thought it was kinda entertaining. But this one had such an unimaginative, messy plot but I have to admit the robot fights may be a little better.
 
July 09, 2009
Nice and complete. The dad was alright. I hate the mom. I'm not too keen on Megan Fox anymore.
 
June 27, 2009
I didn't think much of the original and I'm not even going to bother with this one. Nice review, but I'm surprised that you were so generous to give this crap a 2. :)
June 27, 2009
I thought the original was rather weak in a lot of spots but I did have fun with it. I gave this a 2 because of Megan Fox, Isabel Lucas and one fight scene.
June 27, 2009
Still, that's being pretty generous.
June 27, 2009
I don't think I may ever give a negative -5 rating, lowest I've given is a 1 for "haunting of Molly Hartley". I wouldn't even writing a review if it's a 0 star rating LOL!
July 01, 2009
Yeah, I don't use the negative numbers at all (except for on some talentless celebrities, you know the ones I mean). As far as I'm concerned all works of art have some merit, either artistically or technically, so giving a negative rating just seems both cruel and inaccurate.
July 02, 2009
I agree! I would find it really difficult to find a film worthy of 0 star. I wish Lunch could just make the ratings from 1 to 10 (with 1 being the lowest), then it would fit more stuff!
July 07, 2009
Agreed. I suggested that to them quite a while back before you guys even joined up here, but I never got a response. Not sure why.
July 08, 2009
As a Megan Fox fan, you might like this: en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Witchblade#Film_adaptation

An upcoming 2009 American superhero film based on the series is currently in development.[1][2] The film will be directed by Michael Rymer, who directed the 2002 film Queen of the Damned, and various episodes of Battlestar Galactica, and written by Everett De Roche.[13] [14]

The film is one of two being produced and financed back-to-back by Platinum Studios, IDG Films and Relativity Media. The film will be produced by Arclight's Gary Hamilton and Nigel Odell, Platinum Studios' Scott Mitchell Rosenberg, and Steve Squillante of Havenwood Media. Top Cow's Marc Silvestri and Matt Hawkins will be executive producers with Platinum Studios' Rich Marincic and Greenberg Group's Randy Greenberg. Filming is scheduled to begin in September 2008, with China and Australia among the possible locations being considered for filming.[15][16] Megan Fox was recently approached for the role of Sara Pezzini at the 2008 San Diego Comic-Con, but has neither accepted or declined yet. [17] [18]

The film's website and teaser poster were released in May 2008
 

An upcoming 2009 American superhero film based on the series is currently in development.[1][2] The film will be directed by Michael Rymer, who directed the 2002 film Queen of the Damned, and various episodes of Battlestar Galactica, and written by Everett De Roche.[13] [14]

The film is one of two being produced and financed back-to-back by Platinum Studios, IDG Films and Relativity Media. The film will be produced by Arclight's Gary Hamilton and Nigel Odell, Platinum Studios' Scott Mitchell Rosenberg, and Steve Squillante of Havenwood Media. Top Cow's Marc Silvestri and Matt Hawkins will be executive producers with Platinum Studios' Rich Marincic and Greenberg Group's Randy Greenberg. Filming is scheduled to begin in September 2008, with China and Australia among the possible locations being considered for filming.[15][16] Megan Fox was recently approached for the role of Sara Pezzini at the 2008 San Diego Comic-Con, but has neither accepted or declined yet. [17] [18]

The film's website and teaser poster were released in May 2008
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:Witchblade_film_teaser_poster.jpg

July 09, 2009
Megan does have the look of Sara Pezzini but I doubt that she can full off the acting part. Witchblade is one moody series, loaded with dark undertones. I'd rather see her the "Magdalena" since she is about the same age...
July 13, 2009
Did you follow the link to the sexy as hell poster? It's funny that they designed the poster without first having found an actor to play the lead. Makes you wonder who the babe on the poster is!
July 13, 2009
yeh I did, but it appears to be just cover art--now that I think about it, it looks vaguely familiar. I may seen it in a Wondercon exclusive cover for its comic. I dunno, Megan Fox wouldn't fit Sara Pezzini; she does have the looks, but Pezzini is one tough cop. Fox wouldn't look right...I am an avid reader of "Witchblade" y'know.
July 13, 2009
Cover art, really? It's the official teaser poster and the background image on the film's website... And I thought that "Witchblade" would be up your alley. Had you read my review of the live-action TV show starring Yancy Butler?
July 14, 2009
Yeh, Comic book cons usually have special exclusive covers that cost an arm and a leg. If this wasn't the exact one, then it is definitely based on one of those overpriced Variant covers. I Love "Witchblade", been collecting it since issue # 1, it's the only Top Cow title that is consistent IMO. Nope, I haven't read your review of the TV series but I will look for it. The Japanese anime based on the character is also awesome! It sans Pezzini and has a different lead.
July 15, 2009
Don't go looking for it yet. It wasn only my second review and it's pretty sparing in details and real analysis. It's one of those reviews I did early on and is begging for a re-write. Still, it's the only that kept me afloat on Amazon after the troll voting thing, so I suppose it can't be too bad.
 
June 27, 2009
I had a very similar reaction (though my rating was much harsher). I coudn't tell if the Twins were supposed to be funny or offensive, they just felt very overboard to me. Also, I was not too pleased with the abundance of Deus Ex Machina all over the place. Too many times I felt we were getting "amusing coincidences" and whatnot. If anything, I thought the script was terrible. And I rather liked the first film. But too many of the comedic gags felt forced (like they were just throwing crap at a wall and seeing what stuck) and the stereotypes were eventually more offensive than anything else. That and after a while I was just.... very insulted at the effort put into the film. I didn't care about anything halfway through because after a while Bay made it clear that we had nothing to fear when it came to the lives of the characters. SPOILER ALERT! Were we actually supposed to believe Sam was dead? Let alone Optimus Prime? Were we actually to believe anyone would actually be in any real danger after a while? Before long the movie felt way too long (which I've come to expect from Michael Bay) but more than that I've never sat through a movie where I thought to myself, "How much longer before it's over." In short, I was not amused at all.
June 27, 2009
I'm with you, Sean, the script was just so messy--some elements were a little too convenient and I kept on looking at my watch halfway in the film. I wasn't laughing at all with this film, and after awhile the dialogue felt boring. I really was annoyed with the stereotypes pitched in--I don't mind a little but it was so over the top! I am horrified to think of what the 3rd film would be...I'll be by to check on your review shortly. spoiler: how can Bumble bee not realize that the girl was a robot? aren't they supposed to have energy signatures?
 
June 27, 2009
Uninspired plot? That's unfortunate. I wasn't a fan of the first one but thought it was fun to watch. Looks like "The Proposal" for me then! Three thumbs on all that stuff above.
June 27, 2009
The first one had a hollow plot too but at least it stayed its course. This had too many unnecessary plot devices that it became very annoying. I hated the way it overplayed the humor over its other plot elements. Proposal? geezzz......
I'll be by to read everyone's new reviews tomorrow.
June 27, 2009
Land of the Lost is at the Tanforan, other theaters dropped it. Actually I want to see "moon', promoted as a scifi horror film where the lonely astronaut meets his younger self. I liked the preview so we'll see.
June 30, 2009
Moon? is this animated?
 
June 27, 2009
Damn, and here I was ready to make plans with my friends to go check it out tonight. I doubt I can talk em out of going but from the sounds of it, I should keep my expectations extra low.
June 27, 2009
Dude, my expectations were already too low--any lower I would lose my underpants LOL but I still didn't like it. Who knows, maybe you'll like it, a friend of mine did. Good luck!
 
1
More Transformers: Revenge of the F... reviews
review by . September 11, 2011
posted in Movie Hype
There are times when the true, awe-inspiring stupidity and insipidness of mass media works never really strikes you until the thought hits: THIS. WAS. WRITTEN. By people who presumably have normally functioning human brains. Sometimes by more than one of those said people. For every work of art in which you are keen on finding out who the artist is in order to praise him, there are many others so bad you put them out of your head, forgetting completely that people were behind them making them work. …
review by . July 01, 2009
posted in Movie Hype
If all you want is smashy, crashy fun then it's good.
Transformers!  THE SEQUEL!  Sequels to comic book, superhero movies lately are always a better bunch then the first film having gotten the annoying origin stories and introductions out of the way.  The first Transformers movie in 2007 got by in my book by having a rock em sock em action scene in the finale that helped redeem the movie by it's conclusion.  This newest movie tones down the human characters, gives us more Transformers, more action, more Baysplosions and....a …
review by . July 28, 2009
 I won't even go into reviewing the story for this movie because it is so absolutely ridiculous and it was already superbly covered in the Topless Robot Review (very funny read, but contains spoilers and adult language).      As far a transformers movie, the Revenge of the Fallen makes up for the one shortcoming I felt the first movie had by including way more fighting robots....  Way WAY more fighting robots... SO MANY fighting robots that I actually dozed off …
review by . November 13, 2010
   A thoroughly disappointing sequel to one of 2007's biggest summer movies. While still drawing the big bucks like its predecessor, it fails to really deliver anything new and special. Really, it seems to take a step backwards.      Spielberg, as always, goes above and beyond to ensure a glitzy, action packed, SFX extravaganza for the audience. However, Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen seems so concerned with its action content that it fails to really get anywhere …
review by . June 29, 2009
Since there are already several reviews out there, I'll spare you the synopsis.  This is a review by a Transformers fan and a movie watcher addressing the critics who enjoyed bashing this film so much.      As a film, Transformers is pure popcorn fun.  It's basically a 2.5 hour commercial to sell toys just like how the cartoons were 20 minute commercials to sell toys.  As long as you keep that mindset, everything will be okay.  This isn't freakin …
review by . June 26, 2009
posted in Movie Hype
There are times when movies can blow you away.  The first Transformers movie certainly blew me away.  Despite its problems, it was a fun ride with a well crafted story and even some well crafted dialog and sequence of events.  Transformers Revenge of the Fallen, however, shows us that bigger isn't always better.  In fact, bigger can be a headache.  Especially when it's a Michael Bay sequel. The film brings back Shia Lebouf and Megan Fox as our protagonists.  As it turns …
Quick Tip by . September 07, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
Caption
This is a very disappointing sequel, but the robot fights were better than in the first movie. I think this small cartoon says it all and I'd like to share it via a quick tip:      This is fun as to how it made fun of the movie's many plot holes and mistakes...            This is the Transformers complaining in Bay's office....LOL!        
review by . June 28, 2009
ROTF Poster
I'm pretty sure that when it is all said and done, there's going to be a lot of controversy over Revenge of the Fallen.  Either people are going to really love it or they're going to hate it; that has actually been the case so far.  I LOVED it!  At the risk of sounding like a fanboy, I am going to go ahead and say that Revenge of the Fallen is just a touch better than Transformers...shoot me.  I said in my review for the original that it's in my top ten favorite films of all …
Quick Tip by . February 01, 2010
Like Devastator in the movie, the Best thing Bay's 2nd interpretation of the toy line does is SUCK a lot!
review by . June 26, 2009
Transformers 2
I can't believe I'm about to write this, but the Transformers sequel isn't as bad as the critics say. It really isn't. Especially if you are a person who never really got into the original animation series. Such a person might be dazzled by the sheer spectacle of 3D cars and planes turning into massive robots. A person unburdened by the history of the Transformers brand would probably care less that virtually all of the characters are so radically redesigned, both in …
About the reviewer
William ()
Ranked #1
Please "Like" Film and Movies and Keep the Economy strong....LOL!!      My Interests: Movies, Anime, History, Martial Arts, Comics, Entertainment,Cooking, Things I don't … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
woopak_the_thrill
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this movie

Wiki

Poster
 
Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen is the sequel to the hit film Transformers and was released on June 24th 2009.  It is directed by Michael Bay and stars Shia LeBeouf and Megan Fox.  The script was written by Roberto Orci and Alex Kurtzman.  The budget of the film was $200 Million


Filming of Revenge of the Fallen started in LA and then moved to Bethlehem, PA.  Michael Bay did a lot of the filming in the city of Philadelphia.  Once there, they shot at the Exelon Power Plant, The University of Pennsylvania, Drexel University, Fairmount Park, Eastern State Penitentiary, City Hall and Rittenhouse Square.  After filming in Philadelphia was completed, the moved on to Princeton University. A lot of filming was also done in Giza at the Pyramids with the permission and blessing of the Egyptian government. 



Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen was shot partly in IMAX.  Three of the films main action sequences were filmed in the IMAX format.

 

view wiki

Details

Director: Michael Bay
Genre: Action, Adventure, Fantasy
Release Date: June 24th 2009
MPAA Rating: PG-13
Screen Writer: Roberto Orci, Alex Kurtzman
Runtime: 147 Minutes
Studio: Paramount Pictures, Dreamworks PIctures
First to Review

"Headache Inducing"
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Movie Hype is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists