Movie Hype
New Releases, Oscar-Winners and Obscure Movies!
X-Men Origins Wolverine

The 2009 prequel to the X-Men film series focuses on the Wolverine character.

< read all 24 reviews

Wolverine gives new life to the franchise

  • May 1, 2009
  • by
Rating:
+1
Pros: Jackman and great cameos

Cons: Action is a bit underwhelming for my taste.

The Bottom Line: A solid return to form for the series and a great role for Jackman

The 2009 summer movie season has arrived with the releases of “X-Men Origins: Wolverine”, which once again stars Hugh Jackman in the role of the razor clawed Wolverine.

The film follows the characters origins in the mid 1800’s and how circumstances forced a young Logan to leave his home and spend the years hiding who he was.

With the only link to his past, a fellow mutant named Victor (Liev Schrieber), Logan and Victor ride out the years side by side taking part in wars ranging from The Civil War to Vietnam all the while trying as best as they can to hide their true nature.

When Victor starts to enjoy killing too much, and Logan tries to intercede, the duo find themselves the subject of unwanted attention in the guise of an officer named William Styker (William Houston), who recruits the duo to be part of a special team.
Victor and Logan find themselves part of a team of special powered operatives which includes the marksman Agent Zero (Daniel Henney), the Blade twirling Deadpool (Ryan Reynolds), The Blob (Kevin Durand), Bolt (Dominic Monaghan), and more.  When an operation goes too far, Logan turns his back on the team for a peaceful life as a lumberjack and lives for years in peace with a woman named Kayla (Lynn Collins) very much in love.

Try as Logan may to escape his past, he is unable to when Stryker arrives and tells him that someone is hunting down the former team. Logan ignores the warning and is devastated when Victor is revealed to be behind the killings and strikes a devastating blow to Logan.
With nowhere to go, Logan agrees to Stryker’s plan and undergoes an experiment which infuses his body with the indestructible Adamantium but soon finds himself again on the run when he is betrayed and learns the true nature of Stryker’s plans.
In a race against time, Logan must find the mysterious Island where Stryker has captured several mutants for his experiments and exact his revenge.

The new film was plagued by rumors of issues, which were heightened by reported reshoots and script changes, but thankfully manages to pull together to be an enjoyable summer film. Some may say the film took a bit to get up to the action sequences, but thanks to the great play between Jackman and Schrieber, the film keeps your attention.

There are some solid action sequences in the film and Jackman does not disappoint as we gain insights into the mercurial nature of Wolverine, and how various aspects of his character such as his memory loss came to be.

I would have liked to have seen more action in the film as the main action scenes were a bit to restrained and infrequent for my liking. When I go to a summer movie, I expect to be blown away by the action, and with this one, I had a sense of being underwhelmed by the films action sequences, even the climactic battle.

This is not to say the film is bad, simply that it lacks the needed gear to shift the film into overdrive.  I did enjoy Jackman’s performance and it was great seeing the new characters in the film especially Gambit. Fans with sharp eyes will note many characters pop up in cameos and there are some real surprise visits in the film. In the end, “X-Men Origins: Wolverine” is better than the last X-Men film and should prove enough life in the series for future projects.

3.5 stars out of 5

Recommended:
Yes

Movie Mood: Action Movie
Viewing Method: Press Screening
Film Completeness: Looked complete to me.
Worst Part of this Film: Pacing

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
0
Thought-Provoking
0
Fun to Read
0
Well-Organized
0
Post a Comment
More X-Men Origins: Wolverine reviews
review by . July 17, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
Spin awef-ul
I liked the X Men movies, even the Last Stand which in all honesty made the most effort to present the "mutants rights = modern day civil rights" issues that was supposed to be the X Men's comic book analogy in the real world when it debuted in the 60's.  As the movies were made, more and more emphasis is put on Wolverine who had the strongest back story of the characters in that he has none and is always on a quest to learn more about his past and top that off with an animistic …
review by . May 03, 2009
posted in Movie Hype
teaser poster
Seeking to further capitalize on the popularity of Marvel's favorite mutant group, "X-Men Origins: Wolverine" is a prequel of sorts to the X-men trilogy. I'll get right to the point, if you thought Bret Rattner's "X-Men Last Stand" was a mockery of the franchise, then "Wolverine" provides some redemption. This latest spin-off won't exactly offer anything groundbreaking but it is an improvement over Rattner's version. Director Gavin Hood‘s …
review by . July 13, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
Disappointing.  I wanted to like this movie.  I really did! But by the end of it I not only wanted my money back but I also wanted to strangle Wolverine.  Yes, one of the greatest X-Men comes across as nothing more than a whiny, mopey, emo...kitten.  He spends a large portion of the film either mourning his past or his girlfriend.  Eventually you just want to scream at him "Get over it and kick some butt!"       The only saving grace of …
review by . February 05, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
There used to be two stakes in the heart to any superhero series.  The first is making a third movie with so many villains it's just hard to focus (Spider Man 3, for example) while the other is making a fourth movie.  Yet it seems there could be another stake... making a prequel.  Much of Wolverine's story was pretty much told in X2: X-Men United.  Quite a bit of it actually.  The pivotal scene in the film is just shown rather than told.  If there was anything …
Quick Tip by . July 19, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
There used to be two stakes in the heart to any superhero series. The first is making a third movie with so many villains it's just hard to focus (Spider Man 3, for example) while the other is making a fourth movie. Yet it seems there could be another stake... making a prequel.
Quick Tip by . August 05, 2010
Purely average action film that is more enjoyable the less you know of the other movies and this movie's characters. Lots of action and Hugh Jackman is awesome as always.
review by . August 28, 2009
posted in Movie Hype
I was never a huge X-Men fan, but I enjoyed the first three X-Men movies. Between Patrick Stewart, Ian McKellan, and Hugh Jackman, they had a strong cast that made the movies slightly more than just an adaptation of a comic book.     X-Men Origins: Wolverine has a lot going for it. It has a good soundtrack, strong acting (Hugh Jackman is really raw), and the effects pretty good. Unfortunately, X-Men Origins: Wolverine doesn't rise to the level of its predecessors. For whatever …
Quick Tip by . July 09, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
a good addition to the series. lots of action and some pretty good special effects. you finally get to learn more about wolverines background.
Quick Tip by . July 25, 2010
Three words... "Slow. Motion. Explosion" Decent action/comic flick if you ignore the cheese ball parts.
Quick Tip by . July 21, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
thoroughly disappointed. The hype of Gambit was disappointing. Most of the character stories and plot had nothing to do with the comic.
About the reviewer
Gareth Von Kallenbach ()
Ranked #38
I am a syndicated movie & game critic, writer, author and frequent radio guest. My work has appeared in over 60 publications worldwide and he is the creator of the rising entertainment site "Skewed … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
garethvk
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this movie

Wiki

Wolverine is a 2009 Action, SciFi film by Academy Award-winning director Gavin Hood. This X-Men spin off, stars Hugh Jackman as James Logan, the mutant who eventually becomes Wolverine and struggles to find the secrets to his past. The film tells the origin story of how Logan emerged from a barbaric experiment as an indestructible mutant with retractable razor-sharp claws and awakes the pain and loneliness once forgotten. In this thriller, Wolverine battles his complex relationship with Victor Creed (who later becomes Sabertooth) and seeks revenge for the death of his girlfriend, ultimately going through the mutant Weapon X program.

Hugh Jackman appears alongside the cast of Deadpool (Ryan Reynolds), Gambit (Taylor Kitsch), John Wraith (william), Victor Creed/Sabretooth (Liev Schreiber), and Col. William Stryker (Danny Huston). The screenplay was written by David Benioff and Skip Woods. Wolverine was filmed throughout New Zealand, Australia & Canada.


Official site:
http://www.x-menorigins.com/

view wiki

Details

Director: Gavin Hood
Genre: Sci-Fi, Fantasy
Release Date: May 1, 2009
MPAA Rating: PG-13
Screen Writer: David Benioff
DVD Release Date: September 15, 2009
Runtime: 1hr 47min
First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Movie Hype is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists