Movie Hype
New Releases, Oscar-Winners and Obscure Movies!
Zombie

1979 film directed by Lucio Fulci

< read all 2 reviews

Zombie Classick

  • May 5, 2009
Rating:
+5
If one must speak of the Citizen Kane as far as zombie films concerned, I think one would probably mention either Romero's Dawn of the Dead or Fulci's Zombie. In fact, I almost hate to mention both in the same sentence as they are two different works of art & have very little in common although Zombie was marketed as a sequel to Dawn of the Dead only in Italy.

Fulci was, hands down, the king of splatter films in his time & don't think there ever was another director who could create such disgusting/revolting classics such as Zombie. Needless to say, I've seen a few Fulci films here & there but this must be my absolute favorite.

We are going to eat you.

Ok, so maybe that grabs your attention. I know it grabbed mine when I was 14 & I once owned an old VHS copy of this when Wizard video granted us all the classic Grindhouse films back in the late eighties. One couldn't help but notice all the gruesome artwork which delights every lunatic horror fan with a lust for gore.

Fulci lives! Thanks to the Gods of DVD!!!

This time, Fulci takes us to the Caribbean to give us a thrill-a-minute with flesh eating voodoo zombies. Trust me, these are the ugliest zombies I have ever seen. Here, the zombie epidemic is growing & a doctor desperately searches to remedy the problem.

Although I hardly think viewers will give a damn about the plot, I am confident they will love the gory special effects. What Fulci lacked as far as plot goes, he more than made up for with intense violence & blood galore. Fulci really raised the bar on this one & zombie enthusiasts everywhere can only salute one of the Italian masters of horror. We can enjoy this film for years to come thanks to Anchor Bay, Blue Underground, & Shreik Show.
zombi zombi2 zombi3

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
12
Thought-Provoking
6
Fun to Read
8
Well-Organized
8
Post a Comment
October 31, 2011
Just bought the new Blue Underground 2-Disk DVD recently. Critically, I like the movie; but as a fan, hell, it's pretty damn awesome.
 
July 15, 2011
Loved this flick as well, great review.
July 25, 2011
Heck yeah! I am composing another zombie film review which hopefully will be up shortly. Thanks for checking this out my friend!
 
December 29, 2009
Duddeee....this was just awesome! My bro took me to see this when I was a kid!
December 29, 2009
I finally got to see a 35mm copy of it on the big screen this past summer. Man, this is way cool to experience in the theatres. I wish I could've seen it when I was really young but no such luck. I've gone through easily a half a dozen copies of this through the years be it VHS or DVD copies. Zombie was perhaps my favorite Fulci film simply because i watched it a bazillion times through the past 21 years. Howz Woo?
December 29, 2009
Zombie is pretty sweet. I saw one called Zombies 2 back in Asia when I was a kid but I don't think it was by Fulci. It was one of those underwater zombies that became a little ridiculous but still fun! I'm cool, man, I'm on vacay but may have to cut it short. One of my staff had an emergency so I may have to go back early. This always happens, either family or work...sacrificing my time for myself.
December 29, 2009
Hmm, hadn't seen that one. I've really started to enjoy going to the movies again with Midnight movies & what have you. I pray this doesn't ever stop. It sux you have to return from your vacation so early. I enjoyed my four days off & I'm off the whole entire day for New Years Eve. Just not looking forward to coming back New Years' Day if you know what I mean. It never fails. Someone always has to rain on another's parade & your fun time is cut short. Life's unfair. Shit sucks! I feel your pain Woo.
 
May 06, 2009
Disgusting is a perfect word for Fulci. Boy did I get grossed out a lot. But I loved the cover art on the boxes--Wizard, Lightning, and a couple of other VHS boxes just used to have the most beautiful cover art and when stores cleared them out to go DVD I bought 'em up like crazy. One fan's delight is another fan's "Where's the toilet?" Love your reviews, keep 'em coming. Have you checked out Black Dogg? You two are a match made in heaven.
May 08, 2009
Haha! Agreed! Even as a kid, the cover art was pretty gross but I miss those days of the VHS tapes sometimes. I used to look forward to video store liquidations or closings where you could rack up on all your favorite films for less than $10. Sadly, I don't have most of them anymore but many I was able to find on DVD. When Rite Aid quit renting movies in the late '80's, I was able to score a load of stuff. Thnx for the comment. Much love to you!! I'm glad you like dthe review. It means a lot to me. I've enjoyed reading your work as well.
May 08, 2009
Thanks. I collected so many VHs flix that eventually they let me go to the warehouse and I got the pick of the litter from stores around the country that had gone out of business--for dealer prices of $1. I found some pretty obscure stuff that way.
May 08, 2009
Wow! Now that's what I'm talking about. I'm a male & I live for a good bargain on films. I still buy a few VHS here & there. It's increasdingly difficult to find tapes anymore but sometimes novelty shops will sell them for dirt cheap & often you can find them at neighborhood yard sales. I am also on the hunt for the cult favs or old horror flicks which just haven't made it to DVD for some odd reason or another. Grins
May 10, 2009
It would just make my day if they picked up some of those films. But I suppose soon they won't even be releasing DVDs anymore and they'll just be sending everything in throught cable or the computer. That puts me off. I don't like the idea of anyone controlling which version I see of a film or deciding if a film should simply be eliminated completely.
May 12, 2009
I agree! That's totally unfair for someone else to have the final jurisdiction on what goes & what stays. There is so much out there to be discovered or re-discovered that DVD hounds like myself crave. I looked for Black Dogg but couldn't find him. Hmm, maybe he checked out? Thanks again for all your wonderful comments!! It means a lot to me.
May 12, 2009
He was on just a couple of days ago. I checked my friends list and he's no longer there too. He was kicked off once before because of what he reviewed and the way he reviewed 'em. I'm checking with someone else to see what the story is. He also writes on amazon, so I'll check with him myself when I pop over there.
May 13, 2009
Well, say hi if you see him on Amazon for me & tell him I really appreciated the comment on my Baise Moi review. Or tell me his screen name on Amazon if he's ok with that & I will add him on to my friends list over there. It sucks that he is no longer with lunch. Again, censorship or someone else having the final say as far as what we can see or what we can read really gets under my skin. Thnx Queen!!
May 13, 2009
C. Christoper Blackshere, and he'll be glad to hear from you.
May 14, 2009
I sent Chris an email through amazon.com & thanked him for his comments on one of my reviews. Thnaks for sharing that information with me. Have a great one!!
 
1
More Zombie reviews
review by . July 13, 2011
posted in Movie Hype
*** out of ****     I'm always willing to give a film a second chance unless I really, really hated it. I didn't really, really hate Lucio Fulci's "Zombie", so I decided to watch it again; this time with original Italian Audio (with English Subtitles), and a mood that was acceptable for this kind of movie.    Fulci's film is a solid one, at best. At worst, people could see it as stupid and meaningless; as I once did. But this time, when I watched it and gave …
About the reviewer
Brian ()
Ranked #13
I've spent years trying to make others happy & not really focusing on what's most important in my own life. Having said that, my own health & security are paramount so now I'm more … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
cenobite7
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this movie

Wiki

Zombi 2 (also known as Zombie, Island of the Living Dead, Zombie Island, Zombie Flesh Eaters and Woodoo) is a 1979 zombie horror film directed by Lucio Fulci. It is the best-known of Fulci's films.[1] The movie made Fulci a horror icon. Despite the fact that the title alludes to the film being a sequel to Zombi (the Italian title of George A. Romero's Dawn of the Dead), the films are unrelated. When the film was released in 1979, it was scorned for its extremely bloody content notably by the at the time Conservative British Parliament.[2].

view wiki

Details

Director: Lucio Fulci
Genre: Horror
Release Date: July 18, 1980
MPAA Rating: Unrated, R
Runtime: 91 minutes
Studio: Variety Film Productions
First to Review

"Zombie Classick"
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Movie Hype is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists