Movie Hype
New Releases, Oscar-Winners and Obscure Movies!

A Quick Tip by Aisha

  • Aug 20, 2009
  • by
Super awesome costumes, makeup and savoir faire (sp?). Very satisfying slow burner. MORE MORE MORE!!!
Share  
(0)
(0)
(0)
(0)
Was this helpful?
0
Post a Comment
More Mad Men reviews
review by . August 19, 2009
Mad Men
  I’ve heard non-stop praise and acclaim about Mad Men over the last two years. Having only seen promotional clips, I was skeptical about the hype. To me, it looked like a peek into a time when men acted as self-interested, arrogant and cut-throat possible; while women played subservient roles in traditional family households and dealt with unimaginable amounts of sexist behavior. Who needs to see more of that? But similar to my fortunate rendezvous with Showtime’s Dexter OnDemand, …
Quick Tip by . January 08, 2012
posted in Pass The Remote!
I've watched several episodes of Mad Men, and I totally understand why its so appealing. It's well-written and very stark and blunt in its portrayal of social attitudes and norms from the 1950's and 60's. And Alison Brie is in it. But I just can't really get into it myself. Maybe I was in the wrong mood or something, but it just hasn't grown on me the way it has other people.
review by . September 21, 2009
Mad Men is well casted, well acted, well written and well directed - it's pretty much everything that regular TV is not. And while the first season was really addictive, I've spotted the formula which has meant we've more or less lost interest in the show. This was mainly due to the fact that we had a weekend marathon of watching all the episodes (thanks, Amazon Video-on-Demand!).      Mad Men catches viewers' interest by injecting story lines that never get resolved: the lead …
Quick Tip by . October 09, 2010
If you were alive in the early 60s, even if you were very young, this show will bring bacjk things you thought you had forgotten.
Quick Tip by . July 10, 2010
Donald Draper is the most lovable misogynist I've ever known, and I simply cannot get enough of Joan Holloway, (she was quite a fox as Saffron in Firefly, as well, but the clothing of this period really does suit her well).
Quick Tip by . May 18, 2010
An exquisitely made series. Intelligent, sharp, witty and totally engrossing. Well worth your time.
Quick Tip by . September 30, 2009
The greatest thing about Mad Men is seeing the history or marketing in our country and the show's great writing team. I heart Mad Men on AMC
About the reviewer
   ENTJ
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Aisha
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this tv show

Wiki

Mad Men is an American television drama series created and produced by Matthew Weiner. It is produced by Lionsgate Television and is broadcast on the cable network AMC. It premiered on July 19, 2007, and completed its second season on October 26, 2008. The third season is scheduled to begin August 2009.

Set in New York City, Mad Men begins in the early 1960s at the fictional Sterling Cooper advertising agency on New York City's Madison Avenue. The show centers on Don Draper (Jon Hamm), a high-level advertising creative director, and the people in his life in and out of the office. It also depicts the changing social mores of 1960s America.

Mad Men has received widespread critical acclaim, particularly for its historical authenticity and visual style, and has won numerous awards, including three Golden Globes, a BAFTA and six Emmys. It is the second cable series to win the Emmy Award for Outstanding Drama Series and the first basic cable series to do so.

Lead characters

  • Don Draper (born in 1925 as Richard "Dick" Whitman) (Jon Hamm): Creative director and eventual junior partner of Sterling Cooper Advertising Agency; Draper is the series' protagonist.
  • Peggy Olson (Elisabeth Moss): She began as the ostensibly naïve "new girl" at Sterling Cooper. Starting as Draper's unassuming new secretary, Peggy showed a talent in advertising strikingly similar to Draper's own.
  • Peter "Pete" Campbell (Vincent Kartheiser): A young, ...
view wiki

Details

First to Review

"Mad about it"
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Movie Hype is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists