Movie Hype
New Releases, Oscar-Winners and Obscure Movies!
True Blood Logo

HBO's popular television series based on Charlaine Harris' Sookie Stackhouse books.

< read all 22 reviews

Rough first-season start, but redemption found in sophomore year.

  • Aug 21, 2009
  • by
Rating:
+3
I've had an odd experience with this show. I was intrigued by the pilot, and recall watching the first few episodes; but then, somewhere along the line, I stopped watching and had no incentive to catch up. The show wasn't bad, the storylines simply didn't interest me.

Then, suddenly, I start seeing promotions for the second season and think, what the hell? It's summer, there isn't anything else on, I'll give it a try. Then, magically, I fell in love with the show. This season is a fabulous example of entertainment intermingling with well-thought out mythos and exploring themes both internally (episode-by-episode basis) and also as an overall arc (it seems like one of said arcs this season seems to be a focus on makers and progenies: godric-eric, bill-jessica, lorena-bill, etc.) The low-points are few and far between, and usually have a redeeming quality about them to not be total losses:
  • At times, the Mary-Ann storyline seems to drag, but I realize this is because it's obviously the overarching Big Bad story of the season. At times, the orgies would grate, but it manages to at least have something sorta-kinda revealed per episode. Plus, Michelle Forbes is FABULOUS. Eggs seems to be the biggest weakness of the story.
  • YMMV, but the Sookie/Bill sappiness grates at times. The condensed storyline sort of justifies it, considering last season was only a week or two in-canon and this season seems to be taking place amongst a week or two as well, so it makes sense that Bill/Sookie are still in their honeymoon phase. That doesn't mean it still isn't annoying.
Again, even these negatives are balanced by the positives of this show. Excellent storytelling, colorfully flawed characters and enough pretty to appease you without making you feel too guilty over loving the show so much. The only reason I'm giving it a 3.0 instead of a 4 or 5 is because of the disappointing (and uninteresting) first season. This one is vastly making up for it, though.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
22
Thought-Provoking
23
Fun to Read
17
Well-Organized
18
Post a Comment
February 26, 2010
I think one's position on the show may come from how you approached it. I have read all the books, and was skeptical as to how well they would be cast to film. I was surprised and pleased that the series captured the books so well, although they did rearrange a bit, add characters (or at least increase their role) and switch things about a bit. The second season however, departed completely from the books. Maryanne was a minor character in print, and most of the events of the second season were not present in the books at all. Still enjoyable, but I got very tired of Maryanne after about three episodes, and wanted her gone. So I would rate the show down because of the second season, and up because of the first. I'll resubscribe to HBO though, when the third season come on, because I've been bitten too.
 
August 27, 2009
I love the mythology woven into the story, without being too obvious or too glorified. Real world problems for fantasy characters! Slowly picking up clues to the fantastic origins of the various characters, and I picked the Dionysus/Bacchus origins to MaryAnn - All my years of being a history nerd pays off. Would love to see more links to mythological races without being gratuitous, and looking forward to the Sookie/LaFayette/sam/Bill showdown with MaryAnn (shes beginning to grate). Its good to see that the Human Characters without special powers can be the best characters! LaFayette take a bow!
 
August 21, 2009
Great review!  I do agree that the Mary-Ann story line is a bit much sometimes and Eggs is rather annoying as I enjoy the Vampire aspects of the show more than anything else.  I do have to say though that I loved the first season as much as the 2nd.  Have you ever seen the show Sons of Anarchy?  That's another show going into its second season this September that I absolutely love.
August 21, 2009
Exactly. I can't put aside the storyline completely, because Michelle Forbes is just too amazing to deny, but it was starting to drag there for a while. Thankfully, though, it seems like now that the Dallas stuff is wrapped up, the shit in Bon Temps is finally hitting the fan. Can't wait until Sunday! I've yet to catch that show but have been wanting to for a long time. I get into spurts where I catch up on shows/watch new ones, and with school I've just been too busy. But hopefully I can fit in a marathon before the premiere. Thanks for the rec!
 
August 21, 2009
Nice review.
 
1
More True Blood reviews
review by . December 27, 2008
Sookie & Bill
HBO continues their run of amazingly high quality series (however slowly and painfully far apart they seem to debut).  The buzz about True Blood hit me before it even aired, however I was a cynic from the start.  I'm a pretty rabid cult follower of Buffy the Vampire Slayer, and figured there was little chance anyone could capture that camp and wit again.  Turns out, this series has ENTIRELY different aspirations than the Buffy franchise.  This show is about a much higher …
review by . March 17, 2010
Probably inspired by Anne Rice's novels, this new version of vampire lore is far more interesting than Blade, Underworld, Twilight, Buffy, etc.  It takes place in a small town in Louisianna and has a real Cajun feel to it.  The premise is that vampires have admitted their existance so a blood substitute (True Blood) has been developed and sold wherever beverages are sold.      The first season centered on a vampire named Bill moving into a Louisianna town and he fascinates …
Quick Tip by . November 22, 2010
posted in Pass The Remote!
The first season was awesome. The second season, not so much. This show is unravelling fast in my opinion.
review by . September 08, 2010
posted in Awesomeness
Remember how Heroes, the perfect melding of X-Men with cable-quality soap, imploded on itself? Remember how "Save the cheerleader, save the world" became "Kill the cheerleader, save the show?" It was one of those shocking TV betrayals, like when The Simpsons became crap, that made you want to withdraw any support you ever gave the show. Let's just hope the circus doesn't show up in True Blood - that will be the final nail in coffin (no pun intended).   …
Quick Tip by . October 06, 2010
More divergent from the original written work with each season, and yet still keeps the original flavor and appeal. Great visuals and action
review by . June 10, 2009
True Blood Blu-ray box art
 Ever since I was a kid, I always had a fascination with everything vampires.  In High School, I couldn't get enough of them.  I bought all the popular (and unpopular) vampire films like Blade, John Carpenters Vampires, Dracula, Underworld and many others.  I always enjoyed reading vampire lore and doing research on the subject and even if vampires don't exist, their "history" and mythology always fascinated me.  Of course there have been some not so great vampire renditions …
Quick Tip by . May 24, 2010
Seriously the Best Thing to Happen to Television since the X-Files.
Quick Tip by . June 22, 2010
Watch the episodes in order! Its very important to not just watch some of them then start again. Its wayy better to watch it from the start.
Quick Tip by . June 16, 2010
Without a doubt, my favorite show ever!
Quick Tip by . June 02, 2010
I wanted to like this show, but there was too much stuff in it that just wasn't necessary or appropriate for me.
About the reviewer
Christina Martin ()
Member Since: Aug 20, 2009
Last Login: Sep 2, 2009 08:00 PM UTC
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
carteyblanch
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this tv show

Wiki




Thanks to a Japanese scientist's invention of synthetic blood, vampires have progressed from legendary monsters to fellow citizens overnight. And while humans have been safely removed from the menu, many remain apprehensive about these creatures "coming out of the coffin." Religious leaders and government officials around the world have chosen their sides, but in the small Louisiana town of Bon Temps, the jury is still out. Local waitress Sookie Stackhouse (Anna Paquin), however, knows how it feels to be an outcast. "Cursed" with the ability to listen in on people's thoughts, she's also open-minded about the integration of vampires — particularly when it comes to Bill Compton (Stephen Moyer), a handsome 173-year-old living up the road. But as Sookie is drawn into a series of mysteries surrounding Bill's arrival in Bon Temps, that tolerance will be put to the test. 

A new drama from 'Six Feet Under' creator Alan Ball, True Blood delves into the meticulously-crafted world of novelist Charlaine Harris. Described by the Emmy®-winning Ball as "popcorn for smart people" and featuring a colorful cast of local misfits, 'True Blood' promises an intense ride.
view wiki

Details

Premiere Date: September 7th 2008
Description: HBO series about Vampires who have gone public and want human rights
Genre: Drama
Studio: HBO
Original Air Date: September 7th 2008
DVD Release Date: May 19th 2009
First to Review

"Diary of a mad fanger"
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Movie Hype is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists