Music Matters
A Place for Music Fans!


3 Ratings: 2.7
An album by Journey

Two CD/DVD. 2008 brings the album Revelation from Journey. Neal Schon (guitar), Jonathan Cain (keyboards), Ross Valory (bass), Deen Castronovo (drums)--are proud to introduce fans all over the world to their new lead singer, Arnel Pineda ('pin-eh-da'). … see full wiki

1 review about Revelation

Journey is Back in a Big Big Way

  • Feb 23, 2009
  • by
This is Journey's first platinum album after so many years.

I was in my college days when "Open Arms" constantly plays on the air. Man,that was almost 30 years ago. With this new set and all the things happening with the band, it feels like they are in your face again.
Almost all the new songs in this collection is greatest hits material.  "Revelation" marks a rebirth for the band. It has a been so many years since Journey has come out with a great CD. This one worth the time we waited. The band is in great shape. Their newly found chemistry is clearly reflected on this new work. The new singer was discovered on YouTube, but what people don't know is that he has been in the business for 25 years. He gave veterans Jon & Neal the goosebumps the very first time they heard him sing on his audition, that's impressive enough for me.
The new material shows you what the future for Journey, which looks really great. Arnel brings a new direction, a new voice and a new style. But also don't forget, he can sing the classics naturally like he breathes it.
For a start, this brand new CD/DVD sells at $11.88 cent at Walmart.
11 new songs, 11 re-recorded classics and concert DVD. Lyrics insert included. Talk about value for your money.

- from Billboard
No. 1 - Top Independent Albums (for 10+ weeks)
No. 2 - Top Internet Albums
No. 5 - Top 200 Albums

There are 3 discs in this package. With how much it is priced at Walmart, it is almost 25 cents per song. People who download illegally will feel RIPPED OFF. Even if you purchase songs from iTunes, you are paying about a dollar per song and you are getting the lossy version. With this package, you get the original CD's, DVD, lyrics and all the artworks.

1. Never Walk Away - will starts you rockin' and rollin', tapping your feet on the floor.
2. Like A Sunshower - is a power ballad, a great make-up song. Wonderful intro.
3. Change For the Better - you thought you are going country, but it gets better. Heavy and tight with nice drums from Dean.
4. Wildest Dream - Great concert song. One of those numbers that will surely put the audience to their feet and go uninhibitively insane
5. Faith in the Heartland - very catchy. Actually this one is a remake from the Steve Augeri's era. An updated version with a new twist.
6. After All These Years - will be a lasting classic, haunting melody. Will surely be a lovers theme for many for many years to come. Great anniversary song too.
7. Where Did I Lose Your Love - This one is a Monster!!! Play and drive and feel your adrenaline pumping. Again this explains why Neal Schon has established himself as one of the guitar gods.
8. What I Needed - Soulful and emotional with powerful soaring vocals. Deen's (Journey's drummer) favorite.
9. What It Takes To Win - song on steroids. Perfect tune for any sports.
10. Turn Down the World Tonight - just smooth, fine and elegant as an old wine.
11. The Journey (Revelation) - psychedelic instrumental that titillates the farthest corners of your brain.

All in all, a perfect blend of power ballads and rockers.

Production is by the legendary Kevin Shirley who described the "Revelation" experience as just like back in the 80's when the band was in their creative prime. Sonic quality will bring justice to your expensive toys.

Yes, there is a Cinderella story behind the hiring of the new singer. But that is another story. Seen the movie "Rockstar"

Also check recent reviews from The New York Times, MelodicRock & Rock Eyez.
Journey's Revelation

What did you think of this review?

Fun to Read
Post a Comment
What's your opinion on Revelation?
3 Ratings: +2.7
You have exceeded the maximum length.
Journey's Revelation
Related Topics
Kinks Ultimate Collection

2002 2 disc audio CD release

Thriller by Michael Jackson

A record-breaking album by Michael Jackson

Rubber Soul - The Beatles

A 1965 album by The Beatles

First to Review
Source: Revelation on
© 2014, LLC All Rights Reserved - Relevant reviews by real people.
Music Matters is part of the Network - Get this on your site
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since