Music Matters
A Place for Music Fans!
Amy Winehouse

An English singer-songwriter.

< read all 12 reviews

Winehouse - What a Waste

  • Mar 4, 2009
  • by
Rating:
+3
Unlike other British tabloid darlings like Katie Price and Victoria Beckham, Amy Winehouse first gained the attention of the press because she has immense talent. Of course, our current image of Winehouse is the emaciated addict with a questionable grasp on dental hygiene.

I implore anyone who hasn't listened to her to buy her albums "Frank" and "Back to Black." If it helps, try to look at old pictures of her while they are playing. I think there are still a few floating around where she isn't wandering around the street in a bra and bloody ballet slippers.

Amy Winehouse is the real thing. She writes her own songs and has an amazing voice. She wasn't created by a record label and team of stylists and her voice isn't processed by auto-tuners. This is something extremely rare in popular music today. Unfortunately, she seems hellbent on dying young. She obviously has severe self image problems, prone to eating disorders and self harm. She is also inexplicably obsessed with some loser who makes Sid Vicious look fresh faced and lucid.

Maybe that's what she wants? Maybe she watched "Sid and Nancy" too many times as a teenager? Regardless, it doesn't look like Winehouse is going to beat whatever demons she has. It is a truly frustrating thing for fans to watch.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
9
Thought-Provoking
8
Fun to Read
9
Well-Organized
1
Post a Comment
June 06, 2009
i think she's going to beat it. i hope her career and her voice survive it though. the person below me says that winehouse is influenced by ella fitzgerald. what singer isn't? but the person below me is also inferring that fitzgerald has substance problems. i thnk that's a mistake. maybe she means billie holiday or dinah washington.
 
March 04, 2009
I think you might be right, DesignDude. She probably romanticizes the drinking and heroin abuse. She's obviously influenced by Ella Fitzgerald in more ways than one.
 
March 04, 2009
I'm going to have to agree with DesignDude here. I mean, she's enjoyable to listen to, but the first time I ever heard her, I couldn't help but think "Who's this person trying to sound like she can sing the blues/jazz?" There's just something about her that doesn't seem real. Just because a record company didn't make her this way doesn't mean she didn't craft her own false image of herself.
 
March 04, 2009
So is so talented I'm glad you recognize that. Back in Black was amazing. I think when your a brit and a rockstar you have to denigrates through drugs and the lifestyle. Its uber romanticized there. I belive the English nation has watched to much "Sid and Nacy" Great review.
 
March 04, 2009
It's a sad downfall for someone who obviously has so much innate talent.
 
1
More Amy Winehouse reviews
Quick Tip by . July 24, 2011
posted in Music Matters
A low down dirty shame, really. It's bad when I type Amy Winehouse into the search bar and the banner ad that pops up is for drug recovery. She had a great voice and a very distinctive style of music, which really don't deserve to be shafted in favor of their overshadowing with the tabloid fodder aspects of her personal life.
Quick Tip by . June 28, 2010
A total wacko (unfortunately) that has an amazing voice!
Quick Tip by . June 20, 2010
Hi Amy my new friend,you are beautiful,love your new friend,Matthew :)
Quick Tip by . June 17, 2010
she looks ugly and is ugly
Quick Tip by . December 23, 2009
When I first Amy Winehouse, I couldn't keep my jaw from hanging open. I mean - this woman transcends Sarah Vaughn, and yet is so distinct.
review by . November 15, 2009
   A DAY TRAVELING NORTH OF MEXICO TURNED ON THE RADIO AND I HEARD A LOVELY VOICE. AT THAT TIME I DID NOT KNOW THE NAME OF THE SINGER BUT I HEAR THE NAME OF AMY WINEHOUSE. LISTEN HER CD AND I THINK IS ONE OF THE BEST CD IN MANY YEARS.
About the reviewer
Amy C. ()
I'm a freelance writer and Web developer. This means I work in my pajamas and rarely see the sun.
About this actor

Wiki

Amy Jade Winehouse (born 14 September 1983) is an English singer and songwriter, known for her eclectic mix of various musical genres including R&B, soul, jazz, rock & roll, and ska. Winehouse is best known for her soulful, powerful contralto vocals.

Winehouse's 2003 debut album Frank was commercially and critically successful in her native Britain. It was nominated for the Mercury Prize. Her 2006 follow-up album Back to Black led to six Grammy Award nominations and five wins, tying the record for the most wins by a female artist in a single night, and made Winehouse the first British singer to win five Grammys, including three of the "Big Four": Best New Artist, Record of the Year and Song of the Year. On 14 February 2007, she won a BRIT Award for Best British Female Artist; she had also been nominated for Best British Album. She has won the Ivor Novello Award three times, one in 2004 for Best Contemporary Song (musically and lyrically) for "Stronger Than Me", one in 2007 for Best Contemporary Song for "Rehab", and one in 2008 for Best Song Musically and Lyrically for "Love Is a Losing Game", among other prestigious distinctions.

Winehouse has been credited as being an influence in the rise in popularity of female musicians and soul music.

Winehouse has received media attention apart from her singing. Her distinctive style has been the muse for fashion designers such as Karl Lagerfeld. The singer's problems with drug and ...

view wiki

Details

Nationality: British
Birth Date: September 14, 1983
Birth Place: London, England
Gender: Female

First to Review

"Winehouse - What a Waste"
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Music Matters is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists