Music Matters
A Place for Music Fans!
Slipknot

Metal band from Des Moines, Iowa

< read all 4 reviews

A Quick Tip by RabidChihuahua

  • Jun 23, 2012
Simply put, this is one of the biggest disgraces to music, ever.  Much like Disturbed, Slipknot is "metal" music for depressed teenagers who either don't know what metal music is, or worse, actually hate it.  This circus of a band has nine members, though in the few times I listened to them, I only heard about four or five of the members.  Aside from the redundancy of extra members, this band seems to care more about dressing up in "scary" outfits rather than creating intense music, as all they really make is nu-metal with some "intense" drumming from their terribly overrated drummer. 

Here's some actual metal albums that I prescribe as MUCH SUPERIOR alternatives to anything Shitknot created.

Godflesh:  Streetcleaner
Pestilence:  Malleus Malleficarum
Asphyx:  The Rack
Napalm Death:  Utilitarian
Judas Priest:  Painkiller
Electric Wizard:  Dopethrone
Ahab:  The Divinity of Oceans
Iron Maiden:  Seventh Son of a Seventh Son
Bolt Thrower:  Those Once Loyal
Sepultura:  Schizophrenia
Terrorizer:  World Downfall
Fear Factory:  Soul of a New Machine

Remember back in 2005 when Burger King had those ads for the debut of the Chicken Fries and they had a mock-Slipknot band on them (I think the band was called Coq Rock)?  It's sad to say that the mock-Slipknot band was much better than the band they were imitating.

Finally, it's worth noting that in recent years, Slipknot released an album called "All Hope is Gone."  Really?  There was no hope to begin with for Slipknot.
Share  
(0)
(0)
(0)
(0)
Was this helpful?
9
Post a Comment
July 01, 2012
A perfect description of Slipknot. one thing I really dislike about the band is the vocals aren't exactly "brutal metal vocals" but more like that crazy Myspace kid, but at a lower pitch
July 01, 2012
You know, I get really mad when people say that Slipknot is a "brutal" band. Yeah, they sound brutal if all you ever listened to was fuckin' Green Day, but anyone who listens to metal as if it's their lifeblood knows how wrong that notion is. Thanks for rating and commenting.
 
June 25, 2012
don't laugh--not too familiar with Sepultura: Schizophrenia....maybe my memory is failing me?
June 25, 2012
"Schizophrenia" isn't as well known as Sepultura's later albums because it was their last album they made when they were basically confined to Brazil's geographical borders, so it didn't get the publicity that albums like "Beneath the Remains" and "Chaos AD" did. Though I think you'll be glad to hear Schizo' if you're craving some intense-as-hell thrash metal loaded with creativity.
 
1
More Slipknot reviews
Quick Tip by . July 02, 2010
posted in Music Matters
slipknot. oh how every depressed teenager loves them. there high strung lyrics, never ending, blasting drums and shredding guitar are what make them. its not that hard with 9 members though. just throw a lot together and make it sound brutal. a favorite of mine for years, you couldnt imagine how many times i overplayed there songs. i will be a "maggot" for life, even when they're gone ill still love them.
review by . April 28, 2009
The show this band puts on is worth watching them live i was fucking blown away by how much skill was put in to putting on one of the best shows i have ever seen. it sounded awesome and was worth the 100 dollars i shelled out so me and my brother could watch the show. so many people it got sold out and  omg cant forget the masks. what would slipknot be without the masks just another hardcore band. and yah epic you need to go must i demand you go see them live.
review by . December 17, 2008
Slipknot
Since the fiery crash of Buddy Holly's plane in 1959, rarely have the words "Iowa" and "rock and roll" been used in the same sentence. As we've come to know it, Iowa means corn, livestock, conservatism, and meat packing plants.  Iowa is full of with kids dying from boredom, and with closed-minded politicians trying to keep their little slice of America sane, quiet, and "Leave It To Beaver"ish. But the kids aren't all right - they're getting ansy.    And …
About the reviewer
David Kozak ()
Ranked #3
I'm a morbid cynic who thinks very, very differently from most other people. Chances are, if the majority says X is the greatest in its category, I'll disagree with that notion, because I tend … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
RabidChihuahua
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this band

Wiki

Slipknot is an American heavy metal band from Des Moines, Iowa, formed in 1995. Slipknot consists of nine members, the current band members are Sid Wilson, Joey Jordison, Paul Gray, Chris Fehn, Jim Root, Craig Jones, Shawn Crahan, Mick Thomson, and Corey Taylor. Each member of the band wears a unique mask.

Slipknot formed in 1995 and underwent several line-up changes following the independent release of their first demo Mate. Feed. Kill. Repeat. in 1996. That album featured original lead vocalist, Anders Colsefini. Their self-titled, major label debut, Slipknot, was released in 1999, featuring permanent new lead vocalist, Corey Taylor, and was followed by Iowa in 2001 and Vol. 3: (The Subliminal Verses) in 2004. On August 25, 2008, the band returned to release their fourth studio album, All Hope Is Gone, which debuted at the top spot on the Billboard 200 charts. The band has released three DVDs, including Disasterpieces, which was certified quadruple-platinum in the United States.
view wiki

Details

Genre: Rock & Alternative

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Music Matters is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists