Music Matters
A Place for Music Fans!
Death Certificate

An album by Ice Cube

< read all 1 reviews

A Quick Tip by RabidChihuahua

  • Oct 28, 2012
I don't know what my favorite Ice Cube album is, but "Death Certificate" is a masterpiece in rap and hip-hop.  Ice Cube carries on from his excellent "AmeriKKKa's Most Wanted" with more anger, and especially in the excellent closing track "No Vaseline," he's venting his rage against his former group members in N.W.A.

Some of the best tracks on this album are the afformentioned "No Vaseline," "Steady Mobbin'," "The Wrong Nigga to Fuck Wit," "Givin' Up the Nappy Dug Out,"  and "I Wanna Kill Sam."
Was this helpful?
Post a Comment
About the reviewer
David Kozak ()
Ranked #3
I'm a morbid cynic who thinks very, very differently from most other people. Chances are, if the majority says X is the greatest in its category, I'll disagree with that notion, because I tend … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this topic


Personnel includes: Ice Cube (rap vocals). Producers: Sir Jinx, Ice Cube, The Boogie Men. Includes liner notes by Alan Light. Audio Mixers: DJ Pooh; Daryll Dobson; Ice Cube; Sir Jinx. Audio Remasterer: Kris Solem. Liner Note Author: Alan Light. Recording information: Paramount Studios, Hollywood, CA. Photographer: Mario Castellanos. Once a member of N.W.A., Ice Cube has consistently put out hits and, throughout his music and film career, has remained admired by the hip-hop community. Rough and rugged, but true and to the point, only Ice Cube can address certain issues facing black, urban America, and he does just that on DEATH CERTIFICATE. DEATH CERTIFICATE is co-produced by Ice Cube with the help of The Boogie Men and Sir Jinx, and the beats they come up with are hard, funky and fast, resembling Cube's own energy. George Clinton's "Atomic Dog" is revived through "My Summer Vacation" and, along with Cube's threatening lyrics, gives the track a funky, gangsta-party appeal. Ice Cube sums up his values and ...
Song List: Disc 1
1. Funeral
2. Wrong Nigga to Fuck Wit
3. My Summer Vacation
4. Steady Mobbin'
5. Robin Lench
6. Givin' Up the Nappy Dug Out
7. Look Who's Burnin'
8. Bird in the Hand, A
9. Man's Best Friend
10. Alive on Arrival
11. Death
12. Birth
13. I Wanna Kill Sam
14. Horny Lil' Devil
15. Black Korea
16. True to the Game
17. Color Blind
18. Doing Dumb Shit
19. Us
20. No Vaseline
21. How to Survive in South Central (bonus ...
view wiki



Label: Priority Records (USA)
Artist: Ice Cube
Release Date: February 25, 2003

© 2014, LLC All Rights Reserved - Relevant reviews by real people.
Music Matters is part of the Network - Get this on your site
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since