Music Matters
A Place for Music Fans!
Andrea Bocelli

Italian tenor artist

< read all 3 reviews

An incredible voice and soul

  • Jul 19, 2010
Rating:
+5
Who hasn't heard of Andrea Bocelli? His name is known throughout the world, his voice is heard in many homes and loved by people of all ages. I don't remember how I've discovered Bocelli, but I know that each time I hear him sing, I am inspired and filled with awe. If you have heard him on CD (mp3, etc...), you haven't really heard him sing just yet. If you ever have the opportunity to see and hear him live, don't miss it! I am really glad I didn't, thanks to my sister. Several years ago she treated me to a night on the town in Boston to hear Andrea Bocelli perform live with Sarah Brightman and then revel in the moment at an Italian cafe in the North End. It was a memorable evening to say the least!

The dark stage is gradually lit and the virtuoso is led into the spotlight. I've heard him many times, but this is different. I will hear his voice with just the microphone between us. The music starts, and already I can feel I'll be blown away. Goosebumps? Yes. Tears even. A voice so beautiful and expressive that you understand every word without actually knowing the language. It is something you have to experience, there is nothing more I can say.

After that amazing experience I've had the pleasure of watching Andrea Bocelli on PBS. I really enjoyed the My Christmas performance even though I am not really into Christmas music. Recently I watched Vivere: Andrea Bocelli Live in Tuscany. That was quite spectacular, I can only imagine what it is like to actually be there in Italy and hear him live. Among the guest performers were Chris Botti, Lang Lang, Eliza, Sarah Brightman, Heather Hadley, Laura Pausini, and David Foster. By all means they only made the evening more impressive. 

I think the fact that he lost his sight only made him a better singer. He uses his voice in a way I've never heard a seeing person do. The human body is amazing in this way that if one of the senses is impaired, the rest do their best to compensate for it. I love seeing Bocelli play the piano, it is beautiful. Of all the pieces he sings, one of my favorites has got to be con Te Partiro (Time to Say Goodbye). I can listen to it over and over again and not get tired of it.

There are very few that have mastered the complex instrument of voice with such grace, passion, and skill. Andrea Bocelli certainly stand apart to move those that listen beyond what words can express!
An incredible voice and soul

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
18
Thought-Provoking
17
Fun to Read
17
Well-Organized
17
Post a Comment
July 22, 2011
I concur.
 
August 07, 2010
Honey, your review of our dear Bocelli and this album is incredible. It puts mine to shame but in defense of me (who better to argue my case?...hehehe), the reviewer before me did such an awesome job I felt I could just keep mine simple. It worked best at that particular place and time of writing. Yes, he MOVES me...and so does your review. ;-)
August 08, 2010
Aw, thank you Betty, you are sweet. I tried :) I think your review is great!
August 08, 2010
Thank YOU, Eco, Hugs - Betty
 
July 21, 2010
What a wonderfully passionate and literate review. I've seen him many times on PBS but never live. I'm green with envy!
July 21, 2010
Thank you very much Paul. I doubt I'll ever be able to see him live again, but at least there is PBS!
 
July 19, 2010
A very moving review. You obviously have great passion for this man who is a truly gifted perfomer. Thanks for sharing with us!
July 19, 2010
Thank you Paul! I tried :)
 
1
More Andrea Bocelli reviews
review by . April 13, 2010
Duets with Andrea
I know I like Andrea Bocelli, but I didn't know I'd like him that much. He has been around and he's a crossover artist. No doubt, he's one of the best tenors still living. Yes, he's blind but that doesn't diminish his charisma. I love it when he's singing duets with some of the most talented singers around.      Vivo Por Ella is one of my most favorites. The first time I heard it, he sang it with Hayley Westerna. Then, it's this video which …
Quick Tip by . April 13, 2010
A crossover artist who's proficient in both classical & operatic pop. Despite being blind, he's a talent we are all lucky to be blessed with
About the reviewer
Anastasia B ()
Ranked #44
I am a woman, a wife, a mother, a daughter, a sister, an aunt, a cousin, a friend, a Christ follower, an Interior Designer, a blog author, a cook, an artist, an eco-conscious consumer, a nature lover, … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
EcoMama
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this musician

Wiki

Andrea Bocelli, Grande Ufficiale OMRI (born 22 September 1958) is an Italian pop tenor and crossover artist. Since his debut album Il mare calmo della sera, released in 1994, he has recorded over a dozen pop and Classical albums, as well as eight complete operas, selling over 70 million copies worldwide.
On March 2, 2010, he was honored with a star on the Hollywood Walk of Fame
view wiki

Details

Genre: Easy Listening
Birth Date: 22 September, 1958
Birth Place: Lajatico

First to Review

"Duets with Andrea"
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Music Matters is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists