Music Matters
A Place for Music Fans!

Why exactly is she famous again?

  • Mar 9, 2009
  • by
Rating:
-4
Think about your favorite "star." Whether it's an actor or a musician or an athlete, usually your first statement about them is, "I like That Star because..." Because they were great in a film, wrote an awesome song, won a Gold Medal. So why exactly do people like Britney Spears?

To get the obvious out of the way, she's a woman in the music who can't play an instrument or write a song. She's a "singer" who has not sung live in years, and is right now lipsynching on her current concert tour. She's a dancer with average moves at best, who is outshone by the nameless backup dancers who surround her. She's not intelligent and compared to other stars like Halle Berry or Penelope Cruz, is downright plain. In her personal life, she's a twice-divorced mother of two who was repeatedly investigated by CPS, then had custody of her children stripped away because she failed drug tests and didn't comply with the simplest of court orders.

But what is most disturbing about Spears is the portrayal of her as a sex symbol. Several months ago, a judge ruled that Spears - a twentysomething woman - was unable to handle the most basic aspects of her life. Legally, she is less than a child - with no control of her own finances, physical or mental health. What's missing from the "comeback story" is that, while people applaud her for "getting her life back together," they ignore the recent ruling that placed her under permanent conservatorship for the rest of her life. That's something usually reserved only for the elderly with severe dementia. Yet she still writhes naked in her videos and sings sexually explicit songs? It says something terrible about America when a woman who can't legally take care of herself or her kids is still a sexual fantasy for thousands.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
17
Thought-Provoking
8
Fun to Read
6
Well-Organized
2
Post a Comment
April 14, 2009
Personally, I'm completely against the idea of celebrity and idolatry in general. The whole concept only allows for inequality and bias to run amok of the world. What we need, in my opinion, is to stop putting people on pedestals because of their appearance or financial status and start evaluating each other based upon ideas.
 
April 14, 2009
It's always about the money. It's too bad that vulgarity rules in this country, but it does. I give her a -5 as well.
 
March 17, 2009
Your post was honest and humorous. Everyone has opinions. People said the exact same things about Madonna too, and many famous women before her.
April 14, 2009
Nobody could say that about Gloria Steinem or Emma Goldman or Margaret Sanger or Ida Craddock. :)
April 14, 2009
Well, I spend most of my time in the past.
 
March 15, 2009
Wow "It says something terrible about America when a woman who can't legally take care of herself or her kids is still a sexual fantasy for thousands." That line really made me think. And at least take a second look at her in this light.
 
1
More Britney Spears reviews
Quick Tip by . June 10, 2011
posted in Music Matters
She's eye candy and a great dancer. But her voice is very annoying and sounds more like sugar-coated, suggestive cooing than singing.
Quick Tip by . December 13, 2010
I so hope Britney rights her ship. She's one of the few modern pop stars who I believe actually has the talent to keep producing hits like Madonna and Cher.
Quick Tip by . September 25, 2010
posted in Music Matters
A prime example of whats wrong with music. A cute face with a terrible voice that sells millions. If you want to be based on your looks, be a model.
Quick Tip by . June 11, 2010
Awesome book and history, Good read.
Quick Tip by . June 08, 2010
Despite all of her media attention and poor life decisions, I still love my Britney.
review by . April 16, 2009
Not that i support all her outbreaks and crazy behavior, but i do have sympothy on her because she doesnt have a normal life like we do....shes surrounded by nagging fans everywhere she goes, she cant even go to toys r us and get her kids something without being photographed. So its much easier to judge someone, but her breakdown is not something she should be criticized for....it can happen to anyone. I just think she had too much on her plate, the divorce, and kids one after the other, in addition …
review by . December 16, 2008
Britney by no means is all that great of an actor, her songs are for the most part catchy, but I think what has made her so popular is her sex appeal(or the lack there of)  She struts her stuff around and gives no regard that a younger generation is following in her footsteps.    We've all heard about her infamous break downs and such and after all that's gone wrong in recent years she seems to be pulling herself out of the rut she was in.  I'm by no means condoning …
About the reviewer
Member Since: Mar 9, 2009
Last Login: Mar 24, 2009 08:30 AM UTC
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
ColoradoKitty
Your ratings:
Ken
Ken
rate more to improve this
About this musician

Wiki

Britney Spears is a natural-blonde pop singer, dancer, songwriter, actress, author, and mother, born in the city of Kentwood in Louisiana, in December of 1981. She may be considered as among the last of the teenage superstars of this era.

Spears participated in church choirs as a kid as well as performed as a dancer in their town programs. As early as eight years of age, Britney knew she wanted to be in the limelight, and so she joined the audition for The Mickey Mouse Club, but was not accepted because she was still under-aged. One of the producers of the show, however, saw the potential in her, thus, Spears was introduced to an agent in New York.

Britney was enrolled for several summers at the Professional Performing Arts School center, which became the start of her singing and acting career. She also participated in several "off-Broadway" productions, once of which is the show "Ruthless" during the year 1991. When she turned eleven, she then was invited to join The Mickey Mouse Club, where she stayed for two years.
How did Spears find her way to being a pop sensation? Britney first started auditioning in New York for pop groups, where her demo tapes were liked by Jeff Fenster of Jive Records, who was amazed by Spears' vocal range as well as commercial appeal. Britney was then placed in the studio with Eric Foster White, a well-known writer and producer, who previously handled famous artists like Whitney Houston, Boyzone, etc. Max Martin, the top ...

view wiki

Details

Filmography: Crossroads (movie)
Nationality: American
Birth Date: December 2, 1981
Gender: Female
Height: 64 inches
First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Music Matters is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists