Music Matters
A Place for Music Fans!
Rihanna

A Barbadian recording artist and model.

< read all 3 reviews

Much respect to a strong woman, I wish her the best!

  • Nov 10, 2009
  • by
Rating:
+5
 Last week I watched Rihanna's interview on 20/20 with Diane Sawyer.  As predicted, she came out and spoke openly about the incident with Chris Brown back  in February. I was surprised with how open she was to all of the questions she was asked, and I learned more about her than I ever thought I would care about a superstar. But music from both Chris Brown and Rihanna has been some of the most listened to albums of my time, and their shocking relationship has impacted the industry as well as young adults in my generation who have looked to both of them. 



After watching this interview, it is hard to believe that the woman is only 21. Are you serious? The way she held herself showed a much more mature person. Just the way she articulated her thoughts on the whole thing proved how deep and serious the issue of domestic violence is today. I noticed how hard it was for her to answer some of the questions, but she stuck with it and clearly told her story and held nothing back.

While many critics say that she did the interview for the sake of her new album coming out - I am convinced that her story is one that needs to be told. I admire her for explaining how she could not carry the burden of being a role model to so many young women, yet run back to Chris or keep silent on what had happened. She put a voice to so many people who are going through this terrible trend, and in my opinion, gave women a light to look to. 

I've got all of the respect in the world for this young woman, and now know why all of the icons of hip hop have stood behind her through this  whole thing. People like Jay-Z, Justin Timberlake and TI all have supported her in so many ways, and this interview only gave her such a respectable place not only in the music industry, but for women throughout the world.

"

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
15
Thought-Provoking
18
Fun to Read
15
Well-Organized
15
Post a Comment
April 01, 2010
I love this review of Rihanna because I completely agree with you. I can't believe she is my age. The way she handled herself in her interview with such strength was amazing to watch. I look up to her in so many ways. Plus, her music is awesome.
 
April 01, 2010
I love this review of Rihanna because I completely agree with you. I can't believe she is my age. The way she handled herself in her interview with such strength was amazing to watch. I look up to her in so many ways. Plus, her music is awesome.
 
December 04, 2009
I completely agree. I was shocked that when all of this went down, Rhianna bore the brunt of the blame and NOT Chris Brown. Here's a sobering statistic from the National Institute of Justice: "Intimate partner violence is the leading cause of death for African-American women ages 15 to 45 and the seventh leading cause of premature death for U.S. women overall." (www.ncjrs.gov/pdffiles1/jr000250e.pdf) I can't believe she's 21 either. She can stand under my umbrella anytime though.
 
November 11, 2009
I also did not know she was 21! Wow. She is an awesome performer - I would have never checked this clip out without this review but I was pleasantly surprised! Thanks.
 
November 10, 2009
Great review, Angelo, and thanks for the vid. I'm with ya; despite how others are saying that this was a publicity stunt, and it probably partially was in anticipation for her album release, this was definitely a story that needed to be told. I really admire her for leaving her abuser and being able to speak out about it.
 
1
More Rihanna reviews
Quick Tip by . November 13, 2009
Its so hard to not love Rihanna, I just hope her next album is as fun as her last one. And I hope she stops lipsyncing at her concerts!
Quick Tip by . November 11, 2009
I had my doubts cuz she kept going back to Chris but, after she said it looked like he was reading a TelePrompTer, I believe her! Go girl!
About the reviewer
Angelo Ignacio ()
Ranked #7
I'm a Filipino-American living life as a post undergrad making a start here in beautiful Los Angeles. I love the weather and diversity here and enjoy everything this city has to offer. I'm excited to … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
angelodignacio
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this musician

Wiki

Robyn Rihanna Fenty (born February 20, 1988), better known as Rihanna, is a Barbadian recording artist and model. Born in Saint Michael, Barbados, Rihanna moved to the United States at the age of 16 to pursue a recording career under the guidance of record producer Evan Rogers. She subsequently signed a contract with Def Jam Recordings after auditioning for then-label head Jay-Z.

In 2005, Rihanna released her debut studio album, Music of the Sun, which peaked within the top ten of the Billboard 200 and features the Billboard Hot 100 hit single "Pon de Replay". Less than a year later, she released her second studio album, A Girl Like Me (2006), which peaked within the top five of the Billboard albums chart, and produced her first US number one hit single, "SOS", as well as Billboard Hot 100 top ten entries "Unfaithful" and "Break It Off". Rihanna's third studio album, Good Girl Gone Bad (2007), peaking at number two on the Billboard 200, featured five top ten hits including three US number one hit singles—"Umbrella", "Take a Bow" and "Disturbia"—and the worldwide hit "Don't Stop the Music." The album was nominated for nine Grammy Awards, winning Best Rap/Sung Collaboration for "Umbrella," which features Jay-Z.

Rihanna has sold over 12 million records, worldwide in her four-year career span and has received several accolades, including the 2007 World Music Awards for ...
view wiki

Details

Filmography: Battleship (2012)
Instruments: Vocals
Genre: R & B
Birth Date: February 20, 1988
Gender: Female
Polls with this musician
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Music Matters is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists