Music Matters
A Place for Music Fans!
Pandora Online Radio

An automated music recommendation and Internet radio service created by the Music Genome Project.

< read all 17 reviews

Music Safari

  • Feb 11, 2010
Rating:
+4
I first heard about Pandora two years ago in my English composition class that I was teaching. A music fanatic wanted to write the majority of his essays on music topics. When I assigned a persuasive research paper, he was at a lost for a topic. During a brainstorming session in my office, he decided that he would tackle the case of online radio streaming programs versus traditional radio stations found on stereos and inside cars. Next thing I knew, he was talking on and on about this new radio streaming site called Pandora and the Music Genome Project. I had never heard of the site, but I was fascinated by his enthusiasm and persuasive argument. I attribute my "finding" of Pandora to my student Colin Wagner even though it took another year before I actually created an account.

I don't recall why I was suddenly inspired to create my Pandora account, but I am so glad I finally did. Even though, I haven't explored enough of the music options on the site, I am happy with all the radio stations I have created. My stations include (sample songs are the indented bullet points):

  • Kris Allen Radio
    • "I'll Be" by Edwin McCain
    • "Written all over My Face" by Kris Allen
  • It's All Coming Back Now Radio
    • "Close to You" by the Carpenters
    • "You're the One that I Want" by The Beautiful South
  • Owl City Radio
    • "Saltwater Room" by Owl City
    • "Hit the Lights" by Skip School Start Fights
  • Joe Hisaishi Radio
    • "Mission Impossible," Film Score by Danny Elfman
    • "The Hours," Film Score by Philip Glass
  • Clair De Lune Radio
    • "Castle of Wonders" by Greg Maroney
    • "The Vigil" by David Nevue
  • Disney (Holiday) Radio
    • "White Christmas" by Taylor Swift
    • "Here We Come A-Caroling" by Alvin and the Chipmunks
  • Disturbed Radio
    • "Intoxication" by Disturbed
    • "Always" by Saliva
  • New Kids on the Block Radio
    • "Didn't I" by New Kids on the Block
    • "I've Had the Time of My Life" by Bill Medley
  • Beauty and the Beast Radio
    • "A New Day Has Come" by Celine Dion
    • "Somewhere out there" by James Ingram
  • Mellow/Indie
    • "Pictures of You" by The Cure
    • "Fix You" by Coldplay
  • Mellow/Indie (friend's version)
    • "Anyone Else but You" by The Moldy Peaches
    • "Nobody Knows Me at All" by The Weepies
  • Shadow of the Day Radio
    • "Leave out all the Rest" by Linkin Park
    • "Human" by The Killers
  • Viva lad Vida Radio
    • "Today" by Smashing Pumpkins
    • "Signal Fire" by Snow Patrol
  • Bleeding Love Radio
    • "Yesterday" by Leona Lewis
    • "Always Be My Baby" by Mariah Carey

One of the neatest aspects of Pandora, other than having music that caters to your every whim, is being able to add your friends' radio stations to your own list. Unfortunately, I signed up with an account that is not readily identified by my friends. Currently, I have two friends. If anyone here uses Pandora and would like a new friend on the site, view my profile and add me. Don't forget to leave a comment on my page, too, so I know you visited.

Even though I find the site fun, innovative, and easy to use, there are some major downsides to consider before signing up for an account. First, some of your radio stations can get redundant. You have a lot of control by giving songs up and down thumbs, but the stations still tend to recycle a lot of the same music over and over again. This usually doesn't bother me, though, because I don't log on often enough to get bored. In fact, I find it comforting to listen to music that I really enjoy again and again. Another downside to the site is that you can only "skip" or give thumbs down to so many songs before the site forces you to keep listening to the station/music (I believe it's 10 songs). This can be really frustrating for a listener because we are supposed to control the music at Pandora. How dare they force me to listen to songs I just don't like! Not even switching to a new station will reset the "timer" on the thumbs down/skipping portion of the site. Finally, the most annoying and recently changed part to the site, are the ads. When I first started listening, there were no ads! It was amazing to listen to music without having an annoying announcer trying to sell me something. Now, there are all sorts of ads, such as between songs or when changing stations. Some are subtle, the size of the album cover in your list of music. Others pop up and take half the screen! Alas, Internet ads are often the price you pay for "free" sites.

A final problem you might run into is a limitation to the amount of hours you can listen to on the site for free. You are alloted 40 hours of free music before you are cut off for the rest of the month. Your only other option is to pay a premium fee or listen to music on another web streamer. I haven't run into this problem yet because I divide my time between Pandora and Playlist.

Despite these faults, I still enjoy Pandora and highly recommend it to those looking for a slightly different listening experience on the web. It's easy to use and often leads you to new artists and songs that you might not have heard of or considered in the past. It's like a music safari! You never know what might jump out of the bushes and surprise you!
Music Safari

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
41
Thought-Provoking
31
Fun to Read
40
Well-Organized
38
Post a Comment
June 24, 2011
The Pandora appears to be an interesting site.
June 28, 2011
I agree! I am so glad one of my students introduced the site to me. Do you have a profile there too?
 
March 25, 2011
It says - User not found We couldn't find a user named "tsukino.usagi" in our database. Please check the URL, or visit the Pandora Home Page ____________ Here's me - http://www.pandora.com/people/gun665 Here's my playlist - http://www.pandora.com/stations/b5019edcfa4f...98f671ee3c751ee3636d9de
March 25, 2011
Thanks for mentioning this! I forgot that my url changed. It's http://www.pandora.com/people/adriannas. I just started following you on Pandora. I hope you return the follow too! I'm off to check out some of your stations now. :)
 
September 25, 2010
I enjoy Pandora, but, like you, I don't listen to it that often, so most of the downsides aren't much of a problem for me. These days, I mainly use it to find new music. Most of the radio stations around here that come in clearly don't play music that I enjoy, so this is my main way to hear new music of the varieties I enjoy!
September 28, 2010
Hi Debbie! I've been listening to Pandora a lot more often now that I have a smart phone and downloaded the Pandora app. I am loving that I can now be mobile with Pandora. A lot of the stations where I live either have poor reception or just play bad music, so I understand the need to find new music. :)
 
July 07, 2010
Nice review, Adrianna. I'm a recent Pandora user as well. One of the things I like best about the site is discovering new music on my stations. I've found some really awesome artists that I'd probably never hear elsewhere. Also, I love that you have a "Beauty and the Beast" station. :)
July 09, 2010
Thanks so much for reading my review, Lizzy! I love, love, love Pandora! Since finding it, it's my primary source of music. I listen to it as often as I can. Now that I have a smart phone with a Pandora app, it's like I'm never too far away from music. I'm probably going to write another review someday about the app because it's different from the web version. I actually like it better than the web version too. And, yes, the "Beauty and the Beast" station is awesome! I get a lot of Disney soundtracks playing. I can't help but enjoy Disney music, lol. ;)
 
July 05, 2010
Great review. I have read a number of reviews about Pandora and still have not tried it out. Maybe now I will.
July 09, 2010
You really should. It's the best way to listen to music and discover new music. Imagine-- it caters to your music desires based on what types of music you like. If it's gone too far from your preferred genre or style, simply rate the track a thumbs down, and it will take you into another direction. Talk about smart music!
 
February 17, 2010
Great Review!  I too love Pandora as I use it while writing my reviews.  It's also nice to have it on my Droid which comes in really handy and instead of commercials, there are just visual adds.  On the actual website, I don't mind the adds as they usually only take 30 seconds.  I kinda feel as if it was bound to happen anyway.  great write up though! 
February 18, 2010
Thanks so much for your kind reviews regarding my review! Ooo...Droid...I would love that phone to death! Me be so jealous of you! LOL! The visual ads do sound more manageable than the ones on the website. I agree with you, though. It was bound to happen. Oh well! Doesn't mean I don't enjoy using it. :)
 
February 14, 2010
I think you told me about Pandora some time ago. I believe I created an account on there at the time as well. I haven't gone back on there in quite a while, but based on your review, I might take it up again. It sounds like a cool way to listen to your favorite songs while being exposed to new songs that you might like as well. Awesome. :-)
February 17, 2010
You created an account on playlist.com that you never use! That's the site I use when Pandora is not available. You should log on the music sites more often. lol! Yeah, I bet you would really enjoy Pandora. :)
 
February 11, 2010
I'm listening to Pandora right now! I love it. I do wish I could skip more though!
February 11, 2010
Yeah, me too. I was feeling that way when I was listening to the two Indie stations I have last night (one mine and one my friend's). It's a "new" genre for me, so I am still exploring what I like and dislike as far as song choices go. I lose a lot of freedom when they limit the number of skips!

Feel free to add me on Pandora if you want a new friend. I included my profile link in the review. :)
 
February 11, 2010
Great review, Adrianna!  Like you, I had known about Pandora for a while before signing up for it.  I don't actually use the site at all, I just use the [super cool!] iPhone application, so that's very interesting what you write about the site.  On the app, you can only skip six songs per hour, but I rarely have to skip because their selections are pretty decent.  Have you ever heard of Grooveshark before?  It's another music streaming site that @crispy just wrote a review about it and I'm thinking about checking it out!
February 11, 2010
Yeah, I use the site a lot because I am always on my computer. I don't have a fancy spancy phone...yet...but I'm hoping to get one soon! lol

For my experimental stations, I get frustrated because I am trying to branch out and colter a taste for something new and then I get stuck listening to songs I really don't like. It makes me not want to find new stations to create! Six songs would drive me batty! LOL

No, never heard of grooveshark before. I'll check out the review and consider checking out the site if it sounds interesting. Thanks for the suggestion, Debbie!
February 12, 2010
I mainly only listen to music when I'm driving or working out, not when I'm lounging about, so I'm often not too picky about what comes on I guess :P

And if you're looking for a new fancy, schmancy phone, you should check out these reviews of the HTC Tilt, the Droid, Blackberry Curve, and of course, mine on iPhone 3GS.  Warning: Every single one of these reviewers is in love with their phone!!! ;P
February 13, 2010
LOL! I'll see about checking out some of these reviews, although I doubt I will buy any. The partner wants to avoid phones with data plans. :P
February 13, 2010
Well, I guess if you're working in an industry that doesn't make it super handy for you to have a smartphone, then you don't really need one. To me, though, $30 a month for a data plan is sooooo worth it. That's how I can Lunch on the go! ;)
February 17, 2010
Well, if I could, I would so buy a data plan and smart phone. I love being on the Internet. I'm a bit addicted, if you haven't noticed. ;)
 
1
More Pandora Radio reviews
review by . October 05, 2010
posted in Music Matters
All reviews, so far, for Pandora Radio have been positive and all have covered the free version. I used the service for a week before deciding to upgrade to the paid version. Was it money well spent? Mostly yes.      How it works: Pandora uses a fairly simplistic standard AI (artificial intelligence) engine. Create a seedbed of artists and songs and Pandora will augment that list with songs that fit your genres or songs that others with similar lists also like. Free version or …
review by . February 03, 2009
posted in Music Matters
Pandora Screenshot
UPDATE: 1/25/11      Since writing this review, I've upgraded my membership at Pandora to the paid subscription. And so, I'm  going to put in some thoughts on how that's been after using it now for about a month. If you're looking for thoughts on Pandora a free service, read towards the bottom, where you'll find my original review.       Pandora One is $36/year and offers some perks as a paid members. To sum it all up: no ads, …
Quick Tip by . May 26, 2011
posted in Music Matters
I'm in love...again. All I need is a WiFi connection and my Android tablet and there it is - from music I've loved for years to gems I've never heard. The Pandora mobile app ties in with my online Pandora account, takes my choices and tailors "radio" stations to suit my every mood. It's easy to use and almost always spot on.  With the mobile app, I'm loving it all over again.
Quick Tip by . December 03, 2010
Listen to any style of music for free on Pandora Internet radio - let Pandora select artists that suit your tastes
Quick Tip by . September 28, 2010
I'm a big fan of pandora. With just a few simple inputs, pandora can predict and play music you will like. The more inputs you give it, the closer it gets to your personal taste...kind of like lunch.
Quick Tip by . July 14, 2010
posted in Music Matters
I don't love Pandora, but I like it. I just don't like how it limits skipping songs or it stops playing if you let it be. Regardless though it is great for discovering new artists that might have something you'll love! Because of the cons I haven't been a very loyal user though...
review by . December 01, 2009
Pandora.com has done great things for my discovery of artists and bands in a specific genre that I choose. I have come across music that I have never heard before, or haven't heard enough of to form an opinion on. Since starting my Pandora account, I have some new favorite bands and musicians.       As a music journalist, this helps me a great deal. I can discover new music, and then research the artist more heavily. Tour managers could benefit from this site too, through finding …
Quick Tip by . March 17, 2010
Pandora works a lot better than Last.fm for me. I discovered several bands via Pandora and bought a bunch of albums
review by . April 25, 2009
I live and breathe music... my friends sometimes call me the "Duke-box" because any phrase can trigger a song in my head, and I have a weird ability to remember lyrics really well.  I currently own four different Mp3 players... yeah, I'm crazy.  Anyways, I've known about Pandora for a long time and I'm happy that it's finally getting mainstream.  Here's what makes Pandora the best Internet Radio... ever!      Pandora is a streaming internet radio station.  …
review by . April 15, 2009
Oh, how I love Pandora, let me count the ways.     First, you can create your own radio station. At first, I had toyed around with their "genre stations". Their R&B station is not my type of R&B, a little too much JoJo and Beyonce for my taste. So, I decided to type in "Jill Scott", you just can't go wrong with her. They matched her style of neo-soul with some R&B artists that match that style and voila- I LOVE IT! I listen to it as I wind down the day at work or …
About the reviewer
Adrianna Simone ()
Ranked #22
MY GROUPS (AND COMMUNITY):      The following information was taken from the officialCafe Libri Website.   Cafe Libri (Yahoo Reading Discussion Group)is the original Cafe … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Adrianna
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
Recent reviews by Adrianna
About this website

Wiki

Pandora is an automatic music recommendation and Internet radio service created by the Music Genome Project. People enter a song or artist and the service plays a list of songs that are similar. Pandora refines the personalized radio station with the person's thumbs-up/thumbs-down feedback on each song. Over 400 different musical attributes are considered when selecting the next song.

People can buy songs they hear from Amazon MP3, Amazon.com, or the iTunes Store.

The Pandora media player plays through a web browser and on portable devices such as iPhone. The service is supported through advertising and subscriptions.

Pandora radio is the personalized internet radio service that helps you find new music based on your old and current favorites. Create custom web radio stations, listen free.
view wiki
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Music Matters is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists