Northern California Wine
The Wine Life of Northern Cali!

Ice Wine

10 Ratings: 4.7
A very sweet and unique imported wine.

Ice wine (or icewine, as one word, or in German, Eiswein) is a type of dessert wine produced from grapes that have been frozen while still on the vine. The sugars and other dissolved solids do not freeze, but the water does, allowing a more concentrated … see full wiki

Tags: Wines, Gourmand, Dessert Wines
1 review about Ice Wine

Like biting into a grape.

  • Jan 30, 2009
  • by
Rating:
+5
I really don't like the fermented taste of wine, but I keep trying different kinds anyway. Every once in a while, I come across one I enjoy.

And then there's ice wine. I not only enjoy ice wine, I CRAVE it. Probably because it's really really sweet and kind of feels like I'm biting into a grape without tasting like Welch's. Ok, granted, I've only had one kind from Canada, but I can imagine that most of them are just as good.

The reason why they call it ice wine, is because the liquid is pressed from frozen grapes. When the grapes are frozen, all the water content freezes and separates from the natural flavors and sugars. So when they press it, pure grape extract comes out. This is why it is so sweet and smooth. They can only do this in extreme cold climates like Canada and parts of Europe. This is the reason why it is a little pricier and comes in a slender bottle.

The bottle I tried was actually given to my mom, so I'm not sure where that person got it, but I know you can order it online. It is so worth it. It makes the perfect holiday gift! (so if you were wondering what to get me this year...)

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
58
Thought-Provoking
23
Fun to Read
39
Well-Organized
30
Post a Comment
August 11, 2011
Informative review !
 
February 24, 2010
I'm a wine lover myself and have never heard of this. Thanks for putting this out there -- I have to grab a bottle now. Sounds like a dessert wine. Does the bottle suggest it should be paired with a specific type of food?
February 24, 2010
yes, definitely a dessert wine! very sweet... i don't remember what it said on the bottle... but I'd imagine it'd be good with fruity cakes, or tarts. mmm
 
January 09, 2010
A lot of the world's ice wines are produced right down the road from me in the Niagara wine region. We're pretty proud of their world-wide reputation. Nice review.
 
November 11, 2009
I've never had ice wine, but thanks to you I will have to give it a go. I took a peek at the BevMo site and it looks like they sell 4 brands, although 3 are listed as "low inventory". The Jackson-Triggs Vidal '07 seems to be in readily available stock.
November 12, 2009
oo I will check it out! thanks!
 
October 30, 2009
This is right up my alley! Do you know where I can find it? Bev-mo?
 
August 25, 2009
Great Review Toshi, I too am a huge fan of Ice Wine and if a wine list has it I like it as an afterdinner wine. Check out Inniskillian Vidal or for a real treat they make a sparkling Ice Wine that is off the hook and a great date wine.... make sure she is worth it though because it is going cost you.
 
August 20, 2009
I have the same experience with ice wine. A friend in Maine who had a small winery http://themaineswitch.com/story/view/1741/ bottled ice wine and we, also, have given it away as a special treat for special friends. Small American wineries make this wine by buying juice from Canada or northern New York and completing the wine-making process themselves. I was interested to learn from these friends that many wineries don't grow their own grapes. The idea of making wine out of grapes that have Botrytis seems rather unappetizing.
 
April 01, 2009
I am going to have to find some! Grape juice wine- doesn't get better than that!:)
 
March 06, 2009
nice write up. I have to try one myself!
 
March 01, 2009
eshk... all ice wine I've had is SOOO sweet. I say we need a wine tasting party ASAP. It's been too long since I've seen you.
 
1 2 Next
What's your opinion on Ice Wine?
rate
10 Ratings: +4.7
You have exceeded the maximum length.
Photos
Grapes frozen on the Vine
Details
First to Review
Source: Ice Wine on Lunch.com
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Northern California Wine is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists