Northern California Wine
The Wine Life of Northern Cali!
Costco Private Label Wines (Kirkland Wine)

Wine produced by retailer Costco under their private label - Kirkland

< read all 3 reviews

Great Opportunity to Try Something New

  • Nov 13, 2009
  • by
Rating:
+5
Costco's private label wines are great for a number of reasons, but in my opinion it allows you to experiment and try something new with the comfort and security of knowing you have the Kirkland brand behind it.

The Kirkland Brand:  As someone who shops a lot at Costco, I've come to trust the Kirkland Brand.  Now this isn't like most private label brands that you'll find at other stores.  Typically private labels compete on price and therefore are on the low end.  Kirkland competes on quality not price and you'll find that across their entire product line.  It's no different for their wine.  The price points will normally between $12 and $30 for a bottle, which is a far cry from the Two Buck Chuck that you'll find at Trader Joes.

The Current Wine Industry:
  Over the past 10 years or so, wine production has blowing up.  More vines, more grapes, more labels, and overall higher quality in wine production.  As the economy slowed during 2008, consumers reduced their spending on higher priced bottles of wine.  The grapes were still being harvested, but wine makers have found themselves with more juice than they can sell, especially with the higher priced bottles.  So they make less of the high priced bottles because they don't want to destroy the brand they built around that specific label.  But then what do they do with all the grapes that they aren't bottling?  Well, they move them down into a lower priced label.  And so on and so on.  So at the end of the day, you have much better juice ending up in lower priced labels... much better wine a cheaper prices.   (I'd love to get some comments about my brief industry analysis from some of Lunch's wine experts like Shayne; bikrdave; Jon_Wollenhaupt and CuveeCorner)

Costco as a wine seller:  Costco is the largest wine retailer in the country.

Conclusion:  Add all of this up and what do you get.  Well, if you have a lot of great grapes able to be purchased for cheap, and you have a trusted well known brand like Kirkland, and you have the largest distribution channel for wine in Costco... you get an AMAZING OPPORTUNITY TO TRY SOME NEW WINE. 

The Kicker:  Their wine is actually really good.  It has all of the characteristics of the type wine it is... i describe it as "right down the middle of the fairway".  Now, it's not great, but it's not aiming to be.  Too be great a wine needs to push the envelope a bit.  Kirkland doesn't try anything fancy... It's just really good.  It will give you a perfect perspective of what that type of wine is supposed to taste like which isn't always the case.  For example, if you go and try some small production Malbec from some unknown Spanish producer, there is a good chance that it will have some characteristics that aren't true to all Malbecs.  That doesn't happen with Kirkland wine, or at least not what I've tried so far.  I'm not recommending that you serve it at a dinner party (although I've served their '02 Rutherford Cab and it was great), but i do think that when you want to venture out, try something new, spend a little more than you might otherwise, it's a great, fun option.  Also, knowing that the juice you're drinking would probably be priced at least double if it didn't have the Kirkland label on it, somehow makes it taste a little better.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
42
Thought-Provoking
39
Fun to Read
30
Well-Organized
39
Post a Comment
July 07, 2011
I like white wine at the 8% proof. It's easier on the gastrointestinal tract and tastes great with tacos and salsa.
 
January 08, 2011
Wow...I wouldn't have guessed the Kirkland Wines were so good. I've been recently drinking a lot of new wines; I've posted some new reviews in Debbie's Gourmand community if you haven't read both of them. Next time I go to Costco with the hubby, we'll have to purchase some Costco wine!
 
December 20, 2010
Thank you for convincing me to buy some :)
December 21, 2010
Nice Will!!
 
November 15, 2009
OK, I'll bite...er...I'll drink! I had never tried a Kirkland branded wine before, but now I will b/c of this review and the inherent challenge to "Try something new!" :)
 
November 15, 2009
love the converging trends angle - great review!
 
November 14, 2009
Loved the industry analysis on the economies of grape. I hope @trailblazer can weigh in as well on whether Kirkland has had an effect on the Santa Barbara wineries.
 
November 14, 2009
JR... Nice Job! Check out my review "Costco... The Great American Negociant"
 
November 13, 2009
I haven't been disappointed with any Costco wine Ive tried. One thing I really like about it is they seem to be continually trying to find new, good grapes and wine and they're not afraid to adapt. For instance, a couple years ago they had a great Pinot from Central Otago, New Zealand that I loved and more recently they've been having Santa Barbara Pinot Noir's. I've also tried and really liked the following wines: Chardonnay, a couple of Cabs, and even a Chateauneuf-du-Pape. Moral of the story... Costco is one of the greatest places on earth.
 
November 13, 2009
Thanks for the breakdown of Kirkland wine!  It really is a great opportunity to try something new, and I like how you point out that Kirkland competes on quality and not price.  My parents became obsessed with Kirkland wines a few months ago and have very recently started buying them by the boxload, so I've had the opportunity to sample quite a few different wines and might start become obsessing over it myself! 

And yes, I'd love to hear what the wineauxs of Lunch have to say about Kirkland wine, too! :)
 
1
More Costco Private Label Wines (Ki... reviews
review by . November 14, 2009
This review in response to JR's review "Great Opportunity to Try Something New".      Essentially Costco has put an American twist on the tried and true negociants in Burgundy. What Jadot, Louis Latour and Joseph Drouhin have perfected in Burgundy, Costco in doing here. In the Burgundian model the negociants will not only buy bulk wine form other suppliers but also grapes and make and blend the wine themselves. Make no mistake, Costco is not making …
review by . November 14, 2009
Kirkland Wine by Costco - a great way to drink your way around the world
Like most Kirkland (Costco) products, their wines are high quaity at a very reasonable price. I haven't been disappointed with any Kirkland wine I've tried. They seem to be continually trying to find new, good grapes and wine, which resuls in an ever-changing lineup of wines from around the world.  Here's an exmaple of some of the Costco wines I"ve sampled (and enjoyed) over the past few years:      a great Pinot from Central Otago, New Zealand that I loved (I'm a …
About the reviewer
J.R. Johnson ()
If you're looking for some more company related stuff about me... it's on my bio page here.      Also, here's a family surf video from our recent wedding. Family = good … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
jrjohnson
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this drink

Wiki

Wine distributed under Costco's Kirkland label.
view wiki

Details

Winemaker: Kirkland Signature
Region: Oregon, USA

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Northern California Wine is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists