Only WDWorld
A Community About The Walt Disney World Resort
Space Mountain

An attraction at the Magic Kindgom.

< read all 3 reviews

Magical Adventure in Outer Space

  • Mar 17, 2010
Rating:
+5


Space Mountain at the Magic Kingdom in Disney World (Orlando, Florida) is the best ride in the entire park (probably in any of the parks if I thought long and hard about comparing it to the other rides I loved). It's definitely the best ride in Disneyland as well in Los Angeles, California.

What makes this ride so amazing is that it convinced me to love roller coasters (and I am terrified of them! Heck, I cry every time I ride Splash Mountain--total wuss!). There is something about the combined elements of darkness, glow in the dark stars and planets, and high speeds that changes a ride from being a scary, "death defying thrill ride" into a magical adventure in outer space. I prefer magical rides over thrill rides.

There is absolutely nothing to not love about Space Mountain. The worst aspects of any ride at Disney World and Disney Land are the long lines, but this ride is worth any amount of wait. Plus, I like some of the items they have on display that sets the tone for the space adventure. With a little bit of imagination, you can really believe that you are an astronaunt about to see the glories of the universe up close and personal. If you want to ride Space Mountain but avoid the long lines, I suggest going to it close to closing, anywhere from one hour to thirty minutes. Since there are less people around, you will get to ride Space Mountain two or three times before you have to leave the park. This trick works for any of the rides even if it's a popular time of the year!

Another reason why I adore this ride is because it's something most of my friends and family can ride no matter the age. Some of the older members have complained about the quick jerks, but if you keep your head down and grip the safety bar, you're won't feel the turns as much. Me? I ride with my eyes wide open and hands in the air. I usually have a huge grin on my face throughout the entire experience. I'm really having that much fun, and I'm not afraid (which is the best part about this roller coaster).

Even though I didn't find the roller coaster scary, I don't recommend eating anything before riding it. Any ride or experience with quick movements and jerks could upset your stomach. So, why take an unnecessary risk? Play it safe rather than sorry. I'm sure your stomach will thank you as well as your senses, which will still be reeling from the enjoyment gained from this coaster.

I recommend this ride to anyone, even if you're not a fan of roller coasters. The first time I rode it, I was scared. I cried waiting in line, and I had my eyes closed during the actual ride. When it was over, I was surprised. My first response was: "That was it?" It's actually a disappointing ride if you keep your eyes closed, but if your stomach ties in a knot just thinking about a roller coaster, closing your eyes is probably the action you should take upon your first experience. Once you realize it's not all that bad, especially as far as roller coasters go, try riding it again--this time with your eyes wide open! You will have a whole new experience, like entering another galaxy. It's the combination of all the tiny details that make this ride so fantastic. You won't be disappointed.

Magical Adventure in Outer Space Magical Adventure in Outer Space

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
27
Thought-Provoking
27
Fun to Read
27
Well-Organized
27
Post a Comment
August 13, 2011
That Space Mountain ride looks very engaging.
August 15, 2011
Have you ever been on it? You must try it someday! It's so much fun!
August 15, 2011
I've been there but not recently.
August 16, 2011
Ah. Yeah, me too. We are thinking about a trip to LA's Disneyland because it is more affordable than Disney World. But who knows? Money is very tight atm because of our move.
August 16, 2011
Find out which time of the year is best to visit. Very often there are discounts and the long lines are much shorter.
September 14, 2011
Good idea. Then I only need to make the time for the visit. :)
December 24, 2012
I've been there but not on that particular ride.
 
August 13, 2010
Is Disney World's version better than Disneyland's? You allude to this, but I am curious how you could tell the difference, under so much sensory assault! I always wondered if the "same" rides are engineered the same way or not at each Disney franchised park.
August 13, 2010
It was better purely because of the looks to the ride, especially when waiting in line. The artwork looked better/different. As far as the actual ride, I'm not sure that part was any different. I got to ride it more times at Disney World because I went late enough that there wasn't a line. That was pretty nice!
 
April 19, 2010
It's one of the best rides for a long long time. You write beautifully about what there is to enjoy on this ride. I didn't give it much thought when I was taking it for the first time probably more than a decade ago. The last time I did go on it was about 3 years ago in Disney World. By then, I thought the Expedition Everest in Animal Kingdom is a better one, if you really are into rides. Although I've to qualify by saying I'll never go on it again! My heart almost stopped!
April 19, 2010
I rode the Expedition Everest. I don't recall if I liked it more or not. I do think it was scarier. I would have to relook over the photos of that ride. Thanks so much for reading my review, though! I love Walt Disney World and Disney Land. I really need to make another trip out to Disney World. Once was not enough!
April 19, 2010
It's definitely scarier! I wouldn't say I liked it more though. Just that for riders the thrilling factor is higher.
August 13, 2010
(laughs) Is that the one where you drop down backwards after going really high like to an end of a cliff? If so...then yes...I remember that one was scary! I only rode it one time! I'm a chicken I guess. :-P
 
March 18, 2010
I love your face in that photo, rofl!!!! You look like you're having a good time riding this ride, though. It has been many, many years since I've ridden on this ride. I last rode it back in the mid 90s or so when I was a tween or pre-teen. It was my favorite ride at the park from what I remember. Great review! :-)
March 18, 2010
LOL! I wondered if anyone would notice who that was sitting in the front. ;) I put the photo on myspace and facebook since I pulled it up for this review anyway. I believe this was the second time we rode it. The first time my arms were blocking Gil or Diane who were sitting behind us (my brother-in-law and big sis). Do you see the family resemblance? lol!

We soooo need to plan a trip to Disneyland, so you can revisit the rides. Disney World is MUCH better, but it's also more expensive getting there from Cali. I keep telling Jason to take me there again. We were there for four days, and it just wasn't enough time to see all the parks. We cut our time at Epcot especially short... *cries*

Thanks for reading my review and rating it!
 
1
More Space Mountain reviews
review by . March 17, 2010
posted in Only WDWorld
Disney World's First Mountain: Space Mountain        Disney World got its first mountain 35 years ago as Space Mountain opened to the public in the Magic Kingdom on January 15th, 1975.      Birth of Space Mountain Although it was not actually built until several years after his death, Walt Disney initiated the concept of having a roller coaster type attraction that operated in the dark.  He also had envisioned projecting images on the inside walls to …
Quick Tip by . March 24, 2010
A lot easier to stomach than Expedition Everest. I'm no fan of rollercoasters though, they made my head spins!
About the reviewer
Adrianna Simone ()
Ranked #9
MY GROUPS (AND COMMUNITY):      The following information was taken from the officialCafe Libri Website.   Cafe Libri (Yahoo Reading Discussion Group)is the original Cafe … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Adrianna
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this landmark

Wiki

Corporate Description: Blast off on a journey into outer space on this classic attraction. Board a sleek, rocket-shaped vehicle in the glow-in-the-dark Space Port and begin a steady climb up the 180-foot high mountain, passing the Mission Control booth and myriad pulsating lights along the way.Once at the top, feel the wind race across your face as you are propelled through the remote blackness of the dark universe—illuminated only by shooting stars, celestial satellites, spinning black holes and shimmering constellations—during a rip-roaring rocket ride through the farthest reaches of time and space.And because the majority of the attraction takes place in the dark, you just never know which way you are going to turn or drop!Space Mountain RocketsSpace Mountain at Magic Kingdom theme park features 2 rocket-shaped vehicles consisting of 3 seats per vehicle that blast off from 2 separate tracks. It is the only version of the attraction that contains 2 separate tracks.The left side track is called the Alpha; the right side track is called the Omega. Both tracks are nearly identical and mirror each other in twists and drops.The rockets that race through space achieve a maximum speed of 28 miles per hour—but feel much faster in the dark.Space Mountain Post-ShowAfter exiting your rocket-vehicle, you will board a moving runway to the Tomorrowland area, passing scenes of futuristic homes and businesses, as well as television monitors that broadcast your image live along the way. ...
view wiki

Details

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Only WDWorld is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists