Politics Your Way
A Place to Voice Your Political View

Decision Points

3 Ratings: 3.0
A memoir by George W. Bush

Decision Points is a memoir by former U.S. President George W. Bush. It was released on November 9, 2010, and the release is being accompanied by national television appearances and a national tour. The book surpassed sales of two million copies less … see full wiki

Genre: Memoir
Publisher: Crown Publishers, Inc.
Date Published: 2010
ISBN: 9780307590619
1 review about Decision Points

Great read about 43!

  • Jan 11, 2011
Rating:
+5
It's very rare that I come across a book that I don't want to put down. Maybe it's because I get bored or I'm really not interested. I had heard good things about George W. Bush's new book, Decision Points, so I thought I'd give it a try. From the first chapter I was hooked and couldn't stop reading it.

One of the best parts for me about the book is the way the it's set up. It's not a biography, but rather a memoir of certain decisions Bush had to make in his life from a young age until the day he left the Oval Office. For me there we many questions I had and things I had heard about these decisions he made such as the 2 wars and the economic crisis. Most of what you hear comes from the media who twists and changes things around. I wanted to know what was going through Bush's mind and this book gave me that.

I've always loved getting insight from powerful people. To look at Bush's background, life and what it took to make him the most powerful man in the free world was almost inspiring. It made me feel as if I could do it as well. The book also gave me a sense of what type of a person Bush is. This guy is hilarious! He cracks a ton of jokes during the book and tells some funny stories that happened to him while in the White House.

Overall I highly recommend this book for 2 reasons. 1, you get to hear why Bush made the choices he made from him and not from the media and 2, it gives you a great perspective on how genuine of man his really is.  All politics aside, he truly has a great story to tell.
Great read about 43! Great read about 43! Great read about 43! Great read about 43!

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
11
Thought-Provoking
13
Fun to Read
12
Well-Organized
12
Post a Comment
August 05, 2011
The road not taken was the one to avoid involvement in the Iraq and Afghan engagements. I didn't vote for President Bush out of fear of too much emphasis on the military and police. I would give the military much less discretion in actual governance- in line with what President Eisenhower warned.

"This conjunction of an immense military establishment and a large arms industry is new in the American experience. The total influence -- economic, political, even spiritual -- is felt in every city, every State house, every office of the Federal government. We recognize the imperative need for this development. Yet we must not fail to comprehend its grave implications. Our toil, resources and livelihood are all involved; so is the very structure of our society. In the councils of government, we must guard against the acquisition of unwarranted influence, whether sought or unsought, by the military industrial complex. The potential for the disastrous rise of misplaced power exists and will persist. We must never let the weight of this combination endanger our liberties or democratic processes. We should take nothing for granted. Only an alert and knowledgeable citizenry can compel the proper meshing of the huge industrial and military machinery of defense with our peaceful methods and goals, so that security and liberty may prosper together. Akin to, and largely responsible for the sweeping changes in our industrial-military posture, has been the technological revolution during recent decades. That having been said, time will tell whether or not these excursions will have made any difference in the ultimate course of world history. "

http://coursesa.matrix.msu.edu/~hst306/documents/indust.html

The American people simply must move forward on every front. To do so, we need to keep military spending within 3 to 3 1/2% of the equivalent GDP- much in line with the second term of President Clinton. History will decide the ultimate wisdom or folly of the previous Administration. If Iraq becomes a permanent ally, some of the involvement will have been worth the price. Afghanistan is another matter. Alexander the Great did not prevail there in the scheme of things. The Soviets had to withdraw , as well as the Americans at some point in time.
 
January 19, 2011
I'm planning to ask my cousin if I can borrow this book after he's done reading it. I've been hearing mixed reviews about it, and now I'm curious to see if I will enjoy it too. Great review, Ryan!
 
January 18, 2011
Wow! Nice Review. I kind of hesitated on this one (I have been actually taking a sabbatical from reading) but perhaps now I will consider reading this.
January 18, 2011
A sabbatical from reading huh? I tried to do that in college but it didn't work out too well ;) Ya but I would recommend this book to you Paul. I think you'd enjoy it. It's a quick and easy read.
January 18, 2011
Ryan... I have been reading a non-fiction book per week for around 10 years now. My brain was about to explode so I decided that the best course of action was just to take a break.
 
January 18, 2011
I keep hearing what a great book this is and this review, especially coming from you, cements that in my mind. I'll have to check it out. Thanks for sharing!
January 18, 2011
HAHA awesome. Ya it was pretty good and an easy read.
 
1
What's your opinion on Decision Points?
rate
3 Ratings: +3.0
You have exceeded the maximum length.
Photos
Decision Points
First to Review

"Great read about 43!"
Source: Decision Points on Lunch.com
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Politics Your Way is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists