Politics Your Way
A Place to Voice Your Political View

2011 Tucson Shooting

9 Ratings: -5.0
A shooting that occured on Saturday, January 8, 2011, in Tucson, Arizona.

The 2011 Tucson shooting occurred on Saturday, January 8, 2011 at 10 a.m. MST, when 18 people were shot in a Safeway grocery store parking lot in Casas Adobes, Arizona, near Tucson. There is confusion about the number of dead, but figures from four to … see full wiki

1 review about 2011 Tucson Shooting

Another Failing of Our Society to Prevent a Tragedy

  • Jan 11, 2011
Rating:
-5
I have been watching the coverage of this story for the last few days and ask myself, why did this happen? Unlike some other events of this nature, we have a gunman that nobody who knew him was surprised about. He was kicked out of College and everyone at the school was so scared that he would come back with a gun that they had police protection for a while.

This gunman was also posting a lot of hateful things on the Internet. Why wasn't he investigated? How did he then walk into a gun store and purchase a weapon without being red-flagged? We seem to live in a society today where it seems like an event like this happens every month. I can't point to the cause. The press has decided to make a political issue about it. Just because a politician was involved I don't think it had anything to do with politics in general.

Nobody really knows what will set off a crazy person. Mark David Chapman was supposedly "inspired" by Catcher in the Rye and David Berkowitz by a "talking" dog. One can only wonder what led a crazy to senselessly gun down a school house of Amish children.

Authorities must be more proactive with dealing with those who show obvious signs of mental illness and ensure that these people receive proper medical attention and are prevented from obtaining firearms. My thoughts and prayers go out to the victims of this tragedy and hopefully, with some lessons learned we will be able to prevent a future event of this type.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
12
Thought-Provoking
14
Fun to Read
9
Well-Organized
14
Post a Comment
January 13, 2011
I have hesitated to weigh in on this topic publically. However, I suppose now is as good a time as any. Remember Columbine? Remember the "Trench Coat Mafia?" How about bullying? Violent video games? If you take the time to read the book, Columbine, you will discover that all of those were lies/half-truths in an effort to find easy answers. Sociopathic/psychopathic teenagers is not an answer anyone wants to hear, especially the parents. I see the exact same thing happening here. The easy answers are everywhere. Until the news wagons pick up and leave to head out to the Next Big Story. I hate to say it, there are no easy answers coming out of this tragedy. Oh, you can point to "guns,"mental health," "civil discourse," whatever. Our attention span is so short, we'll accept those, but not wait around long enough to discover the real issues. Nothing will actually change, no one will stay with this long enough to educate us or provide answers to the tough questions. Because that takes hard work and dedication. It takes an attention span longer than a sound bite. Yes, I am rather cynical. However, I think that we all have seen this before: Columbine, Virginia Tech, Fort Hood. I believe we are still waiting for the real "why?" answers to the last two. But we've moved on to Arizona. Probably another example of easy answers, a lot of rash judgements, a bunch of political/social/legal sound bites, and no real closure.
January 13, 2011
Wow, good comments. I tried an offhand quick tip but that didn't really solve it for me either. All those tragedies you mention all had similarities in that they were all hooked on some kind of psychiatric drug or were in some strange 'anger management' program. I would be interested to see if Jared were recieving some type of psych drug or treatment. Did you hear the President's talk? That really helped.
January 13, 2011
GEI - You make a lot of great points. Maybe you can put them into a review of the topic.
January 14, 2011
MIchaelN: I appreciate your comment, however I don't really want to bust it out into a review. Keeping it connected to your review, under the radar as it were, is enough for me. :-) Like I said, I'd been thinking of writing something up, and it took some "effort" on my part to actually hit the button to post it. But, thank you for your kind words.
 
January 12, 2011
Agreed that other than a politician being involved, this has less to do with politics and more with a mentally unwell person going on a shooting rampage. Such a tragedy and I agree that lesson could be learnt from this.
 
January 11, 2011
Yes, it is a shame that the government spends so many resources tracking down and taking action against people who practice free speech and disagree with the direction and actions of the government (without any indication of physical harm), but ignore cases like this where the deaths could very well been prevented. If anything, at least his state and immediate community that saw it coming should have done something. Scary thing is, there are many people like him today - at the verge and filled with hate, whether justified or not. 
 
January 11, 2011
These are all good questions. Good comments, I agree.
 
1
What's your opinion on 2011 Tucson Shooting?
rate
9 Ratings: -5.0
You have exceeded the maximum length.
Photos
2011 Tucson Shooting
Details
Source: 2011 Tucson Shooting on Lunch.com
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Politics Your Way is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists