Politics Your Way
A Place to Voice Your Political View
2011 Egyptian Protests

A a series of street demonstrations, protests, and civil disobedience acts that have been taking place in Egypt since January 2011.

< read all 3 reviews

A Quick Tip by devora

  • Feb 4, 2011
  • by
People being needlessly dragged, killed and trampled over? Relics being destroyed? Property being looted and set on fire? There's got to be a more peaceful way to be heard and I really hope this gets resolved soon. The videos and news stories just break my heart.
Share  
(0)
(0)
(0)
(0)
Was this helpful?
6
Post a Comment
February 15, 2011
I think that despotic regimes need to be overthrown, but like you I'm seeing more chaos and pointless destruction here than actual progress and reconstruction of the government. It's a shame that things were allowed to get so bad that the Egyptian people have had to resort to such extreme actions.
February 15, 2011
Amen, I wish Egypt well.
February 15, 2011
I just hope that they can get organized and put an end to the violence and destruction soon.
 
February 04, 2011
sad day indeed for the citizens of this country...
 
1
More 2011 Egyptian Protests reviews
Quick Tip by . January 30, 2011
posted in Travel à la carte
Caption
It's total chaos in Egypt now! 1000 inmates escaped & citizens are beginning to arm themselves! It's certainly not a safe place to travel to now! Security is almost none since polices are no longer on the streets. Scary place! Stay clear!!!      Banks and stock markets are closed too. If you're stuck in Egypt, go immediately to your consulate or embassy! Yes, it is also prudent to find out where your country's embassy is before you leave for your trip!!!
About the reviewer
devora ()
Ranked #7
When I'm not Lunching, I'm a jeweler, and an all around, self-proclaimed web geek. My passions include social media, the interweb, technology, writing, yoga, fitness, photography, jewelry, fashion, … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
devora
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this topic

Wiki

The 2011 Egyptian protests are a series of street demonstrations, protests, and civil disobedience acts that have been taking place in Egypt since 25 January 2011. The demonstrations and riots began in the weeks after the successful Tunisian uprising, with Egyptian protest organisers hoping that events in Tunisia would inspire crowds to mobilise. Specific grievances have centered around legal and political as well as economic issues: police brutality, state of emergency laws, lack of free elections, corruption, restrictions on freedom of speech, high unemployment, low minimum wages, insufficient housing, food price inflation, and poor living conditions. Mohamed ElBaradei, seen as the most likely candidate for an interim presidency, called for the ousting of President Hosni Mubarak as a possible objective.

While localised protests had been commonplace in previous years, major protests and riots broke out all over the country starting on 25 January, known as the "Day of Anger", a date selected by Egyptian opposition groups and others for a major demonstration. The 2011 protests have been called "unprecedented" for Egypt, and "the largest display of popular dissatisfaction in recent memory". These have been the largest demonstrations seen in Egypt since the 1977 Egyptian Bread Riots. And for the first time, Egyptians from different socio-economic backgrounds and faiths have joined in protest together.

The capitol city of Cairo has been described ...
view wiki

Tags

Details

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Politics Your Way is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists