Politics Your Way
A Place to Voice Your Political View
Occupy Wall Street

An ongoing series of demonstrations in New York City.

< read all 4 reviews

The Return of The Order of The Phoenix

  • Oct 16, 2011
Rating:
+3
Trust is what built relationships and relationship is what established corporations. When trust is being manipulated or misplaced by one party of the equation, the whole foundation collapses. That's what the global banking system and governments are "enforcing" on the majority of the world population now. Herein lies the uprising of the worldwide Occupy Wall Street movement.

 
I was there as an observer (albeit bystander) on Saturday, October 15. In the Chinese saying, the bystander sees clearly (旁观者清). When one is able to remove one's interest (in more way than one) from the equation, one sees enlightenment and solutions.
 
To change a "corrupted" out of equilibrium world, there are 2 major considerations and components:
1) Affect - Who?
2) Effect - What?
 
How to bring about the desired outcome without toppling the entire human population and how to generate the sum greater than the whole of all its individual parts?

Most want a banking system to do what it was intended to do. The spirit of banking was good. What had changed over the last 2 decades or so (especially the last one) is the workings and reinforcement of the system. Financial engineering (mastering, according to the insiders) and leveraging by a few selected priveleged individuals have brought PAIN to the society at large, savers and investors alike.
 
The governments have "consequently" been pulled into the "Ponzi" scheme involuntarily (in some cases, claiming ignorance does not and should not leave them unpunished)! By hook or by crook, they are still in charge and to a larger extent, in daze. Trick or treat? You decide!
 
In the grand scheme of things, collective enlightenment only comes when the majority wakes up from this slumber. And, I'm glad to see some have! Not nearly enough though but is still comforting to see I'm not the only one in the world!

 
No, we do not want the banking system to fail. We want a new order, the Order of the Phoenix! Proctect HP (Harry Potter, Human Population at large) and eliminate the wicked Voldemort! There are clearly parasites in the tree of life and if they are not totally removed, it will destroy the entire eco system. Death will be imminent. 
 
That my friend is my take on Occupy Wall Street 101. What is yours?!

Related Articles:
Original Sin
The World is GREEDY!
Banking 101 - Systematic Failure
The financial coup d'etat


(A Lunch Featured Review)
 
The Return of The Order of The Phoenix The Return of The Order of The Phoenix The Return of The Order of The Phoenix The Return of The Order of The Phoenix The Return of The Order of The Phoenix The Return of The Order of The Phoenix The Return of The Order of The Phoenix

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
15
Thought-Provoking
15
Fun to Read
15
Well-Organized
15
Post a Comment
January 03, 2012
I am all for those who do this because they really believe in it, but there were complete ***** that used this for nothing but themselves [much like the people they were protesting did].
 
October 19, 2011
Nice review, Sharrie and I love the pics as well! I agree with the general movement but, I'd be willing to bet all my money in the bank that those protesters have not moved their money from the big banks to their local banks or credit unions. So, that gives me some pause as to people's motivation and dedication to the cause. There are fundraisers throughout the country and my question is where does that money go? I've been asked to DJ for one in SF and I'm making them give me the details on where the money will go before I agree to it. In any case, I always think it's good to shake the government up and keep them on their toes. I hope it gets the attention of the banks but, I doubt that unless the protesters move their monies to local banks or credit unions, anything will be accomplished.
 
October 19, 2011
In the 1960s, chief executives, their staffs and senior people in companies earned about 40 times what an entry level worker earned. Today, that ratio has changed from 40:1 to 400:1 and growing. This discrepancy is what we need to address. The Ben and Jerry's Ice Cream has addressed the problem by paying its senior executives a more modest salary. We need to emulate this example in much larger institutions. Derivatives require a minimum margin, as the Securities and Exchange Commission did with stocks after it was created in 1933 or thereabouts. In addition, we need to codify Derivatives in the Uniform Commercial Code just the way we regulate checks and drafts in Article 9 of the UCC. These are just some of the things we have to do to create more equity in the compensation systems.
 
October 18, 2011
Great review, Sharrie, and I like how you tied in Harry Potter into this, too! For the most part, I agree with the spirit of the movement. I just don't agree with some of those who are piggybacking onto this, specifically those who are broke because it's their own fault and not because of the government or Wall Street.
 
October 16, 2011
"Harry Potter" in a write up about wallstreet? LOL!! I always walk past the group since they were camped outside the Federal Reserve. One thing I have to say....while I like what folks need to say, seems like most may have the right idea in mind (though I think they'd do the same thing when in the same situation) and yet, they offer no clear solution and whatever change they may think they want, they don't realize that it would mean a major change in lifestyle....just a thought.
October 16, 2011
Drastic times calls for drastic measures! The world of Finance is akin to the Hogwarts School of Witchcraft & Wizardry.What's Lord Voldemort's aim? Destruction & subjugating non-magical people! The world need a Harry Potter!!! :)

No, it's not a case of no clear solution but rather those in power, be it Politics & Finance do not want to really have a world where everyone is earning some US$100-500 millions of bonuses per year (regardless whether the corporation itself is making money! Think AIG ;-)). 

Just a simple question to you, if your boss is earning US$10 million a year for bonuses, how do you feel working under him? Considering you're paid what you're paid right now. Unless, if you're telling me you're getting at least US$1 million for bonus, then I'd reckon you wouldn't support this movement at all!

The fact is, compared to majority of the people in the world, a tiny few oligopolies are in power where income discrepancies are concerned. They are in charge. That is a fact. How many in our world are earning less than US$100 a month? You tell me...

US$100 a month vs US$100 million a year as bonuses? It's no wonder we are where we are!
October 16, 2011
Incidentally, there is a lot more parallels in the world of wizardry and the world of finance! The progression? If you are familiar with Harry Potter's story, it's not too far away from the new order ;p The battleground has been set!
October 16, 2011
Don't get me wrong....I agree with what you're saying. But what needs to be changed here needs changes in other things. I know full well that we are not paid fairly and how some are more fortunate than others. But things could be worst....we need a change in not jut system but behavior. Hey, you may not be able to travel as much and I may not be able to buy what I want without capitalism. ;)

But again, the change needs to be universal.
October 17, 2011
This is NOT an argument about NO capitalism nor NO corporations at all. I'd like to think it as a GREAT AWAKENING about a few selective and distinctive individuals at the top of corporations' ladder making manipulative or "legalised" decisions benefitting themselves mostly (and in some cases, their governments) and go scot-free after the entire episode dragged down the whole world due to their follies and greed!

How did they do it? Well, by creating cross holdings &/or leveraged financial instruments and selling the ideas to their investors and the population at large. Greed (in some form) is prevalent for capitalism to work. That is something of a human nature. No one is arguing against that. Excessive greed at the cost of entire society and the world at large is NOT the way to innovations nor prosperity!

No, I won't be so naive to think this can be solved in a blink or anyone can suggest solutions. Still, regulations have to be better and in the American cases more to make sure individuals will not have another go at what brought about 2008! Instead, we haven't really see anyone go unpunished or face legal actions. Top investment bankers haven't faced the music for what they did. What had the government bodies done really? Print more money?

Before you can find solutions, at the least you need to correct some past mistakes and make individuals responsible for those earlier follies! But if presidential elections were &/or are financed mostly by these individuals? I'd say their hands are tight! Again, I'm not arguing for no financing. Societies need the banking system to operate commercial transactions. However, when a country's (some in this world are) major revenue is from the investment sector, something is totally wrong. Arguments for "money makes more money" may seem logical to some, (it was to me at one time), but when you've a huge chunk of wealth (belonging to just a tiny fraction of world's population) believes in the notion of simply doing that and nothing else (ie. no need to set up factories or businesses, since they are too complicated and not necessarily more lucrative), then the society will peril at large. 

If you asked me, the financial sector (in advanced countries) got too big for its own good. It also became too self-serving. The popular argument is too big to fail. So governments and tax payers have to bail out. Perhaps. But, what happened to those individuals who collected bonuses at a time when their very own organizations were losing big money? All they have to do is resigned and retire in Bermuda or Virgin Islands? Boo! That's total BS!
October 17, 2011
Sharrie, I agree with you. Unfortunately, things are not the way we want them to be. I am looking at it from an angle that....well, everything is a double-edged sword. I don't like the banking system, and yet I need to keep my money in a bank. Yes, executives and those in control need to be more careful and have strong moral fiber. It is the price of democracy and of freedom. Yep, I don't have to like it, but freedom is freedom even when greed is seemingly free....I do wish they had more laws to control greed...There are also many things involved which is why the economy is so down... Hey the CEO of our company received $ 35 million before he left...we were pissed.
October 17, 2011
For your info, YOUR money & everyone's are NOT in the bank! If you haven't realized that, then I'm sorry ;-) You did read Banking 101 article, reread that one and also make sure you watch the videos!

Incidentally, freedom at the expense of others (and the world at large) is NOT freedom. It is more appropriately termed EXPLOITATION!
October 17, 2011
That's the same thing my cousin said. Where do you put your money then? Guess what, try having half or even just 1/4 of the savers withdrawing their funds from the bank and see what happens! I reckon the government and bankers will be more willing to listen to protests when they do that, rather than go onto the streets! Then again, may be those who go out to the streets no longer have any $$$ in the banks! ;-) In the US case, Feds could just print more money too! So, go invest in the paper industry, LOL!
October 17, 2011
Unfortunately, I believe the savings at the bank are only in digitized form. Majority of it are already invested in real estates and gold and other luxury items (like a private jet, cruise liner, jewelries and even guns!) by the ultra rich! It's time to wake up to Banking 101, if most haven't!
October 17, 2011
Oh, I know. some relatives keep their money under a mattress....nope I am not going there.
October 17, 2011
Gold bars, my dear, gold bars! And if you've lots of them, guns too! LOL
October 17, 2011
oh yeah, I heard about that. Maybe I should look into that...I do have a lot of guns to prepare for a zombie apocalypse
October 17, 2011
May be canned food is more effective, LOL!
 
1
More Occupy Wall Street reviews
review by . November 08, 2011
Dealing Forthrightly With Inequities
The Occupation of Wall Street, Zuccotti Park and burgeoning movements across the USA and abroad have a singular aim, which is to achieve a more equitable distribution of wealth to the lower and middle classes. More than a half million dollars in cash, clothing, food and other donations have come to the protesters in Lower Manhattan. Even some elected officials have come to the aid of the protesters. Sub-groups of protesters have emerged all over the United States.      When the …
Quick Tip by . October 11, 2011
Though categorically inferior in scope and perspicuity of expression to its Spanish predecessor, these protests (organized by a farrago of movements and groups in common intention) nonetheless indicate a healthy and widespread critique for rightly reviled transnational corporations, financial institutions and the Keynesian proto-fascism that they've fostered: as much a bane to social justice as to any healthy incarnation of market economics. Too little focus has been directed to the egregious …
About the reviewer
Sharrie ()
I'm a traveler at heart & have been nicknamed Travel Queen by friends & colleagues alike. Traveling has been my life passion for the last decade or so. As we enter a new decade, I'm excited … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Sharrie
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this topic

Wiki

Occupy Wall Street is an ongoing series of demonstrations in New York City based in Zuccotti Park, formerly "Liberty Plaza Park". The protest was originally called for by the Canadian activist group Adbusters; it took inspiration from the Arab Spring movement (particularly the Tahrir Square protests in Cairo, which initiated the 2011 Egyptian Revolution) and from the Spanish Indignants.

The participants of the event are mainly protesting against social and economic inequality, corporate greed, and the influence of corporate money and lobbyists on government, among other concerns. Adbusters states that, "Beginning from one simple demand – a presidential commission to separate money from politics – we start setting the agenda for a new America." The protest's organizers hope that the protesters themselves will formulate their own specific demands, expecting them to be focused on "taking to task the people who perpetrated the economic meltdown."

By October 6, similar demonstrations had been held in Washington, Los Angeles, Boston, Chicago, Philadelphia, Miami, Portland, Maine, Jersey City, Trenton, Portland, Oregon, Seattle, and Denver.
view wiki

Details

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Politics Your Way is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists