Politics Your Way
A Place to Voice Your Political View
Tea Party

A populist United States protest movement that promotes fiscal conservatism.

< read all 6 reviews

Power of the Tea Party

  • Sep 16, 2010
Rating:
+5
I am a fiscal conservative but have not attended any Tea Party events.  However, as an observer of politics I am very interested in how this burgeoning Tea Party has the potential to change the current political landscape in Washington.  Now that the primary elections are over, I think it is important to understand the power that the Tea Party candidates will have when some of them win senate seats in November.

First,it is important to note that  a political "seismic" event took place on September 14, 2010, as Tea Party candidate Christine O'Donnell beat Rep. Mike Castle for the Republican senate nomination in Delaware.  Whether or not she is elected to the office, she stands as the prime example of how 8 Tea Party candidates have won seats in races where the Republican party establishment was backing another candidate.  This is huge!  It means there are very passionate voters in America that are not willing to accept the status quo and are actively seeking to change politics in Washington.

Second, this trend also shows that the Tea Party candidates are getting people out to vote for the first time!!!  It is this fact that made it so hard for pollsters to predict these elections.  These new voters are coming out because they finally have someone to vote for  that represents their political views.  This will make it increasingly difficult in November for pollsters to predict the elections and points to the possibility of an even larger change in seats for both houses.

Finally, the power of the Tea Party candidates that win seats especially in the senate will be huge!!!  Even if the GOP does not take a majority in the senate, an election of 5 or 6 Tea Party senators will mean that there could be a 54-46 split.  More importantly, the Tea Party Senators will erase the ability of the 2 moderate GOP senators like Olympia Snowe and Susan Collins from throwing support to a democratic bill for passage. 

This is the real power of the Tea Party, the entire Senate will be shifted to the right!!!  Hopefully, this means that our politicians will finally rein in government spending and work to decrease the deficit!

Tell me what you think of my analysis.
Power of the Tea Party Power of the Tea Party

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
29
Thought-Provoking
29
Fun to Read
29
Well-Organized
30
Post a Comment
September 22, 2010
Michael, thank you for the compliment. I am not a big social conservative either, but I also know that in politics you never get everything you want. I admire the Tea Party for its unwavering fight on reducing the deficit.
 
September 22, 2010
I agree with your assessment on the Tea Party's view on spending and I support their position. However, I find many of their stances on social issues to be quite disturbing and sometimes scary.
 
September 20, 2010
O'Donnell's race is going to be very interesting. Castle would've been a shoo-in for the office, but O'Donnell's victory makes things much more competitive for the Democrats. I think efforts to portray O'Donnell as "extreme" are, well, extreme. Her opponent once described himself as "the bearded Marxist." But we'll see. Whether or not O'Donnell wins on November 2, I agree that the Tea Parties are shifting the GOP to the right, at least on fiscal issues.
September 20, 2010
George, thank you for the compliment. I agree, we are destined to live in "interesting" times!
 
September 17, 2010
And I have never seen a closed tea party meeting. in my area people I have seen Democrats speak I've seen tea party groups hold civic events. People on the left are totally misreading this movement
 
September 17, 2010
Pretty true, I've interviewed tea party candidates from all over the country on camera and the most amazing thing is how normal people are
 
September 16, 2010
This review is it in a nutshell - November will find all the MSM pundits trying to grasp the significance and understand the volcanic level of anger that upended all of their conventional wisdoms. At this point there's no way to know whether the results in Delaware mean that the best candidate is representing the TOP... err... GOP but the scale of Tea Party victories indicate that they can't all be maniacs and fringe actors. This election will be purely about triage and stopping the bleeding. Then we'll decide whether we hired the right doctor.
September 16, 2010
Thank you for the compliment. You are right, after the election lets see if we have the right cure for our contry's ills.
 
September 16, 2010
Right on ! Right on! Although I am not a member of the Tea Party I have attended a few of their events here in Rhode Island. Mostly small business owners and working stiffs who play by the rules, pay taxes, and aren't looking for anything. These people are engaged and realize that anyone who is not a government employee, client of the government or member of a favored union (SEIU) will be a big loser under the Obama regime. I cannot wait for Election Night to throw a lot of the bums FROM BOTH PARTIES out on their ears. you summed up the situation perfectly.
 
September 16, 2010
As I noted at the new Christine O'Donnell entry, I'm skeptical if intrigued. I feared two years ago--and as the New Yorker exposed this month about the Koch brothers--that TP'ers are being manipulated by Big Business. TP disgust with Big Govt does not seem to extend to the corporations who fund candidates and lobby against genuinely populist reforms. StrandedWind's Quick Tip demonstrates a Comedy Central facile punchline (rather than analysis) peddled by mainstream media which demeans, with an ironically homophobic "tea-baggers" taunt, the protests of genuinely fed-up everyday folks. However, the GOP's co-opting what should be a less-partisan, truly "grassroots" movement. What candidates will stand up for everyday people, not be bought out by Big Business? I doubt if O'Donnell from famously bank-loving Delaware will have the guts to do so.

P.S. "Covert Operations" on the Koch Bros: http://www.newyorker.com/reporting/2010/08/30/100830fa_fact_mayer
September 16, 2010
Thank you for the compliment. One of the true tests of this movement will be what they do in 2012. I for one will be an interested observer.
 
September 16, 2010
Nice review! I'm a fiscal conservative myself and I'd have to agree with you that this is huge. Honestly, I hope it sticks around as long as it doesn't start splitting the conservative group in two. The Tea Party and the GOP need to work together on this one, which seems to be working with the GOP back the Tea Party Candidates, otherwise there may be issues. I'm really interested to see how this all plays out!
September 16, 2010
Ryan, thank you for the compliment. I agree with you, the GOP leadership better understand real fast that these newly energized voters are results oriented and can't be politically bought off with half measures. We need to get our financial house in order!
 
1
More Tea Party reviews
review by . April 15, 2010
The Truth About The Tea Party Movement
I am not a member of the Tea Party Movement, but have debated reaching out to them.  When the movement was in its infancy last year, I stumbled upon a rally.  I was returning to work from my lunch break and observed a large group of people gathered nearby.  There were probably around 500 people, which is a large crowd for the average-sized town where I work.  I wandered in for a look and remained for about fifteen minutes before I needed to get back to work.      …
Quick Tip by . September 02, 2010
posted in Politics Your Way
It's the Birchers reborn; hatefilled violent crackpots. The phrase Dolt Revolt has been applied to describe them and it's quite apt.
Quick Tip by . September 22, 2010
posted in Politics Your Way
While I agree with the Tea Party's views on reducing government spending and fiscal responsibility, I find very disturbing most of their views on social issues and that is what turns me off to them. There are also so many different groups calling themselves Tea Partyers that it is hard to distinguish them and their views.
review by . August 08, 2010
If Obama wasn't president this
The Tea Party movement is a reactionary group of angry right wing conservatives who have vented their frustration of President Obama's plans for sweeping social programs and changing in the policies that were implemented during the eight years of George Bush Jr.  May I ask where were these people when we spent billions upon billions of tax payers dollars fighting two wars in the Middle East?  We spend so much money on nation building that when we try to fix our own social programs, …
Quick Tip by . August 09, 2010
Racism! Ignorance! A negotiable relationship to facts! No thank you. ... Well, at least they're bringing back the tricorn hat.
About the reviewer
Michael Neulander ()
Ranked #2
Recently graduated with a Masters in Humanities degree from Old Dominion University reading in philosophy and history. I graduated from the Univ. of Miami in 1980 with a B.A. in Political Science; specializing … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
MNeulander
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this topic

Wiki

The Tea Party movement is a populist United States protest movement that promotes fiscal conservatism. The movement emerged in 2009 through an ongoing series of Tea Party protests. These are partially in response to the 2009 stimulus package as well as the 2008 bailouts. In 2010 The Economist described the movement as "America's most vibrant political force."

Protesters have utilized the social networking outlets Facebook, Twitter and MySpace as well as blogs and conservative media outlets in promoting Tea Party events.

The name "Tea Party" is a reference to the historic Boston Tea Party of 1773, a protest by American colonists against taxation by the British government when the colonists had no representation in the British Parliament that pre-dated but laid the ground for the American Revolutionary War. Tea Party protests have sought to evoke similar images, slogans and themes to this iconic period in American history. It may also refer to the often-used acronym TEA Party, a play on a party slogan: "Taxed Enough Already."
view wiki

Details

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Politics Your Way is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists