Politics Your Way
A Place to Voice Your Political View
Obama's 2010 State of the Union Address

An address that was presented by President Obama on January 27, 2010, to a joint session of Congress.

< read all 5 reviews

Tony Blair Mark 2

  • Jan 29, 2010
  • by
Rating:
-3
Interestingly enough, this same scenario unfolded in the UK in the early 1990s - the incumbent conservatives, which had become stale and unpopular were ousted by a young, charismatic liberal with ideas to change the fabric of society. If I were a cynical man, I might even think the Democrats' play book was lifted directly from Tony Blair's highly-orchestrated designs with 'New Labor". It too trundled along for a couple of terms before the public then realized that the only changes were higher taxes and and the massive growth of the Nanny state.

It's sad to see Obama going the same way, endlessly reading teleprompted scripts that appeal to popularism but go no way to fixing the deep problems we have here. I realize you can't turn the ship around fully in the first year but actually there has been no attempt to deliver on any campaign promises. In fact, if you didn't know there had been an election, you'd presume it was just a continuation of Bush. Specifically:
  • We're not just still in Iraq, we're now in an unwinnable Afghanistan. No wonder the rest of NATO is happy to leave us alone there. Both the Brits and Soviets had their asses kicked in the same place in a different time, previously with significantly larger forces. But I suppose we're just feeding the mighty military industrial complex so that's ok.
  • Obama's lack of backbone on healthcare will ultimately lead to the delivery of nothing. This is probably no shock given that the Dems are the major recipients of lobbying cash from health insurers who stand to make a killing. It's inconceivable that a President elected on such a popular platform managed to mess this up so badly through political naivity, lack of any clear agenda and arguably a lack of understanding of the issue. It's staggering really, and will have very profound negative consequences for large portions of the population.
  • The continuing shoehorning of cash into Wall Street and fake posturing about reform is just sickening. There has been no reform but there has been trillions of dollars of lending to investment banks at 0% so they could buy T-bills at 5% and make a risk-free spread. Naturally, the fact that key roles in the government are all ex-Goldman should be a clue to what's really going on.
In the meantime, the jobs situation is out of control as is government spending. Medicare goes broke in about 5 years, spiraling to over 100% of GDP. As we hit a double-dip this year, the government won't have any more spending options since it's burned through all the cash it can conceivably create. The economics 101 outlook of high inflation and lost decades is a perfect mirror of what happened in Japan, and the actions taken in 2009 fundamentally commit the country to a dreadful series of years to come.

As for Obama, yeah it was nice to see someone eloquent finally in office. But the crises we face needed someone with character, an agenda and a desire to help "we the people" rather than bankers. I have friends in investment banks who are just making more money than ever at the moment, and I have friends who own small and medium-sized businesses who are going bankrupt. The disconnect between corporate socialism and capitalist democracy has never been greater.

Does Obama say the right things? Sure. Does he deliver on them? Absolutely not. And for all the folk who are still blaming the Republicans, there will come a point where this excuse will get paper thin. A Filibuster-proof majority and massive public support for changes at all levels have been wasted by this President, who is happier parading in front of TV than doing his job of driving the ship. Unfortunately, it goes beyond mere politics - it's leading us down a path of economic meltdown.

For the speech, my favorite quote was: ""And that's why we've excluded lobbyists from policy-making jobs or seats on federal boards and commissions." So presumably, that explains why we have:

* Eric Holder, attorney general nominee, was registered to lobby until 2004 on behalf of clients including Global Crossing, a bankrupt telecommunications firm [now confirmed].

* Tom Vilsack, secretary of agriculture nominee, was registered to lobby as recently as last year on behalf of the National Education Association.

* William Lynn, deputy defense secretary nominee, was registered to lobby as recently as last year for defense contractor Raytheon, where he was a top executive.

* William Corr, deputy health and human services secretary nominee, was registered to lobby until last year for the Campaign for Tobacco-Free Kids, a non-profit that pushes to limit tobacco use.

* David Hayes, deputy interior secretary nominee, was registered to lobby until 2006 for clients, including the regional utility San Diego Gas & Electric.

* Mark Patterson, chief of staff to Treasury Secretary Timothy Geithner, was registered to lobby as recently as last year for financial giant Goldman Sachs.

* Ron Klain, chief of staff to Vice President Joe Biden, was registered to lobby until 2005 for clients, including the Coalition for Asbestos Resolution, U.S. Airways, Airborne Express and drug-maker ImClone.

* Mona Sutphen, deputy White House chief of staff, was registered to lobby for clients, including Angliss International in 2003.

* Melody Barnes, domestic policy council director, lobbied in 2003 and 2004 for liberal advocacy groups, including the American Civil Liberties Union, the Leadership Conference on Civil Rights, the American Constitution Society and the Center for Reproductive Rights.

* Cecilia Munoz, White House director of intergovernmental affairs, was a lobbyist as recently as last year for the National Council of La Raza, a Hispanic advocacy group.

* Patrick Gaspard, White House political affairs director, was a lobbyist for the Service Employees International Union.

* Michael Strautmanis, chief of staff to the president's assistant for intergovernmental relations, lobbied for the American Association of Justice from 2001 until 2005.


I say Mitt Romney for 2012! (VP job doesn't matter since they're always crazy...)
Tony Blair Mark 2

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
5
Thought-Provoking
6
Fun to Read
3
Well-Organized
3
Post a Comment
January 30, 2010
Could it be that there has been no change and it still seems like the Bush years because the Republicans have been very successful in blocking everything he has attempted to do? There is a Democratic majority but some of those "Democrats" are people like Leiberman who might just as well be a Republican and has acted as one.
January 31, 2010
There's a lot of truth in this. I can only say I'm seriously disappointed that issues like healthcare have fallen foul of the Washington-Kafka bureaucracy. I have lost a lot of respect for many of our Representatives who have effectively derailed many good ideas. Still, I'd like to see the Prez get more aggressive with these guys!
January 31, 2010
I think almost all of the public would like to see the legislature stop playing their silly games with our lives. They've doing it for way to long now. And this new absurdity of giving corporations the same rights as individuals when it somes to donating to political candidates is beyond being absurd.
January 31, 2010
Absolutely - you know, we should do a Lunch.com review of the corporations judgment simply because it defies belief.
January 31, 2010
sOME ONE DEFINITELY SHOULD. tHE IDEA THAT POWERFUL CORPORATIONS THAT ALREADY HAVE LOBBYISTS WORKING ON THEIR BEHALF NOW ALSO HAVE THE SAME RIGHTS AS INDIVIDUALS ! It sounds like a bad comedy sketch. What? It wasn't enough that they could do it UNDER the table?
February 01, 2010
Ok I wrote one to kick off the subject!...
 
1
More Obama's 2010 State of the Unio... reviews
review by . January 28, 2010
President Obama: Leader With A Moral Compass
I personally don't believe there's such a thing as 'clean coal'. Nor do I believe there is such a thing as 'safe nuclear energy'.      Nevertheless, I want to know how we would recognize in real-time a President who would become beloved of the People; a President who would go down in history as a 'Great Man'.       One man; Commander in Chief, and public servant to 300 million people who together, make up what we call the United States …
review by . January 28, 2010
I see what he is saying but I am hundreds of miles from home because his philosophy of gov't tanked my job at home.    Helping small business is great, I ran one for 10 years but without manufacturing or something to market we might as well be a 3rd world country. We are a nation of consumers. We built that habit of consuming because of the manufacturing boom after WWII. It's real hard to be a consumer if you have no job. I have watched furniture factories, garment factories, paper …
review by . January 28, 2010
   I don't know if it is the current situation in my personal life, my current age or my ever growing concern for this country as well as the rest of the world, that has made me pay more attention to political matters than ever before. Like many, I listened to President Obama's State of the Union address on January 27, 2010 and thought I would express some opinions here.The speech was very well written although I have always wondered how much of any presidential …
Quick Tip by . January 28, 2010
great speech, but it left me feeling pretty luke warm about out future.
About the reviewer
James Beswick ()
Ranked #4
Lunch.com's "token Brit".
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
jbeswick
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this online video

Wiki

The 2010 State of the Union Address was given by United States President Barack Obama on January 27, 2010, to a joint session of Congress. It was aired on all the major networks starting at 9 PM ET. It was Obama's first State of the Union Address, though the president did give a non-State of the Union address to a joint session of Congress a month after taking office in 2009.

The speech was delivered on the floor of the United States House of Representatives in the United States Capitol. The presiding officers of the Senate and the House of Representatives, Vice President Joe Biden (as Senate President) and House Speaker Nancy Pelosi sat behind the president.

Among the topics that Obama covered in his speech were proposals for job creation and federal deficit reduction.

Housing Secretary Shaun Donovan was chosen as the designated survivor and did not attend the address, in order to keep a presidential line of succession should a catastrophic event have wiped out the administration.

Newly elected Virginia Governor Bob McDonnell delivered the Republican response following the speech.
view wiki

Details

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Politics Your Way is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists