Politics Your Way
A Place to Voice Your Political View
Barack Obama

The President of the United States

< read all 14 reviews

Leading our nation into an abyss from which we may never escape.

  • May 12, 2010
Rating:
-4
During the Presidential election campaign of 2008 the mainstream media hailed Sen. Barack Obama as the man who could heal our nation's wounds and bring us all together.  He was a "uniter" they proclaimed.  Well as it turns out nothing could be farther from the truth.  Barack Obama has spent the first 16 months of his Presidency systematically dividing the people of this country.  He is dividing us by race, by class, by region, by religion and by culture.  And if that were not enough he has quadrupled the national debt, alienated many of our allies and shoved a health care bill down the throats of the American people.  All the while the President with the aid of the people in his Administration and the Democratic leadership in Congress are relentlessly dismantling many of the institutions that have made America great.  The damage done by this Administration already will be very difficult ro reverse and may well take decades to repair.  

There are so many things that disturb me about this Administration that I hardly know where to begin.  Mr. Obama has surrounded himself with some of the most radical individuals who have ever served in the federal government.  Left-wing radicals like Van Jones, Mark Lloyd at the FCC, Cass Sunstein, Mr. Obama's Regulatory Czar and Attorney General Eric Holder are just some of the people who are advising this President and all of them have agendas that are completely out of sync with the vast majority of the American people.  And now that the health care bill is the law of the land these folks have no intention of stopping.  Before the summer is out the Obama administration intends to push for passage of a Cap and Trade bill that will cripple our economy and what they term an Immigration Reform package that would essentially grant amnesty to millions of illegal aliens.  Despite the objections of the overwhelming majority of the American people on these issues President Obama, Nancy Pelosi and Harry Reid have demonstrated that they are willing to use virtually any means at their disposal  to get what they want.  Ethics be damned!  Furthermore, these people know they can do virtually anything they want because the mainstream media in this country has totally abdicated their responsibilities.

Meanwhile, those of us who oppose the radical policies of the President find ourselves being labelled as racists and anti-government.  While I am not an active member of the Tea Party movement I have attended several of their rallies in my hometown.  What I have observed at these events are lots of working class people and small business owners who are there to simply express their deep concern over what is happening to the country that they love so much.   It seems clear to me that unless you are a government employee, a client of the government or a member of a favored union (SEIU or UAW) you are destined to be a big loser with the policies being touted by this Administration. There seems to be absolutely no regard for the taxpayers who are footing the bill for all of this reckless spending.  And so if you are someone who works hard, strives for excellence, invests for the future and are successful at what you do you are in the crosshairs of this Administration.  Watch your back because you, the values you hold dear and any assets you may have accumulated are all in the sights of the Obama administration.  In President Obama's politically correct world you cannot call an Islamic terrorist a terrorist but you can label well-meaning Tea Party members as anti-government threats to the nation.  The Congressional elections are just months away now and things are looking ominous for the Democrats.   Here's hoping we can sweep out many of Mr. Obama's enablers in Congress and begin the process of taking back our country.  How is "CHANGE" working out for you? 
Leading our nation into an abyss from which we may never escape. Leading our nation into an abyss from which we may never escape. Leading our nation into an abyss from which we may never escape. Leading our nation into an abyss from which we may never escape.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
24
Thought-Provoking
24
Fun to Read
20
Well-Organized
23
Post a Comment
September 08, 2010
You hit the nail on the head. Although, I have to wonder whether this might make an interesting reading before the Thanksgiving blessing where politics, sex and religion are always such welcome topics.
 
August 27, 2010
Great review, of Barack Obama. I am looking forward to the election in 6 weeks, I hope the GOP garners enough votes to provide a check on Pres. Obama. I have always been a big fan of divided govt. as a means of producing a check on the extremes of both parties. In addition, I am especially disappointed in the media. Since they became more focused on making money, thus, becoming more an out outlet of entertainment than reporting the news, the media has abdicated its useful place in society as the "fourth estate."
 
August 13, 2010
I do believe in the change - it's what been left in my pocket after the government spent the rest. Great review - scary, but interesting.
 
August 13, 2010
There's a lot of people disenfranchised by both parties now ridiculed by the media as populist nutjobs, or the homophobically derived term of "tea baggers." The GOP seems happy to co-opt this movement, and the Dems eager to caricature the worries of many ordinary folks. But why aren't more voters angry at big business-- rather than "big government"? Still, "decline to state" as a voter category's growing, and that's promising and awkward (who leads?) for those disgusted by the bipartisan plutocratic oligarchy.
September 08, 2010
Great question. I think there's plenty of simmering rage at the entitlement mentality of business where their rewards are privatized with their risk socialized to the taxpayer. That being said, politicains make much easier targets for public rage and ridicule because their piousness and cartoonish posturing is almost always outdone by a gross ignorance of the consequences that their legislation usually unleashes. The Class Clown usually gets more laughs than the Class President.
 
1
More Barack Obama reviews
Quick Tip by . January 13, 2012
posted in Inspirations
I like that Obama is a charismatic guy with real credentials, a working brain, and a natural ability to lead. But he was a better candidate than a President. I like him better than the last guy and better than the field of Republican nominees. But Obama has reversed or voted against every major change I wanted him to make. We can't blame George W. Bush for Obama's bad choices when Obama himself reversed course on Gitmo, continued the Bush bailouts, extended the Patriot Act, and reformed health care …
Quick Tip by . December 27, 2010
The least qualified man in any room he walks into. Not a law professor, a part-time lecturer. Never ran anything, only worked as a community organizer. Not vetted, not eligible to be president regardless of where he may have been born. Father British subject, mother underage to pass on US citizenship.
Quick Tip by . December 18, 2010
He hasn't managed to keep to any of his campaign promises, or even the promises he made when he took office.  He has managed to do a few things very badly (health care reform, arguing for increased state secrets privileges, arguing for increased ability to target Americans with military force), and a few things well (requiring hospitals to have more open policies regarding visitation by friends and family members).  Not an unmitigated disaster, but not very good.
Quick Tip by . August 15, 2010
Just not ready to lead. That should not be a surprise he has no executive experience what so ever. He sold America a bill of goods and now many are waking up to reality.
Quick Tip by . August 09, 2010
I'm voting with the average here, though I'm still not even decided on Jackson yet. Man's got a hard job! Does this describe the community political leaning, then?
Quick Tip by . October 13, 2009
About time we had a Constitutional law professor as President.
Quick Tip by . October 20, 2009
He is charismatic, he's persuasive & he's the leader. All a leader needs to do is lead and inspire. For that, I think he's done his job!
Quick Tip by . October 09, 2009
@barackobama #Congrats on the #NOBELPEACEPRIZE even though its a bit premature. Keep up the good work!
review by . September 30, 2008
Over the past few months I have been trying to write/compile some sort of article or document that can explain why I think an Obama administration could be a great thing for, well,  all of us of course, but for conservatives specifically.Anytime that I actually get a chance to have a rational conversation with a conservative I walk away thinking, 'Hey, I agree with a lot of what he/she just had to say, why can't we vote for the same candidate with different views and motives'.'Why Conservatives …
review by . March 02, 2009
Official Presidential Photo
As psyched, as I was that Barack was elected president, like a lot of people, I was waiting to see him make good on his campaign promises. Wouldn't you know he has made a damn good dent in them, and I'm not even speaking of the ones that are tied to his stimulus package.    Obama promised the states that've passed medical marijuana laws, that he would respect their right to allow citizens to smoke their way into better health by giving the DEA a back off order- and he did.  Eric …
About the reviewer
Paul Tognetti ()
Ranked #1
I guess I would qualify as a frustrated writer. My work requires very little writing and so since 1999 I have been writing reviews on non-fiction books and anthology CD's on amazon.com. I never could … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
drifter51
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this politician

Wiki

Barack Obama is the 44th president of the United States, formerly the junior U.S. Senator from Illinois.  

Early Years

Barack Obama was born in Hawaii on August 4th, 1961. His father, Barack Obama Sr., was born and raised in a small village in Kenya, where he grew up herding goats with his own father, who was a domestic servant to the British.

Barack's mother, Ann Dunham, grew up in small-town Kansas. Her father worked on oil rigs during the Depression,and then signed up for World War II after Pearl Harbor, where he marched across Europe in Patton's army. Her mother went to work on a bomber assembly line, and after the war, they studied on the G.I. Bill,bought a house through the Federal Housing Program, and moved west to Hawaii.

It was there, at the University of Hawaii,where Barack's parents met. His mother was a student there, and his father had won a scholarship that allowed him to leave Kenya and pursue his dreams in America.

Barack's father eventually returned to Kenya,and Barack grew up with his mother in Hawaii, and for a few years in Indonesia. Later, he moved to New York, where he graduated from Columbia University in 1983.

The College Years

Remembering the values of empathy and service that his mother taught him, Barack put law school and corporate life on hold after college and moved to Chicago in 1985, where he became a community organizer with a church-based group seeking to improve living conditions in poor neighborhoods plagued...

view wiki

Details

Gender: Male
Party Affiliation: Democrat
Office: President of the United States
Country: United States of America

First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Politics Your Way is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists