Speech Bubbles: Comics & Graphic Novels
Comic Fan Talk About Comic Books!
Trade Paperback Edition

The classic '80s comic book series later reprinted as a graphic novel, written by Alan Moore and illustrated by David Lloyd, about a totalitarian England and a costumed freedom fighter/terrorist named V.

< read all 30 reviews

Awesome graphic novel

  • Jul 1, 2010
Rating:
+5
V for Vendetta is a 'whatif' scenario by grahic novel genius Alan Moore. The book takes place in London, England in a universe where after rioting a far right group which follows a fascist nordic ideology sweeps into power in London and does what any fascist political party would be expected to do - exercises complete control over the country and ruthlessly kill and maim with no regard for human life. The book starts in a human experimentation lab where people are used as test subjects with no regard for human life. The protagonist eventually breaks out when the lab explodes and is scarred horribly, hence the use of the famous mask.

'V' takes on a female sidekick that he rescues from a couple of government officials as they are ready to arrest her for working on the streets to make ends meet. He looks after her along the way as he commits various acts of treason against the government and certain officials in revenge. The book is essentially all about V attempting to take down the oppressive government and while he is nota paragon of all that is good himself he is still better than the government officials and so our sympathies lie with him.

The book does a good job of demonising the government and interestingly instead of perhaps a large powerful man as the head of the evil government we have a small insecure virgin who has never known the touch of a woman and has resorted to computers for love.

Many stereotypes are turned on their head in V For Vendetta and if you get the chance to read it I completely reccomend it.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
3
Thought-Provoking
3
Fun to Read
3
Well-Organized
3
Post a Comment
July 01, 2010
How did you think the graphic novel compared to the film? I've heard conflicting responses.
July 01, 2010
Ok, corrected that typo. I meant film. :-P
 
1
More V for Vendetta (graphic novel) reviews
review by . July 06, 2010
   This is a great example of how our social structure has evolved to perhaps caution against an assumed caste.  The main character, V, was forced to undergo what is considered by today's standards ghastly and illegal experimentation that resulted in not his inability to adhere to social standards but integrate his self within them.  The book illustrates his personal efforts to undermine a corrupt and conspiratorial system in which the medical experiments performed on V result …
review by . July 12, 2010
I mean what can I say? Who doesn't like a story of totalitarian society along with a masked phantom terrorist who isn't really a terrorist but is actually trying to save the subdued and coerced culture? I know I do! However, V for Vendetta isn't one of the best. Don't get me wrong, everyone loves a good individualist story, being different never really goes out of style; but NOT being different from all the other  "I'm-different and-damn-proud-of-it" novels is …
Quick Tip by . July 15, 2010
Perfect Poetic Protest. This is an unique and great novel. You will never read something like V for Vendetta. Alan Moore shows how a person that we firstly take as lunatic actually is a real visionary.
Quick Tip by . July 13, 2010
I honestly found this book hard to follow. I spent much time confused.
Quick Tip by . July 12, 2010
i have not a clue why i seem to be in love with this movie. i think the hero in this movie was also the viline. it showed just a little bit of weho i am.
Quick Tip by . July 05, 2010
It pretty much goes Watchmen and then V for great Alan Moore.
Quick Tip by . July 04, 2010
A modern day Count of Monte Cristo , wearing a Guy Fawlkes mask, gets his revenge on those and the country which betrays him
Quick Tip by . July 02, 2010
After you read Watchmen, check this out.
Quick Tip by . July 02, 2010
While the film was about US, the book is about England. Whereas film ends with hope, book ends with total anarchy. It's one of the hardest comics I ever read, for its rich and hard to glance through. But I love V, think Evey is a strong character in this one, and Norsefire is much more complex. The plot? It's what happens when governments forget the power of people and try to take control. One man can change everything.
Quick Tip by . July 01, 2010
greatest and probably most popular cult series of all time. this was a verrryy interesting read. satyrical for a graphic novel. really made you think about underground politics, and extreme activism. also the reason for the whole "anon" movement that has been going on.
About the reviewer
Member Since: Jun 30, 2010
Last Login: Jul 1, 2010 12:21 AM UTC
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
casualgamer01
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
Recent reviews by casualgamer01
About this book

Details

Author: Alan Moore, David Lloyd
Genre: Superheroes, Comics & Graphic Novels, Dystopian, Political and Social Satire
Publisher: DC Comics, Warrior, Vertigo
Format: Graphic Novel

Polls with this book
A History of Violence

Pick Your Favorite Graphic Novels!

by

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Speech Bubbles: Comics & Graphic Novels is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists