Speech Bubbles: Comics & Graphic Novels
Comic Fan Talk About Comic Books!
Y: The Last Man Issue 1

A Vertigo comic series about the sole male survivor of a plague that kills every male mammal on the planet.

< read all 6 reviews

I still can't get this one out of my mind

  • Apr 29, 2009
  • by
Rating:
+5
I am not really a fan of graphic novels (another word for comic books) but there have been a few that have been special.  This is one of them.  Imagine how you would feel if, suddenly, every being with a Y chromosome died in a very bloody manner, except for one young man and his male monkey.  That's the premise for this novel.  It is 10 volumes long, so it has a lot going on, and it is never boring.  Some of the women left behind cope well, and some don't.  A few, in fact, go nearly completely insane and become a new breed of Amazon.  Okay, that's enough spoilers.  This is well worth reading.  The characters are remarkably well thought out, the action is believable most of the time and even when it isn't, it's interesting.  Your local book store ought to have this series and if they don't, all 10 volumes are available on Amazon. 

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
8
Thought-Provoking
4
Fun to Read
4
Well-Organized
4
Post a Comment
May 08, 2009
Graphic novels are fun, though, depending on what they are. I also love the Manga for any Myasaki movie, too. This one is really good, though, and kept my attention through all 10 volumes. I do like Solomon Kane, but I do get tired of both Kull and Conan, even in the original Howard books.
 
May 08, 2009
I'm afraid that I've gotten hooked on several comix and graphic novels over the years. Some of them have been continuations of tv shows that have bitten the dust (in this case pun intended) such as BUFFY THE VAMPIRE SLAYER and its companion show ANGEL, while other have been due to my long time fondnedd for Robert Howard's Conan. They've brought the old guy back along with Kull and (for the first time ever in comix) Solomon Kane.
 
1
More Y: The Last Man reviews
Quick Tip by . November 06, 2010
Have not finished this series yet, but it had many elements I enjoyed. And a few outlandish ones. Is that to be expected in comics?
Quick Tip by . October 05, 2010
An excellent and interesting series, not to be missed.
review by . June 08, 2010
   I've been trying to convince people to read graphic novels for a while now, and if I could convince them to read just one, it would without hesitation be this one.      Y: The Last Man is a series of tremendous scope, such that I was actually afraid to read it for a while, afraid that it was too deep for its own good, and would either overwhelm itself or me. I knew the simple synopsis -- "unknown plague wipes out everything with a Y chromosome, except a …
Quick Tip by . June 23, 2010
Interesting and intriguing graphic novel.
Quick Tip by . June 12, 2010
Take your pick, this isa Truly great series and would make a fantastic idea for a lengthy series on HBO
About the reviewer
John O'Connor ()
I am retired military. I served 6 years of Navy, nearly 6 years of Air Force, and just over 22 years of Air National Guard. I also was a full time technician for the Air Guard for just over 21 years. … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
Ukedude
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this book

Wiki

(from Wikipedia)
Y: The Last Man is a comic book series by Brian K. Vaughan and Pia Guerra, about the only man to survive the apparent simultaneous death of every male mammal (barring the same man's pet monkey) on Earth. The series was published in sixty issues by Vertigo and collected in a series of ten paperback volumes. The series' covers were primarily by J. G. Jones and Massimo Carnevale.
view wiki

Details

Author: Brian K. Vaughan , Pia Guerra, Paul Chadwick
Genre: Comics & Graphic Novels, Science Fiction, Adventure
Publisher: DC Comics, Vertigo
Date Published: September 2002 - January 2008
Format: Comic Book Series
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Speech Bubbles: Comics & Graphic Novels is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists