Speech Bubbles: Comics & Graphic Novels
Comic Fan Talk About Comic Books!
Deluxe Edition DVD cover

Christopher Nolan's 2005 film based upon the origins of the DC Comics character.

< read all 25 reviews

So thats where those Bat Cowls and grappling hook guns all came from!

  • Oct 2, 2009
  • by
Rating:
+5

It goes without saying that Batman and Robin is one of the most loathed comic book movies ever.  I don't hate it as much as others but it's still pretty bad and went a long way in sinking Batmans movie francize the way Batman Returns did in 1992 but in a much different and long lasting way.

It took 8 long years to rebuild Batman and it goes without saying that this one film became by far the best of the series, even bigger then the 89 film and went a long way in wiping clean the neon nightmare of Batman and Robin and giving Batman, a more beliveable and fresh start peering into his origins and how things became the way they did.

Watching the Batman movies, any of them before this one I always did wonder where Batman did get his "wonderful toys" who built them?  What company keeps it's secrets safe from blackmail or exposing Bruce Wayne and his secrets.  A vauge insight was given in Batman Returns but it wasn't enough.  Seeing everything laid out from the begining gives a much bigger sense of creedance and beliveability to the surroundings.  Even the origins of his parents murder which leads him down the path he does, and his training by a far East clan of martial artist mercenary types fills in some major blanks.  The pain he feels towards his parents death is really examined.  I don't think they could have done a better job and lets hope this thread about Batman is left alone.  It's been a subject for half the movies in the series now.

What I found interesting was how much fear played in this movie.  People afraid to do anything against the mafia running Gotham, Bruce is afraid of bats and uses them as his symbol against corruption and the villians plan on using a fear inducing hallucinagin on the city so that it can destroy itself.  Watching someone conquer their fears and rise up against them is always nice and gives your heroes that important edge they need.

Speaking of Gotham, juxtoposed between past and present day, what a sterling crystaline clean city turns into the biggest scummy urban pit ever.   The ghettos of Gotham where most of the action takes place looks particularily crowded and run down.  The casting is a nice mix with Christian Bale as Batman who has the best mix of billionaire and crime fighter without being good at one or the other as other actors were.  That infamous voice of his is subdued here and doesn't become a weird disguised growl until the next movie.  Gary Oldman is great as Gordan and Michael Caine as Alfred, both of these actors make you forget how great the former stars were in the older movies.

Batman Begins only fault is that between a deep building story of Bruce's past and then shifting into the modern day mission, you almost have two movies that are held together with only a couple of threads together.  It's the same way how Return of the Jedi feels awkward with a good portion of the story devoted to saving Han Solo and then the rest of the film.

Batman Begins is a surprisingly awesome movie and until it's sequel The Dark Knight, the best of the Batmans.  You almost can walk away feeling like Batman could exist and not just a figment of our imaginations and with no fear.

Christian Bale as a Batman who can kick your ass Gotham City slums, The Narrows. The League of Shadows The Scarecrow Bruce Wayne trying to enjoy himself Batman gets the drop on a thug with his ninja skil

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
3
Thought-Provoking
3
Fun to Read
3
Well-Organized
3
Post a Comment
October 02, 2009
Solid review. I think the writing was on the wall for the demise of the "old" series when Batman Forever hit the scene. Batman & Robin was so far askew that it wasn't even fathomable. After reading your acclaim for Batman Begins, what is your take on the Dark Knight follow up? I personally put them on about the same level (which is to say quite well done).
October 02, 2009
I like all the Batman's and am one of the few that really enjoys Batman Forever. The Dark Knight Rocks and I'm sure I'll talk about it soon. Thank you.
October 02, 2009
I can understand that- I think a lot of viewers (myself included) were quite spoiled with the tone presented in the first two films. I remember a few key scenes in Forever (like when Riddler's mind reading machine reveled only the image of a flying bat in Bruce Wayne's brain) that had me cringing. But in all, I've always felt like the entertainment value worked in the exact order that the films were released (saving the worst for last of course). But that's just me. Looking forward to your review on Dark Knight. Has it ever been revealed who the villain of choice will be for the next one?
October 02, 2009
I think they hinted at Catwoman online, and people point to Bruces line to Lucious about can his new armor stop a dog, and he tells Bruce that it could stop a cat. Who knows who it will be but Anne Hathaway for Catwoman if this is true. That or they could do Bane some justice instead of a mindless idiot in Batman and Forever.
October 02, 2009
Sure, that makes sense. Catwoman always seems to draw ratings- What did you think of her solo film effort?
October 02, 2009
I honestly never saw it and I hear it was terrible. I've heard it is THE Catwoman and I've heard it isn't and it's a new creation and I don't know. I might see it one day but I'm in no hurry.
 
1
More Batman Begins reviews
review by . July 26, 2012
posted in Movie Hype
*** out of ****    As a child, Bruce Wayne (Christian Bale) was subjected to not one but two majorly traumatic events. The first was when he fell into the well just outside of his house and was greeted by a swarm of bats at the bottom, causing him to develop a phobia for the animals. The second was when his phobia took over him at an opera that he was attending with his parents, provoking the three of them to step outside, where the mugger Joe Chill was waiting with a loaded …
review by . November 30, 2010
Once upon a time, Batman fans were disappointed with the aftertaste left by the disastrous Joel Schumacher films. A producer named Christopher Nolan heard their cries and decided to take the franchise back to its roots with Batman Begins. He went back to the dark storyline and rich character development that made the first two original batman movies great, as opposed to the campiness and kid-friendliness of the Schumacher movies. Boy did this work.      This is nowhere near …
Quick Tip by . August 30, 2010
Thoroughly engrossing and clear headed retelling of the Dark Knight's origins, making sure all the nails are hammered down, our hero learns from his mistakes and saves a scummy Gotham City. Fantastic.
Quick Tip by . July 21, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
Steller reintroduction to the Dark Knight after an 8 year absnece and showing his roots, his motives and really getting me to care about Batman again.
review by . December 19, 2008
posted in Movie Hype
Poster
After the first Batman franchise was driven into the ground by a succession of terrible sequels, it seemed unlikely that there would ever be a respectable Batman film again. But then there came a hope from an unexpected source. Christopher Nolan (director of Following and Memento) wanted to reinvent the character in a more realistic and epic way. He teamed up with screenwriter David S. Goyer (The Blade Trilogy and Dark City) and together they wrote an exceptionally smart screenplay.   …
Quick Tip by . August 08, 2010
Best installment of Batman yet. Really deep plot twists and cohesive story that holds together better than ever.
Quick Tip by . July 26, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
Christopher Nolan completely revitalized the Batman franchise. The making of the man was interesting but the culmination of the film seemed to lose the grounding that made the film so compelling from the outset. The scoring definitely made this film.
Quick Tip by . June 26, 2010
Most beleivable of the Batmans
Quick Tip by . June 24, 2010
Amazing! One of the best renditions of a Batman movie.
Quick Tip by . June 16, 2010
very good, turning point in the batman series
About the reviewer
John Nelson ()
Ranked #3
Born in Wausau Wisconsin. Move at an early age to Ventura California and lived for 8 years. Growing up in a big city landscape didn't prepare me for my next move: Archbold Ohio with a population of … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
TheJohn
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this movie

Wiki

Batman Begins discards the previous four films in the series and recasts the Caped Crusader as a fearsome avenging angel. That's good news, because the series, which had gotten off to a rousing start under Tim Burton, had gradually dissolved into self-parody by 1997'sBatman & Robin. As the title implies,Batman Beginstells the story anew, when Bruce Wayne (Christian Bale) flees Western civilization following the murder of his parents. He is taken in by a mysterious instructor named Ducard (Liam Neeson in another mentor role) and urged to become a ninja in the League of Shadows, but he instead returns to his native Gotham City resolved to end the mob rule that is strangling it. But are there forces even more sinister at hand?

Cowritten by the team of David S. Goyer (a veteran comic book writer) and director Christopher Nolan (Memento), Batman Begins is a welcome return to the grim and gritty version of the Dark Knight, owing a great debt to the graphic novels that preceded it. It doesn't have the razzle dazzle, or the mass appeal, of Spider-Man 2 (though the Batmobile is cool), and retelling the origin means it starts slowly, like most "first" superhero movies. But it's certainly the best Bat-film since Burton's original, and one of the best superhero movies of its time. Bale cuts a good figure as Batman, intense and dangerous but with some of the lightheartedness Michael Keaton brought to the character. Michael Caine...

view wiki

Details

Director: Christopher Nolan
Genre: Action, Crime, Drama, Thriller
Release Date: June 15, 2005
MPAA Rating: PG-13
DVD Release Date: October 18, 2005
Runtime: 2hrs 20min
Studio: Legendary Pictures, Syncopy Films, Warner Bros. Pictures, DC Studios
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Speech Bubbles: Comics & Graphic Novels is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists