Speech Bubbles: Comics & Graphic Novels
Comic Fan Talk About Comic Books!

Surprisingly watchable!

  • Oct 19, 2007
  • by
Rating:
+1
Throughout the mid-1980's, I always made it a point to get home from school as quickly as possible to watch channel 11, KSTW, as they showed Transformers - First Season Collector's Edition. It was one of my favorite shows, though I owned hardly any of the toys.

I largely forgot about my favorite robots until 1999 when a friend of mine turned me on to Beast Wars Transformers - The Complete First Season, which had mildly good animation and incredibly good plots (gotta love that Dinobot! And Waspinator? One of my favorites. Plus the return of Ravage, Starscream (more or less), and shots of the inside of the Autobot ark! What's not to like?). When some of the other Transformers spin-offs came along, I lost interest, but I did buy, and enjoy, several of the toys. At one point I owned about 120 different Transformers toys and liked 'em all!

So you can imagine how pleased I was when I heard about a live action Transformers movie from Steven Speilberg and how horrified I was when I heard Michael Bay would be directing.

I am, as people who have read my reviews of Armageddon and Pearl Harbor (Two-Disc 60th Anniversary Commemorative Edition) are aware, no great fan of Michael Bay. I consider him, in fact, to be one of the worst directors of the last 20 years or so. I'm sure there are people who are worse than him, but they seldom get the budgets he does, and thus aren't able to inflict their horror on the wider world.

In a recent "South Park" episode, there were some people talking to Michael Bay about his ideas of a plot of a movie. He kept talking about great special effects and things blowing up, and they kept trying to explain to him that he was talking about SFX and not plot. He said he didn't know the difference. Sighing, one of the men said, "We know, Mister Bay. We know." That sums up what might be called the "Michael Bay School of Filmmaking".

"Transformers" combines all the best aspects of a Michael Bay film (things getting blowed up real good), with all the worst aspects of a Michael Bay film (paper-thin plot, horrible characterization, idiodic attempts at KOMEDY! (consult my review of Cheaper by the Dozen for an explaination of the difference between "comedy" and "KOMEDY!") and, by my count, at least FIVE shots of an aircraft in flight with an orange filter shot against the sun. This is apparently Michael Bay's signature shot, and it's very, very annoying). The fact that the film succeeds as much as it does is, I feel, something it does in spite of everything Michael Bay could do to drag it down.

This movie is at its best when it concentrates on either a: the Transformers, or b: the relationship between Sam and his girlfriend (or, at least in my mind, the other guy, Miles, who seemed to want to be Sam's boyfriend... I could just be reading into it, however). The robots are incredibly well-rendered and hearing Peter Cullen do the voice of Optimus Prime is something to make every fan-boy cheer!

The film fails badly, however, when it explores what we shall laughingly call sub-plots (much more sub than plot). There are so many pointless, useless, tacked on characters. Off the top of my head, the black hacker, the "Section Seven" guy and, sadly, Jazz, who, *** SPOILER ALERT! ***, seemed to exist only to be killed off, thus making this YET ANOTHER film where the black character dies first.

I was also confused by how close Hoover Dam appears to be to Los Angeles, how a government organization founded in the 1920's gets a very modern name like "Section Seven" and how Sam's parents are apparently so deaf, blind and stupid as to not see/hear the Autobots in their backyard (Dad thought it was an earthquake?! Come on, now. I've lived in So Cali. When an earthquake happens, it doesn't feel like anything else). I was also very, very annoyed by the whole "The government knew about this all along and covered it up!" idea because that's, you know, stupid.

My only other complaints are that the fight in Los Angles, when I saw it on the big screen, actually left me feeling vaguely overwhelmed and slightly hypnotised. My brain could not process everything that I was seeing. I'm not the sort of person who has seizures caused by strobe lights, but too many more viewings of the film on a big screen might change that.

Lastly I was miffed about Megatron. He had very, very little screen time, almost no characterization and was not voiced by Frank Welker. Yes, Hugo Weaving did a fine job, though I wouldn't have known it was him if I wasn't told, but it's just not the same. Plus he didn't really DO anything much, other than break stuff. Megatron should be more than that.

Despite the flaws, this is a very entertaining film and, as the headline says, surprisingly watchable. I am very much looking forward to the sequel (let's get Soundwave, Shockwave and Grimlock onto the screen!), but I really hope Michael Bay gets kept far, far away from it. I don't think my brain can handle another of his movies.

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
0
Thought-Provoking
0
Fun to Read
0
Well-Organized
0
Post a Comment
More Transformers reviews
review by . September 27, 2009
posted in Movie Hype
Now, if you know me here on Lunch then there's one thing you probably learned about me early on... I love to hate Michael Bay.  Yet I couldn't stay away from Transformers the first time.  I began hearing from some of my friends that it was actually good.  They're not big on Michael Bay either.  In short, part of the reason I saw it was because I wanted to tell my friends that Michael Bay probably just made a movie with no plot and just put together a bunch …
Quick Tip by . July 24, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
Takes WAY TOO LONG to give us what we want and teases us in the mean time but the finale makes up for the monotony, lame comedic characters and other annoyances.
Quick Tip by . July 18, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
I loved this movie and took the kids to see it when it came out would love to rent it now!
Quick Tip by . July 14, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
Can't wait for Transformers VIII or whatever number they're on. Michael Bay should be tried for crimes against humanity.
Quick Tip by . July 12, 2010
posted in Movie Hype
You have to watch this on HD Blu-Ray i pay more attention to the graphic
Quick Tip by . July 01, 2010
Intense, smart but not too smart and intriguing this big screen adaptation of the popular transformers franchise works better than it should, plays out better than you could ever expect. However, in the end leaves you wanting more.
review by . December 09, 2009
posted in Movie Hype
   This is a fast-paced slick movie starting with the reason why the Transformers came to Earth (there are two bands in search of a cube) and a spectacularly filmed attack on an American military base in Qatar. At first the viewer thinks that these are some evil machines out of a Stephen King movie and then you realize (like in Terminator 2) that there are good ones and bad ones.       The special effects are amazing and the story and characters are pretty good too. …
review by . June 13, 2009
posted in Movie Hype
This movie wasn't called
I saw this in the theater and later when I got it on DVD my dad and I watched it, and he had the same reaction I did at the same scene.  The goofy "hiding" scene around the house where 50 foot tall robots are trying not to be seen by humans and geeky little Sam is trying to find an all important pair of glasses to save the day.  Maybe it wasn't that exact scene, maybe when it was when Sam's parents barge into his room and his mom tries bringing up masturbation.  …
Quick Tip by . November 23, 2009
Great robot-on-robot action, especially for Michael Bay!
Quick Tip by . November 17, 2009
Long and irritating big screen movie of alien robots that turn into cars and planes and wage war. One great scene just makes it worthwhile.
About the reviewer
C R Swanson ()
   I'm an aspiring writer and reviewer. I run a blog, I'm working on a novel and spend my free time reading and playing video games. I also spend waaaaay too much time and money on movies. … more
Consider the Source

Use Trust Points to see how much you can rely on this review.

You
CRSwanson
Your ratings:
rate more to improve this
About this movie

Wiki



A long time ago, far away on the planet of Cybertron, a war was being waged between the noble Autobots (led by the wise Optimus Prime) and the devious Decepticons (commanded by the dreaded Megatron) for control over the Allspark, a mystical talisman that would grant unlimited power to whoever possessed it. The Autobots managed to smuggle the Allspark off the planet, but Megatron blasted off in search of it. He eventually tracked it to the planet of Earth (circa 1850), but his reckless desire for power sent him right into the Arctic Ocean, and the sheer cold forced him into a paralyzed state. His body was later found by Captain Archibald Witwicky, and before going into a comatose state Megatron used the last of his energy to engrave a map, showing the location of the Allspark, into the Captain's glasses, and send a transmission to Cybertron. He is then carted away by the Captain's ship. A century later, Sam Witwicky, nicknamed Spike by his friends, buys his first car. To his shock, he discovers it to be Bumblebee, an Autobot in disguise who is to protect Spike, as he bears the Captain's glasses and the map carved on them. But Bumblebee is not the only Transformer to have arrived on Earth - in the desert of Qatar, the Decepticons Blackout and Scorponok attack a U.S. military base, causing the Pentagon to send their special Sector Seven agents to capture all "specimens of this alien race," and Spike and his girlfriend Mikaela find themselves in the middle...
view wiki

Details

Cast: Colin Fickes, Michael O'Neill, Anthony Anderson, Robert Foxworth, Glenn Morshower, Jon Voight, Bob Stephenson, Rachael Taylor, Bernie Mac, J.P. Manoux, John Robinson, John Turturro, Rick Gomez, Hugo Weaving, Darius McCrary, Tyrese Gibson, Amaury Nolasco, Chris Ellis, Jess Harnell, Steven Ford, Craig Barnett, Kevin Dunn, Shia LaBeouf, Andy Milder, Travis Van Winkle, Samantha Smith, Zack Ward, Odette Yustman, Johnny Sanchez, Tom Lenk, Michael Shamus Wiles, Charlie Adler, Peter Cullen, Colleen Porch, Mike Fisher, Wiley M. Pickett, Julie White, Jason White, Peter Jacobson, Sean Smith, Brian Stepanek, Esther Scott, Carlos Moreno, Jr., Reno Wilson, Mark Ryan, W. Morgan Sheppard, Rizwan Manji, Josh Duhamel, Ronnie Sperling, Jamison Yang, Megan Fox, Luis Echagarruga, Patrick Mulderrig, Brian Shehan, Michael Trisler, Ashkan Kashanchi, Jimmie Wood, C.J. Thomason, Lt. Frederic Doss, Charlie Bodin, Josh Feinman, Brian Prescott, Scott Peat, Jamie McBride, Brian Reece, Ravi Patel, Andy Dominguez, Madison Mason, Jeremy Jojola, Jessica Kartalija, Andrew Altonji, Andrew Caldwell, Pete Gardner, Sophie Bobal, Laurel Garner, Chip Hormess, Ray Toth, Dan Ferris, Michael Adams, Ron Henry, Benjamin Hoffman, Michael McNabb, Adam Ratajczak, Maya Klayn, Michelle Pierce, Jim Wood
Director: Michael Bay
Genre: Action, Adventure
Release Date: July 3, 2007
MPAA Rating: PG-13
Screen Writer: Roberto Orci, Alex Kurtzman
DVD Release Date: October 16th 2007/September 2nd 2008 (Blu-ray)
Runtime: 2hrs 20min
Studio: Dreamworks PIctures, Paramount Pictures
First to Review
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
Speech Bubbles: Comics & Graphic Novels is part of the Lunch.com Network - Get this on your site
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists