|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Events » Reviews » Citizens Bank Park

Citizens Bank Park

1 rating: 5.0
Home of the Philadelphia Phillies

Citizens Bank Park opened on April 3rd 2004, replacing old Veterans Stadium.  It hosted its first Baseball game on April 12 in a 4-1 loss against the Cincinnati Reds.  Citizens Bank, also known as "The Bank" is a natural grass … see full wiki

1 review about Citizens Bank Park

"The Bank" is the Best Ballpark in All of Baseball!

  • Oct 29, 2009
  • by
Rating:
+5
Out of all the ballparks in the Majors, Citizens Bank Park is by the far the best.  In the past five years, a lot of new stadiums have been built including Nationals Park, Petco Park and of course, The Bank.  Along with being up to date as far as current ballparks go, Citizens Bank also offers the latest in Philadelphia style foods like Cheesesteaks, Hoagies, Sausages and Crab Fries, which are a fan favorite.  The best part about The Bank is that there isn't a bad seat in the park.  Even sitting in the 3-400 levels, you can decently watch the game without binoculars. On top of that, Phillies fans are the best fans in baseball!

While I've been a Phillies fan for the past 6-7 years, my first pilgrimage to The Bank until September 27th 2007.   My dad had wanted to come to Philly and take me to a game and I was all about it.  The first place we went was Jim's Steaks so he could taste the worlds best cheesesteak and then we headed over to the ballpark.  When I got there I was stunned; just from the outside the park was beautiful and I couldn't wait to get inside!  We grabbed some dinner at Planet Hoagie which, if you're going to get a Hoagie at Citizens Bank, is the best place to do so.  It didn't take long for me to really get in the game as Ryan Howard belted a two run blast to give the Phils an early 4-0 lead over the Braves.  From that day on, I made sure that I paid The Bank a frequent visit during the season.

What's great about Citizens Bank Park is that it truly caters to everyone.  In 2007 and 2008, The Bank was rated the number one vegetarian friendly ballpark in baseball by PETA.  You don't really hear about ballparks or stadiums being veggie friendly that often.  The food is great for everyone though.  There's Tony Luke's Steaks, Chickie & Pete's Crab Fries with cheese sauce, which is a must if you ever venture to Citizens Bank Park.  There's also the basics like hotdogs and pizza, but normally, unless it's Dollar Dog Night, it's best to stick with the good stuff.  As far as beer goes, The Bank has the basics like Miller Light and Bud Light, but at certain spots, there are stands called Brewery Town where you can virtually get any kind of beer you want which is really nice if you can't stand the cheap stuff.

Citizens Bank Park also offers a wide variety of things to do around the ballpark like the Wall of Fame or the many shops that sell authentic Phillies gear.  One of the more fun things you can do is going to a "throwing range" where you test your arm strength throwing some baseballs.  I did this a couple of games back and was embarrassed that I could only throw 55 MPH, UGH.  Throughout the park, there are a bunch of other things to do including a playground for restless kids who might not understand baseball yet.  The bottom line is that while at Citizens Bank, you won't run out of things to do! 

The Phillies couldn't have asked for a better home as Citizens Bank Park is truly a gem of the baseball world that has played host to some truly spectacular games.  Being that The Bank is a hitters park, you can go expecting to see home runs almost every game.  The Bank is also home to some of the most critical fans where one day they can love you and the next, booing you all the way back to the locker room.  While we may be called ruthless, Phillies fans have the biggest hearts and an amazing ballpark to hold them.  Any baseball fan should make a trip to Citizens Bank Park because you'll have the most unbelievable time.  If you're not a Phillies fan, watch out though.  5/5!  

What did you think of this review?

Helpful
18
Thought-Provoking
7
Fun to Read
14
Well-Organized
11
Post a Comment
January 27, 2010
Enjoyed reading your review. You guys deserve a nice stadium because Veterans Stadium was the pits. I have not yet been to Citizens Bank Park but I suspect that if it is like other new parks I have been in it is very loud. Seems like management feels that fans need to be entertained every second they are there and are perpetually trying to sell you something. In that regard I do prefer some of the older parks.
 
October 29, 2009
Husher315 I'm enjoying your stuff. Great review on the the ballpark despite the fact I am still realing over the Dodgers demise, 2 years in a row. I love you hit the food first off in the review and what are crab fries.... with cheese! Sounds delicious. Can you break down the cheesesteaks for us? Maybe review the best or put together a list of a few.
October 29, 2009
Hey man, thanks for the comments! Crab fries are fries with old bay seasoning that come with an awesome cheese dip. The cheesesteaks at The Bank are pretty basic, but good none the less. I'm currently working on a list of the top spots to hit in Philly before a game. It'll be up in a little bit! ;)
 
1
What's your opinion on Citizens Bank Park?
rate
1 rating: +5.0
You have exceeded the maximum length.
Details
Type: MLB Ballpark
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Date(s): April-September
Organization: Philadelphia Phillies
Venue: Citizens Bank Park
Related Topics
2009 MLB All-Star Game

July 14th 2009 at Busch Stadium

2009 NLCS

The 2009 NLCS

2009 Fall Classic

The 105th edition of Major League Baseball's championship se

© 2015 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists