|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Sleep > Wiki

Wiki

Sleep is a naturally recurring state of relatively suspended sensory and motor activity, characterized by total or partial unconsciousness and the inactivity of nearly all voluntary muscles.  Sleep is a heightened anabolic state, accentuating the growth and rejuvenation of the immune, nervous, skeletal and muscular systems. It is observed in all mammals, all birds, and many reptiles, amphibians, and fish. In humans, other mammals, and a substantial majority of other animals that have been studied (such as some species of fish, birds, ants, and fruit flies, some form of sleep may be essential for survival.

The purposes and mechanisms of sleep are only partially clear and are the subject of intense research.

edit this info

Tags

Healthy, Healthy Living, Naps, Napping, Resting

Details

Select a category and then fill in some basic details that someone might want to know about this topic.
What's your opinion on Sleep?
rate
83 Ratings: +4.2
You have exceeded the maximum length.
More Sleep reviews
review by . May 06, 2010
posted in Healthy Lifestyle
Getting seven hours of sleep is good for you
Many of us have heard that we aren't getting enough sleep.  This is very true.  Getting at least seven hours of sleep a night is very important.  It is not just to feel more refreshed the next morning.  There are many more health factors involved here that should discussed.  Getting enough sleep is another healthy habit that all of us could pick up.      Seven hours of sleep a night can help you with the following:   Sharpen your memory …
review by . November 24, 2010
posted in Inspirations
My record? A whopping 19 hours!
The subject matter of sleep fascinates me. So much so that I indulge in it excessively. It is one of the many luxuries of my life. I welcome it with open arms and reckless abandon. In return, I'm often rewarded with amazement and sometimes with enlightenment! I know I'm one of the lucky few. I even found God in my sleep! It is through sleeping that I filled life with more possibilities than I can imagined. Technically, it is through that part of sleep where scientists termed it REM (Rapid …
Quick Tip by . December 09, 2011
Caption
The third greatest thing in life (as with daily routine). It is re-vitalizing, healing and a significant part of life. Sleep is very important and gives the brain time to reboot itself from the stresses of life. I like dreaming too.... :)     
review by . May 17, 2010
posted in Healthy Lifestyle
I'm an entrepreneur - which to me means that I can do a "grandpa nap" everyday if I feel like it. It fits perfect in my routine and i get around 8 or 9 hours a day. I do a lot of "brain work" which means it's essential for me to cope out both with sleep but also with meditation and exercise. It's essential to my wellbeing and my health
Quick Tip by . November 22, 2010
Best thing of my life! It's the place where all things are possible, oops, by that I mean dream! In any case, I've a long term affair with sleep. Can go without food, can go without a job & can certainly go without a man [;-)]! Sleep? No way I can go without it!!!
Quick Tip by . October 29, 2010
What's the worst part of sleeping??? Waking up! Those few precious moments where your body is telling you to get up but your brain is saying, "No, turn over and go back to sleep!" can either be the best or worst part of the day in my opinion.
Quick Tip by . September 18, 2010
posted in Healthy Lifestyle
Not everyone is meant to sleep a straight eight hours a night. Some function best on having "two nights" and "two days" in a 24 hour period.
Quick Tip by . September 17, 2010
Caption
   I hadn't heard of the term "microsleep" before until I ran across it here but it says that an episode can last for a fraction of a second or up to 30 seconds. So the next time I feel like I'm dozing off in class, maybe I am!
Quick Tip by . June 03, 2010
Sleep is second to meditation. The longer and deeper the meditation, the less sleep that is needed.
Quick Tip by . May 17, 2010
Sleep - what a splendid thing! One of my favorite things to do...As a matter of fact, I wish I was sleeping right now. :)
Photos
Sleep
Related Topics
Health

The general condition of a person in all aspects.

Superfoods

Foods that are Dense in Micronutrients

© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists