|
Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Authors » Reviews » Stephen King

Stephen King

423 Ratings: 2.3
A horror author

Stephen Edwin King (born September 21, 1947) in Portland, Maine, is an American author of contemporary horror, fantasy and science fiction. Having sold an estimated 300–350 million copies of his books, King is best known for his work in horror fiction, … see full wiki

23 reviews about Stephen King
Quick Tip by . September 04, 2011
At his best, King's a nearly unparalleled master of the contemporary pop genre novel; at worst, an intolerably prolix hack. As an actor, he's too maladroit to execute a cameo competently, which he's proven time and time again.
Quick Tip by . June 20, 2011
Stephen King can really turn phrases, and many of his plot ideas are pretty original. But he keeps writing a lot of cliche characters: Alcoholics, bad parents, abused high school students, and others of the sort you might find in a Robert Altman movie.
Quick Tip by . October 01, 2010
Stephen King's On Writing is the best book on writing I've read. And his other books are so much more than just scary stories. I love the most recent ones--a real return to form.
Quick Tip by . August 09, 2010
Can't write a novel shorter than 600 pages, his self-insert in Gunslinger was horribly egotistical, cusses too much, but I keep turning the pages.
Quick Tip by . July 16, 2010
has had some great books and some dross. For a man so prolific it's about par for the course.
Quick Tip by . July 16, 2010
Personally, I am less a fan of his novels and more a fan of his brilliant short story collections. If you haven't checked em' out, I highly suggest it.
Quick Tip by . July 15, 2010
Stephen King not just give you an exciting and tense story, he makes you meditate in the end of each book.
Quick Tip by . July 15, 2010
Stephen King not just give you an exciting and tense story, he makes you meditate in the end of each book.
Quick Tip by . July 13, 2010
What a fascinating man.He has such a great imagination.
Quick Tip by . July 03, 2010
maybe one of the best modern writers - I could use less gore, but the stories are incredible and I can't put them down!
Quick Tip by . July 01, 2010
Guilty pleasure
Quick Tip by . July 01, 2010
Scary isn't he!
Quick Tip by . June 23, 2010
One of my all time favorites
Quick Tip by . June 21, 2010
His On Writing made me a believer, though I never really cared for his other works.
Quick Tip by . June 21, 2010
He's not that bad a writer but most of his work is entirely too commercial and derivative for my tastes.
Quick Tip by . June 19, 2010
I can't say I've ever really enjoyed anything King has written.
Quick Tip by . June 17, 2010
Good author. If you like horror and scary stories you'll love his books.
Quick Tip by . June 16, 2010
best author alive
Quick Tip by . June 15, 2010
Not really my favorite genre, but some of his books are enjoyable. My absolute favorite is "The Eye of the Dragon," which is an excellent read.
Quick Tip by . June 15, 2010
too complicated, also when u read it,it goes into another story or something not related to the book,which makes it last forever, old books,not new ones havent read
review by . July 03, 2009
Stephen King has an almost omniscient presence in popular culture.  If you don't read his books, you've probably seen a movie based off of his work.  And in some cases you probably don't even know it.  He came on the scene in 1974.  He's the real rags to riches deal that rarely happens.  Stephen King does horror and lots of it, yet he's also been able to appeal to non-horror fans.  And through the years King has been able to go outside of the horror genre and write …
Quick Tip by . May 26, 2010
Face it, the man knows how to write believable, flawed characters and still somehow keep them heroic
Quick Tip by . April 01, 2010
I admire Stephen King not as an author of horror novels (as I don't read horror) but as an outspoken & funny man.
What's your opinion on Stephen King?
rate
423 Ratings: +2.3
You have exceeded the maximum length.
Photos
Stephen King
Related Topics
Author James Patterson

An American Author

Jane Austen

A British Regency period author.

Jk Rowling

Popular and acclaimed British author of the Harry Potter nov

First to Review

"King of the Macabre"
© 2014 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
()
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since
reviews
comments
ratings
questions
compliments
lists