Movies Books Music Food Tv Shows Technology Politics Video Games Parenting Fashion Green Living more >

Lunch » Tags » Music » Reviews » Meteora


1 rating: 3.0
An album by Linkin Park

This is an Enhanced CD, which contains both regular audio tracks and multimedia computer files. Enhancements include behind-the-scenes video footage, a screensaver, and weblinks. Linkin Park: Mike Shinoda (vocals, emcee, samples); Chester Bennington … see full wiki

1 review about Meteora

More Linkin Park - Finally!

  • May 27, 2003
Pros: Awesome, unique sounds

Cons: AGH! ItÂ’s too short!!

The Bottom Line: If you like stuff that relates to Linkin Park in sound, Limp Bizkit, Korn, Evanescence, this is for you.

I figured everyone would have in their two cents on Linkin Park’s new CD, Meteora so I decided to leave it alone but recently I’ve just been listening to it a lot, and I just have to say something now. Haha!

So here we have Linkin Park. Not familiar with them? Their first CD was Hybrid Theory, and a very good one at that. Linkin Park is like, well, heavy metal but in a sense, no so heavy as the norm. With all the different genres of music these days and all the different sounds, I can honestly say I’m not too sure where to place them. I will say that I love them and anxiously awaited this CD. I ordered it in advance on Amazon.com, fervently hoping it wouldn’t suck. My hopes were realized. They give you heavy guitar solos, thumping, smashing percussion, smooth raps by Mike Shinoda, singing (and occasional screaming) by Chester Bennington, and various other sounds that are done electronically. By the way, since Linkin Park has some strange affinity with Gundams (a huge robot coming from a Japanese anime – sort of like a distant relative with a transformer) or Gundam-like robots, I may occasionally refer to those electric sounds as “Gundam sound” only because they can vary in their technique. Each and every song has it’s own talents; I find it incredible personally. It’s funny, because you know it’s the same band, and even though many elements are indeed the same, each song is very different from the others. Here’s a list of the songs and a quick synopsis of what each one will deliver to your little eardrums.

1.) Foreword – This is just a little intro that gives you the impression of falling water and then breaking glass leading into…

2.) Don’t Stay - …this song. It begins with heavy guitar, which remains with you throughout the song. This song goes along with Chester’s singing/planned screaming. There are no raps in this song – Chester has the entire song all to himself.

3.) Somewhere I Belong – My #2 favorite song on this CD. It’s a slower one, a kind of melodramatic song I suppose you could say – reminiscent of “In the End” from Hybrid Theory. You can clearly hear the drums and the guitar rockin’ away as Chester throws out his lyrics and Mike spins the raps. If you liked “In the End” you’ll like this one. This is the longest song on the CD at 3:33.

4.) Lying from You – This is the beginning of the true uniqueness Linkin Park has to offer, funky strings that remind me of Italy for some reason (Italy – mobster style). This shows that these guys aren’t afraid to experiment. Funky is the way I can best describe this song, with Mike’s raps and Chester’s vocals, it all mixes together nicely.

5.) Hit the Floor – I couldn’t remember the name of this song off the top of my head – which shows that it wasn’t one of my favorites. I liked the rhymes from Mike and a lot of the guitar, but even I can only take so much screaming from Chester. It’s still a good song, but sometimes I just skip it thinking, “ok, get on with it…” I guess because of that this could be qualified as one of the “heavier” songs.

6.) Easier to Run – This is another song with both vocalists going for it. I like how a lot of these songs go into lyrics, a refrain, and then a climax-like ending. This song is no exception. It’s a simple song I guess I could say, but a good one nonetheless.

7.) Faint – This song is definitely the starter of different, rocking into motion with what sounds most likely to be synthesized violins, which repeat themselves in the song, fitting in very well. There is a bit of Chester taking over near the end (if you know what I mean by now), but then it goes right back into action with final vocals and guitar and drums all in one final swoop.

8.) Figure.09 – Guitar to start us off once again, Mike picking up with some raps straight away, Chester picking up where he left off. They kind of alternate with breakdown raps and full fledged sound and singing until a back and forth near-end, and then it’s done.

9.) Breaking the Habit – My #3 favorite song on this CD. It’s a little quieter without all of the heavy guitar and is the second longest song on this CD at 3:16. It’s quick and mellow all at once, left all in the hands of Chester who comes very close to going without screaming, maybe only once approaching that line.

10.) From the Inside – A quiet start, quickly rolling up to vibrating guitar, breaking down into soft back and forth vocals from Chester and Mike. It does that through the song – breakdowns with Chester and Mike nice and gentle, then kicking it up a notch and letting Chester lead on…and on.

11.) Nobody’s Listening – Another awesome song with uniqueness oozing from the notes. As flute-like sounds pulls you in, Mike pulls in further, Chester echoing him with his own lyrics in yet another wonderful duet trade off. The flute part itself is enough to make this song great and there isn’t a lot of guitar, but what is there is a deep, underlying one, which makes the song just that much better.

12.) Session – This is equivalent to “Mr.Hahn” on Hybrid Theory. Completely synthed stuff here – Gundam sound all the way.

13.) Numb – Definitely my #1 song on this CD. This has a little bit of those Gundam sounds in here, but oh I just love this one because of the emotion it evokes I suppose. Chester’s loud voice doesn’t effect me at all here and I just love to crank this one as loud as I can without hurting my ears. I think it’s because this song has piano in it the way “In the End” did, that song being my #1 favorite on Hybrid Theory, along with a little bit of strings. If anything, just listen to this song, it’s 100% Linkin Park, grade A stuff here, I love it.

All in all, another great CD from Linkin Park. I just really wish it wasn’t so @%#& short!!



Great Music to Play While: Exercising

What did you think of this review?

Fun to Read
Post a Comment
What's your opinion on Meteora?
1 rating: +3.0
You have exceeded the maximum length.
Label: Warner Elektra Atlantic Corp. (Japa
Artist: Linkin Park
Release Date: June 22, 2004

Related Topics
Minutes to Midnight

An album by Linkin Park

Dirty Diana

#1 hit single by MIchael Jackson in 1988

Heavy metal music

A subgenre of rock music that developed in the late 1960s an

First to Review
© 2015 Lunch.com, LLC All Rights Reserved
Lunch.com - Relevant reviews by real people.
This is you!
Ranked #
Last login
Member since